We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria

5975 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    100
    73
    46
    26
    20
See reviews for
71
51
40
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (265)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
There are newer reviews for Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe king room. Rooms have been updated with new furnishings, hard wood flooring, flat screen tv, mini fridge, micro. Desk work area roomy and space to spread out. Pull up the second chair in room and 2 can eat at the desk. Plenty of space. You do have to pay $1.50 per day if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear RichardS. Glad to hear that you noticed our renovated rooms! It is always nice to hear that our guest had a great stay and felt we were priced right. Our location is ideal when taking the metro into the city. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area. Thank You Shirley Jordan, General... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

It was an ok stay for the price, but I wouldn't stay here again. The room felt humid, there were fruit flies flying around. The room was so cheaply upgraded, it still had that old 90's motel-ish feel to it. Room was small and bathroom tiny.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Greennlvy. We are sorry to hear that our accommodations did not meet your expectations. We tend to appeal to the traveler who is looking to be able to get into Washington on the metro, without having to pay the high cost of staying in the District. Hoping we will be more appealing to you in the future, if your... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

I was there in January. So sorry it's taken me so long to give my review. I had a fabulous experience there. Sara was especially helpful. I came into the lobby every morning and drank coffee and she shared a wealth of information with me before I headed out for the day. Thanks, Sara! You're the greatest!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Travis W. Sounds as if we made a good impression on you! Sarah really is a wealth of information. I am pleased she was able to make your stay an awesome one. No doubt you will stay with us the next time you are in the area. Thank You Shirley Jordan More 

Greater Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

At the time of booking [and I had left it 'till the last minute!!], all Hotels in Washington itself started at $1000 per night ,,,,definitely not in this travellers price range.! The Red Roof offered an acceptable alternative only a few stations out of the Centre on the subway. [It was a fairly easy walk to the subway...about 1.5 ks]

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Lorriadonna. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We focus on being able to offer our guest a clean, comfortable room at a very reasonable price. Good to hear we were able to make all of that happen for you. Thank You Shirley Jordan General Manager More 

Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

extremly friendly staff front desk Debie and manager Shirley are very professional and helpful during my stay rooms are clean and roomy and a sweet touch with candy dish at front desk thanks for making my stay comfortible

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Mike K. Thank you for letting us know that we have managed to turn you into a very loyal customer. I will be sure to share your comments with my team. Thank You Shirley Jordan General Manager More 

Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Like hotels in DC in the springtime, the prices are high for the value ... it 'cash cow' time. The room was ok and fairly clean but not a value for $100 a night. The room was musty ... like there was a wet towel in it. I had lukewarm water for the shower and the toilet was set out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear SV_Traveler We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Most travelers are looking for a great value, a clean room and hot water is a "MUST". We failed to meet your basic requirements. We hope that you accept our sincere apology ,and know that your concerns are very important to us. We also hope ,that... More 

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

The hotel was really fine for us. We booked two rooms and the stay was nice though we got the ground floor rooms. Rooms were all clean with good comfortable mattresses. And, noticeably, the rooms were all renovated and looked very nice. There is a good pizza joint accross the street and Huntington Metro Station is just a couple blocks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Imanhidajat My team got really excited when they read your review-WE GOT IT RIGHT!!!. Your room was clean, you had a good nights sleep, and being close to the Metro was a plus. And to top it off, you were pleased with our renovation. WOW, your review made our day. Thank you, Shirley Jordan General Manager More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Alexandria can be expensive, so booking this low cost hotel, we were aware that it would not be great. That said, it was not as good as it should have been. When we tried to check in, the clerk shook her head repeatedly, saying we had no reservation, despite the fact that I had a confirmation in my hand and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia K. Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns. We did not make you feel important / or welcomed. Both of which should have occurred ,rather you had a reservation or not! And to make matters worse, the room did not meet your basic requirements. Please accept our apology and know that your... More 

Red Oak, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Be sure to check your charges from this hotel. We booked a stay on Friday and Saturday night. Upon our return home we became aware that the hotel had charged our card twice for the room. When we contacted the hotel to have the issue corrected were told it would be at least 48 hours before we were refunded our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Angela51668 Please accept my apology for all of the inconvenience that your family had to endure. It is our goal to provide the best service at the best rate. Clearly we did not make that happen for you. I would greatly appreciate another opportunity to make it right. Please give me a call @703-960-5200. Thank you very much Shirley... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

This hotel was perfectly fine for our needs. Nice and clean. Sheets and bathroom...everything looked or clean and new!! The lady at the front desk was very kind and professional and provided us with a great room. Thank you! I will come again and recommend others to do so.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shirley J, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear George A. Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to compliment us-)...We really do appreciate it. I will pass your kind words along to my other team members. Please choose us on your next visit to the area. Thank you Shirley Jordan General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#32 of 50 in Alexandria
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
5.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay