We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
107 South Carter Road, Ashland, VA 23005
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

179 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    51
    13
    11
    11
See reviews for
78
26
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (179)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We choose the Richmond/N. Ashland property because of its location. Located right off the highway along 95 and only 7.3 miles south of Kings Dominion. We were on our way to Virginia Beach and decided to stop off at KD for the day. Check in was friendly and quick, we checked in after 9 pm from a long day at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great express hotel, clean, comfortable. Business centre with PC and printer that worked first time (result!). Breakfast was busy - very busy - and that caught the replenishment staff on the hop (pity, it was crowded, no hot water for tea, limited pastries, no hot buffet food), beds and rooms were fine, tendency for guests being noisy through the night,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Like most HIE this one was clean, comfortable but mostly Adrian (~11PM on July 30th) was so accommodation that it made the stay even greater on what was a long and difficult travelnight. Getting the queen suite was key. The breakfast great...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shahhe88, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland, responded to this review

Thank you, VacationTony, for your nice review. We are so glad that you had a great stay with us and that Adrian was able to put that cherry on top. We hope that if you're ever in Ashland again that you decide to give us another visit. We'd be glad to have you! More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel after a day of driving up from Atlanta on my way to DC. Typically, I frequent Hampton Inns; however, this Holiday Inn Express was a better choice in price and location over the Hampton Inn that was further down the street. The hotel is conveniently located right off of I-85 and there is no highway... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duluth, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just paid $134 for a "suite" that is anything but. Old, dirty, smelly no-tell motel. Afraid to sit on the sofa much less get in the bed. Hard to get to off of interstate. The ONLY thing good about this hotel is the fact that it's next door to a Cracker Barrel. AVOID.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland, responded to this review

Dear DeanneDB, Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. Please accept my apologies for the issues you have encountered during your stay with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.... More 

WRIGHTSVILLE
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

very nice hotel near many restaurants and main streets......a bit hard to navigate into parking lot and it had a number of contractors double parked with their trailers so had to park in overflow lot......staff was excellent in helping me to decide where to go for a late dinner and cold beer to wet the road dust down a bit...I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

The staff are great BUT I stop by to get Information about rooms rates. I did asked twice if the taxes was included. The staff said "YES". I received the statement bill next morning It was very confusing and shock for me because, They charged me EXTRA taxes on my billed. If I knew that the taxes was not included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland, responded to this review

Dear Dennise1228, Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the confusion on the charges during your stay. We would like to follow up on this situation that is why we have sent you a private message to obtain more information. We hope that you can respond at your... More 

Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We were literally in this hotel less than 12 hours, but the biggest thing I noticed was you could hear hallway noise a lot and they have compressed air toilets-which is great for not clogging, but terrible for sleeping through. Every time someone above or below you flushed it sounded like a gunshot and woke me up. The rest of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland, responded to this review

Dear cplett, Thank you for your stay and for posting a review on TripAdvisor. We value each feedback as this will allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We sincerely apologize for the disturbance you experienced due to the soundproofing conditions on site. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our Management team for... More 

Jessup, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

We chose this hotel because of its location so close to Kings Dominion. Check in was easy Room was big! Pull out couch, microwave and sink in the front room plus two beds in the back room. You can close the door off to the back bedroom which is really nice - similarly styled rooms at Marriotts I've stayed at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shahhe88, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Richmond North Ashland, responded to this review

crayolabird Thank you for your great review! We are happy that your stay was pleasant and that we were able to accommodate you and your family! Our Two Queen Suites are perfect for families with young children. We look forward to you staying with us the next time you're in Ashland Va, at The Holiday Inn Hotel Express & Suites! More 

Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2015

I had the pleasure of not only staying at this location, but also using the conference room for a sweet 16 birthday party. The conference room is a nice size. It will comfortably accommodate up to 70 people. You can cater your own event, which is a nice option. If you are looking for a nice place to hold a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (130)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (68)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
2.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hanover
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond - North / Ashland
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 13 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kings Quarters
6.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Doswell (Kings Dominion)
6.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Richmond - Kings Dominion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay