We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
4641 Kenmore Avenue, Alexandria, VA 22304 (Formerly Sheraton Pentagon)
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    66
    33
    20
    11
See reviews for
79
40
22
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (304)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Compared to the several other Marriotts (all brands) located right outside of DC I find this Courtyard to be a bad location in terms of noise. It practically sits on the highway. I've had stayed at other hotels similarly located near a highway without this much noise so I'm assuming with better windows perhaps the noise wouldn't be such an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith M, Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review

Mr. Jazz, Let me begin by thanking you for choosing to stay with us while you were visiting our area. I do agree there is quite a bit of noise coming from the street of the side of the hotel where you were assigned a room. Unfortunately, during your stay, we were completely sold out and as a result you... More 

Nanjing
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed there three nights which was booked by my work's agency and I was not disappointed. It served my purpose adequately. Like other comments on Tripadvisor, the property is a little tired but the service was friendly and efficient while the rooms are clean and well appointed. Breakfast is very average buy hey so is the price. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith M, Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review

Ms. Ardeecee, First let me begin by thanking your for choosing the Courtyard-Alexandria/Pentagon South for your accommodations while you were visiting our area. In all fairness, our property could use a little face lift, but as you may know, those things happen in time and at a great expense to the company. We are, however, do for a refresh in... More 

Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for four nights and would highly recommend the spotless clean rooms, great facilities, very good breakfast and very comfortable accommodation. Yet most of all, I would like to thank the incredible staff for their amazing support and professional service. Keith, the hotel manager deserves a gold medal for going way beyond his call of duty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review

HayesTravel - Thank you for so many kind words from your recent visit to the hotel. I will proudly share your positive comments about your experience at the hotel with our staff and I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We definitely look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the DC... More 

Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My son and I thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay here while visiting Washington and its environs. The people were pleasant from front desk to breakfast area to housekeeping. The entire facility was an excellent value, providing clean comfortable tastefully decorated surroundings throughout with easy ample garage parking. We are planning a return to the area as early as this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review

Larry D - Thank you for your wonderful review. I’m very pleased that the location, service, facilities and room met your expectations. I will proudly share your comments about your stay with the entire team in our upcoming meeting. We certainly hope to see you on your next trip to the DC area. More 

Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This property is a little dated spotlessly clean and staffed with friendly, helpful, well trained people. Its available at much lower prices than comparable facilities in the district and is still relatively close in. My 8th floor room was clean, comfortable large, by city standards. I'm not a fan of the current Courtyard decorating schemes but that's the look of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review

Triaero - Thank you for so many kind words from your recent visit to the hotel. I will proudly share your positive comments about your experience at the hotel with our team and I am very happy to hear that the service and room met your expectations. We definitely look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Absolutely everything about this hotel is first class. The staff is outstanding and went out of their way to be sure I had everything I needed while there. The room was absolutely spotless as was the bathroom. I ate breakfast on property which was also fantastic. I will stay there any time I'm in the area in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review

jroyalty - Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for commending the service of our brilliant hosts, I will share your feedback with the... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

I booked this hotel for a night stay in between flights. I remembered using the hotel for parking services from aiportparkingreservations.com & decided to use it again and stay this time. Even though I only stayed for a day...it was quite pleasant. The front desk employees were very helpful and courteous while booking cab for me since my early flight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review

ladybelle - Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South with us on TripAdvisor. Your observations are very helpful in our pursuit of guest satisfaction. We strive to be a leader in customer service, and comments from guests such as yourself allow us to make improvements. We definitely look forward to... More 

Simi Valley, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Over Spring Break, from 3/26 through 4/4/15, My wife and I stayed at this hotel. The room was clean, the service was spectacular, and the amenities plentiful. First of all, they have a shuttle that picks you up from Reagan Airport, but they also furnish rides to the Metro, to Shirlington, where there are a number of restaurants, and one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review

Joel G - We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our room was comfortable for you and your wife. We take great pride in upholding high cleanliness and guest service expectations. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Alexandria area. More 

Bristow, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

This is an excellent value for the money. Close to all things in the DC area but far enough out of the city to be out of the bustle. Nice pool and the parking lot has controlled access which is nice. Couple of nearby convenience stores add to the value. Very close to good shopping and dining in Shirlington.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review

Connellype - Thank you for the wonderful feedback you provided on your stay at the Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South. I will be sure to share your experience with our team. We look forward to meeting you on your next trip to the area. More 

Cerritos, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

I was very surprised at the reviews of this property after I stayed there recently. Yes, the staff is friendly and helpful but the state of the property just doesn't qualify it as a Courtyard by Marriott in my travels. It is really dated and in serious need of renovations. The windows seemed to be double-paned; however, when the sliding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith M, General Manager at Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South, responded to this review

Man_MJ - Thank you very much for deciding to stay with us, and for then taking the time to let us know how we did. While I was very happy to read your positive comments about our service, I wanted to apologize for the overall look of the property that you encountered during your stay. We hope you choose to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities