We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Hotel website
Hotel deals
901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    176
    118
    56
    32
See reviews for
88
112
37
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (480)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (156)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
Liverpool
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel two years ago with a lacrosse team. At that time, the hotel was clean and well kept. Skip ahead to April 17, 2015 and we have a different story. The hotel looks as if it is in desperate need of updates...especially the carpet in the room. The carpet is filthy. The chair for the desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear laperla, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We also thank you for choosing us. Your comments are taken seriously. We are sorry you were completely disappointed with your overall experience during your stay with us. We apologize for our appearance of being worn. We currently comprised a capital plan to refresh... More 

CT
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is centrally located, and it is very easy to get to King Street, or to the Metro if you want to get into the city. We had a room on the 11th floor with a great view of the Potomac River. It was so quiet on our floor that we surprised to find out that there was at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pearl City, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My ratings reflect a 3 or 3.5 star Hotel that this place was rated. I stayed a week at the Crowne Plaza in late March-April, because it was ideally located for a wedding I was attending. First let me say that my initial impression was poor due to the lackluster welcome I received from the woman at the desk. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Kurt M, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We also thank you for choosing us. Your comments are taken seriously. We are sorry you were completely disappointed with your overall experience during your stay with us, while here on business. We regret hearing that our friendly service was not a part... More 

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a "college tour" and were able to move from the hotel to DC very easily (free airport shuttle and blue/yellow metro station at airport!). Beautiful large and comfortable room with refrigerator and microwave. Quite a few restaurants/coffee places around (strongly recommend the Perks coffee shop across the street) The only "con" is that the beds were small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bay City, Michigan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
8 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a Priceline listed 3 1/2 star hotel that I won on a blind bid avoiding the high priced hotels in downtown DC. Unfortunately, they have to address some housekeeping issues to make this an enjoyable stay where people would return. Cons: Check in had only one desk member working when I arrived for late check in causing delay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Nyormirror, Thank you for your valued comments. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We are sorry that the certain amenities you have come to expect from Crowne Plaza were not present during your stay with us. It is our goal... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice and clean hotel, nice area around. And they provide a shuttle to go to and from king st, no pool in the hotel but u can use the holiday in pool 2 blocks away. Microwave and fridge in the room are of big benifit actually. The only thing is you have to pay 20 $ a say for parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here 2 weekend nights in late March, 2015. It is tucked away in the northeast corner of Alexandria over a half mile from King St. The building is not very impressive as the entrance is surrounded by parking with minimal to non existent areas for shrubbery. The lobby is a cold, unwelcoming space with white marble and a dark... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Murray S, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We apologize that the decor of our hotel's lobby was not to your predilection. We really appreciate your recognition of our staff, we take pride in our ability to serve our guest. We are so glad you were comfortable. We are very thankful... More 

Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good location, shuttle to airport and Old Town, $20 to park, decent bar with board games, only had breakfast, dine in and room service, ok food, better than coffee perks down the street, used the pool at the Holiday Inn - indoor outdoor pool, nice rooms with comfy beds, walk to Harris Tweeter and Trader Joes, don't think you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverside
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Overall the hotel is nice. Rooms are clean. Heat/Air conditioner was not working in either room and would drop in temp over night. Rooms on corners have very small bathrooms but all had great shower heads, great pressure. Had to change room to get two beds vice one and the double beds are small. All you can eat breakfast if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear 1Gl0balTraveler, Thank you for your comments and review of your recent stay with us. We again apologize for any inconvenience you may have suffered. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay. Please in the future we hope you return... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

I stay in the DC area a lot and sometimes end up outside of town cuz I can't score a room anywhere else. I'm not too picky, but I'm also not wowed too easy. I never leave reviews because business travel is just that - a bed, a tv, a shower, see ya. This place stands out. It was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear MrsAndirion, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We also thank you for choosing us. Your comments are taken seriously. We are sorry you were completely disappointed with your overall experience during your stay with us. We apologize if our staff service was not exemplary. We are currently getting a capital plan... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question