We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
2800 South Potomac Avenue, Arlington, VA 22207
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    127
    33
    15
    13
See reviews for
87
73
29
244
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (506)
  • Mar-May only
    (167)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (128)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (129)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Atlanta Georgia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel is fine for a night. Stayed here as part of a multi-day conference. It’s in a nice neighborhood and very close to DCA. The negatives outweighed the positives for me, especially for multiple nights. I would stay here again if a conference was here but there are better choices in the area. Positive • Rooms are exceptionally clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review to TripAdvisor. We are interested in hearing what our guests have to say about their experience at the hotel. Although you expressed a desire to select another hotel in the area for an extended stay due to the size limitations at our hotel, I am pleased that you also highlighted... More 

Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Room was good- breakfast was good- they wanted to charge for Internet which is surprising since everyone is giving it away for free. The staff at the front door and checking are very inexperienced - cant seem to arrange a cab - pool was closed for five hours in the middle of Saturday cause the life guard was on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate the feedback you have submitted and will address our staff with your concerns. We will continue to improve on our guest service to ensure each and every guest feels welcomed and any requests are handled efficiently. Please consider us for another stay in the future. More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here when I missed my connecting flight. I used that service the airline provided to get a discounted hotel. I wished I could have stayed a little longer. I thought everything about the hotel was wonderful. The lobby was modern and inviting. When I got to my room, the decor was up to date and very pleasing. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review

I'm not discounting the fact that your missed flight was an inconvenience, but in this case, at least it created an opportunity for you to come check out our hotel. And during your short stay, we were able to win you over. So much so, that you will come back to us should an opportunity present itself. Thank you for... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is one of the most elegant hotels I've stayed at for many years. The lobby is classy and has wonderful music piping in that is low-key and very pleasing. If I were to use a word to define this lovely place ...I would use the term attention to detail. Many comfortable seating arrangements in the lobby that are conducive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay and for taking the time to highlight so many details of our hotel. The ambiance that you described is exactly what we are going for. I also wanted to thank you for taking the time to stop by SOCCi Kitchen + Bar and for giving our menu... More 

Mishawaka, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for a night here on our sightseeing trip to DC. My experience is neutral. I don't have anything special to say about this place. This is an average 3 star hotel. When we went to check-in, the front desk guy said "Just a minute, I'll be right back with you" and disappeared for more than 5 mins. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I am familiar with the weekend you are describing in your comments. We did, indeed, host a rather large wedding party recently with many guests in attendance which made for a hectic parking garage. However, as duly noted, our valet and parking garage attendants were on hand to assist. I... More 

Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was here for just 1 night on business. Great atmosphere...modern and hip; nice Illy coffee bar in lobby; updated rooms. Really no complaints. What really stood out for me was the service at the front desk though. The gentleman who checked me in was exceedingly friendly, polite, and gracious. This provided a wonderful first impression of the hotel, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you were able to experience our magnificent hotel, if only for a night. I am even more pleased that we not only met your expectations, but exceeded them. Would you please recommend the Renaissance Arlington Capital View to friends and family when they travel to DC? They'll be glad you did! More 

Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Visited Arlington Virginia for a business course in March 2013. The hotel is located near railroad tracks, therefore, you have to contend with the noise during the night as the freight and passenger trains pass nearby. If you are a light sleeper this can be a problem. Otherwise the hotel is a beautiful place to stay and if you do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel for your stay. We know you have a choice of hotels in the DC area and we appreciate your business. While we seldomly receive negative comments about the trains that are nearby, it is in our guest's best interest to allow them to choose where they would like to be... More 

State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here for one night to attend a conference. Wish I could have stayed longer! The hotel is located within walking distance of lots of restaurants, and is also conveniently located near the airport if you are flying into town, or near the beltway if you are driving. The conference space was very nice and the food for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review

I wish you could have stayed here longer, too! Perhaps you will come when you don't have to attend to business, but will have the time to attend to your own personal relaxation. You could hang out with us and have a nice lunch out on the terrace or do a little shopping in town. How about a nice, quiet... More 

Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is fine, and the price is much better than others in the area. The rooms appear new, but the furniture shows its age quickly. The proximity to the airport is key (although the shuttle is only every 20 minutes). The lobby and common areas try too hard to be hip, but that really does not matter. The mattress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are always on the look-out for ways to improve our overall guest experience. We understand that first impressions are lasting impressions and we take a lot of pride in our hotel's appearance. Anytime we identify furniture in need of repair or replacement, rest assured it will be taken care of. We love the new... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a contemporary flair. Bed was very comfortable. Employees were friendly and for the most part helpful. We stayed here recently as we were in town to see the cherry blossoms which unfortunately we missed. The shuttle to the metro worked out fine. I was a little concerned about booking a hotel so near the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jerry C, General Manager at Renaissance Arlington Capital View Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review to TripAdvisor. We certainly appreciate your feedback and your business. There are certainly all kinds of things to discover when you stay with us. Crystal City has so much to offer and everything you could ever want is just a hop, skip, and a jump away. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

260 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (224)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question