We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Hotel website
Hotel deals
901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Add Photo Write a Review

508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    104
    184
    126
    59
    35
See reviews for
91
121
40
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (508)
  • Mar-May only
    (131)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (170)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
Greater Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just spent time at the Crowne Plaza Alexandria before our tour and after the tour. The hotel it self is clean and tidy. I would like to let the management and future clients know to stay away from the hotels restaurant Railston Gastropub. The first time we went for a meal there the person behind the bar (Romainian) was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Potomac, Md
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Five friends and I stayed here for one night in 3 rooms. The rooms were clean, attractive, inviting, and larger than we find in similar hotels. We were able to comfortably play cards in our room. The staff was outstanding - exceedingly cooperative. They shuttled us directly to our restaurant and brought the chairs we needed to play cards to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for one night as part of a tour group it was all bad from the minute I arrived the porter slammed my expensive suitcase into the gutter snapping a wheel said they would send engineering up to see if it could be fixed no one bothered to show, so now I'm stuck with a 3 wheeled bag for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
La Crosse Va
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the check in to check out, this hotel was not up to par. Front desk staff very unfriendly, I was given free wi-if as a reward for being a gold points member, wi-fi never worked and the staff said just read your instructions, never connected. The room was clean, but very small. We did eat at the restaurant, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Saylors, Thank you for you feedback and comments on your experience at our hotel. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay. We... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed 2 nights at the end of May. Based on the first night, I'd give the hotel 3 stars, it's a pretty average hotel in a good location - clean rooms and comfy beds. It wasn't impressive but was the value I had expected. The 2nd night was the worst experience I have ever had with a hotel. First... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Kammi S, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Your experience is important to us. We regret hearing that our friendly service was not a part of your experience. We train our staff to exceed our guest's expectations and it is our goal that each guest would have a great overall experience while staying with... More 

welling
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

comfortable beds and nice hotel. Buffet breakfast, only bother if you're hungry, else pop over to cafe opposite. Wonderful location, the old town is so nice and an even walk away where you will find lots of restaurants, harbour and shops. Excellent supermarket round the corner if you would rather have take away food, fruit etc. One evening restaurant, typical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear hammeretteWelling, Thank you for your review of your recent stay. It was our pleasure to serve you. It is our goal that each guest would have a great overall experience that exceeded your expectations. We apologize we did not meet the standard of service you were expecting. We are glad to hear your accommodations were very comfortable, and that... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Checked in for 4 nights on rewards for golf trip. Great checkin and good bar which we used. after 2 nights moved to a friends house and got the 2 nights points back, great staff and hotel is well located. Would return again. The best thing about the hotel is the front desk staff, very helpful, breakfast was a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Peter T, Thank you so much, for your comment we always look forward to hearing from our guest on where we can improve. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. Glad we were able to provide you with a service that was accommodating, affordable,... More 

Atlanta
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was comfortable and had everything I needed. Lovely view of the Potomoc. Quiet location but walking distance to shops and restaurants. There is also a shuttle to the tourist area and the airport (National). Very nice park with walking/jogging trails across the street. No pool. Poor television choices/reception. Recommend walking to restaurants rather than dining in. Free wifi if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear frauduck, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our pleasure to serve you. We're really happy to know you had a wonderful experience that exceeded your expectations. We are glad you found the rooms to be spacious with a great view, and that our location was perfect for you to... More 

Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel and staff were very friendly but the hotel is dated and needs to be updated. Had to walk to the grocery for bottled water, but they did have shuttle to airport and metro. Uber also has good coverage. We had a nice time visiting King Street. I would visit again for a conference but probably wouldn't select for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear USAtraveler0727, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about our hotel. I am glad that you found our staff friendly. On the other hand, I apologize if there were any shortfalls that may have caused you inconvenience. Your feedback is highly appreciated and rest assured this will be considered for our improvement. Thank you again for... More 

Carnelian Bay, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

Nice location. About 15 min walk to King Street district. The staff was ho-hum and not friendly. Didn't greet me or anyone else walking in. No smiles. Didn't ask how I was doing. Just waited for me to talk first. Gave me key to a room that was already occupied. Scary. Second room (4th floor) shared a wall with some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Tahoe_ski_family, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to hear from our guest. Receiving constructive comments help to show us where we can work harder to serve our guest better. Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We train our staff to be responsive to our guest needs.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

218 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (83)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (135)
Viewed
Room/suite (70)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Other (28)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#27 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay