We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Hotel website
Hotel deals
901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Add Photo Write a Review

508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    104
    184
    126
    59
    35
See reviews for
91
121
40
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (508)
  • Mar-May only
    (131)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (170)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The good things: 1. Parking was free 2. Situated in a quiet part of town by the cycle trail 3. Large room size 4. Partial view of Potomac 5. Comfortable bed The bad things: 1. Miserable staff, no-one smiled and during check-in the staff member barely even spoke 2. Nothing of any note located in close walking distance 3. Depressing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Hotelfussy, Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It's our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall... More 

Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Though I was able to get a good price on a discount travel site, the original quote was really pricey. Staff wasn't overly friendly, though on check out she did take off my internet charge. Sorry who charges for internet these days. STOP IT...Also, was charged $7.50 for a draft in the bar one night. Crazy...think it was only 12... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Amtiii, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It is our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall experience. Our restaurant is a Gastropub... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We traveled to Washington DC back in early April this year, which is considered a high season (During the Blossoms festival). Hotel rooms in DC were really expensive so we decided to book a room at Crowne Plaza in Alexandria and take the train to DC. I booked my room with a river view through booking website. When we arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Hany B, Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We are very happy to hear that our location was well suited to your plans and travels in the area. It is our goal... More 

Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

A group of us came to Alexandria as part of a professional conference. Part of us stayed July 11-14 and part of us stayed July 12 - 17. We had three rooms. The hotel completely messed up our reservations, placing everybody's room under one name and one credit card. It took numerouse conversations with the front desk staff as well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear BBorich, Thank you for taking your valuable time to give your comments. We receive each comment as a vital tool in improving and making changes where needed to best serve our guest. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It our goal,... More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I thought that we'd regret not being right in DC but actually Alexandria is lovely. King Street is about a 20 minute stroll away and has many interesting places to visit, shop and eat. The hotel is clean and well maintained. We had to ask for wifi as Priority Club members and we don't have a fridge which is s... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear LE4d, Thank you for taking your valuable time to give us your comments. We are very happy to hear that our location was well suited to your plans and travels in the area. We apologize that the Wifi service was not up to your expectations, we will look into ways to correct these issues with the provider. We look... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Basic hotel. Staff seems nice, hotel is clean. Nothing fancy but well maintained. Good location close to offices in the northern part of old town. Rates aren't bad either. Beds are comfy. My only complaint is the atrocious Internet. I have stayed here several times, and it's unbearable. I was looking forward to coming back to the hotel to get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Mikelogan2, Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the favorable comments on our accommodations and location. We apologize that you were not pleased with the WiFi service. We will contact the provider to share your comments to have them correct these issues. We look forward to you... More 

Livonia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed in the Crowne Plaza hotel for 3 nights while visiting Luray Caverns and Washington D.C. The hotel was very nicely decorated as was or room. We had 2 queen beds and there was a very large desk space area which we took advantage of since we all brought our laptops. We had an awesome view of the Potomac... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Carol O, Thank you for taking your valuable time to give your comments. We are very happy to hear that our location was well suited to your plans and travels in the area. Our goal is that our guests experience is outstanding. We apologize for those shortcoming in services. We will make the Department heads aware of the issues... More 

Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is a short drive from DCA and easy to find. Great location near shopping and eating with a hotel shuttle to get you there. Also a nice jogging and biking path. They even have bicycles they will give you. Building was older but kept up well. The best thing and worst thing I can say about the entire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear MrBreeze_11, We appreciate your comments, your positive name recognition of our staff and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. We apologize that you did not get the recognition you deserved as you are the backbone to our success. We are very... More 

Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Booked at this hotel because of the price point and relative proximity to King St (~10-12 blocks) and the Potomac River (2 short blocks). Stayed Sat-Mon for a romantic getaway with the wife. When booking, I requested a top-floor, river facing room if one could be had. When we arrived, didn't look like the place was full (lots of parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Chas501, We appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. We take all of our guest remarks serious. Our goal is to make sure that our guest have great overall experience. We look to our guest for this feedback to make the necessary the adjustments we will share your experiences with our department... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We arrived late after a 12 hour drive with our 3 young kids. Nasra at the front desk graciously welcomed us and upgraded us to a suite overlooking the Potomac to better accommodate our family. We could not have been more grateful! We had not eaten dinner yet & decided to eat at the Railstop at the hotel even though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Bauerfam, We appreciate your compliments, positive name recognition of our staff and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with an overall exceptional experience. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. We are anticipating your returning... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (101)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#25 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay