We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria

Hotel website
Hotel deals
901 North Fairfax Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly Radisson Old Town Alexandria)
Special Offer
Save 20%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    173
    116
    54
    32
See reviews for
85
109
36
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (472)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (156)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (123)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Good location, shuttle to airport and Old Town, $20 to park, decent bar with board games, only had breakfast, dine in and room service, ok food, better than coffee perks down the street, used the pool at the Holiday Inn - indoor outdoor pool, nice rooms with comfy beds, walk to Harris Tweeter and Trader Joes, don't think you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riverside
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall the hotel is nice. Rooms are clean. Heat/Air conditioner was not working in either room and would drop in temp over night. Rooms on corners have very small bathrooms but all had great shower heads, great pressure. Had to change room to get two beds vice one and the double beds are small. All you can eat breakfast if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear 1Gl0balTraveler, Thank you for your comments and review of your recent stay with us. We again apologize for any inconvenience you may have suffered. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having an exceptional stay. Please in the future we hope you return... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stay in the DC area a lot and sometimes end up outside of town cuz I can't score a room anywhere else. I'm not too picky, but I'm also not wowed too easy. I never leave reviews because business travel is just that - a bed, a tv, a shower, see ya. This place stands out. It was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear MrsAndirion, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. We also thank you for choosing us. Your comments are taken seriously. We are sorry you were completely disappointed with your overall experience during your stay with us. We apologize if our staff service was not exemplary. We are currently getting a capital plan... More 

WDC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never stayed at this hotel but my 4 friends and I eat lunch here on Saturdays after art class nearby. We have had to eat here in the past because the dining out options in this area are limited but the last time we did, we said never again. In spite of the fact that the restaurant is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear lfulton_123, Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. Receiving your constructive comments such as yours helps where we can work harder to serve, assist and accommodate our guest better. We are sorry our restaurant didn't maintain the service you would have expected. We train our staff to exceed our guest's expectations. We... More 

Hamilton, VA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Background: I stay in a hotel in the DC area once a week. I book these hotels through a hotel discount site. All these hotels are very nice – 3 stars at the minimum. As far as I’m concerned, there are no major differences in any of them. But there are plenty of minor ones – little things that really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow, I have to start off by saying I am astounded by the lack of intelligence in the other reviews...some people are complaining about the weather when they stayed at this hotel. Blaming the weather on the hotel? Really?? I guess some people just aren't the brightest of the bunch! Anyways, I stayed at this hotel because of a cancelled... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night when my flight was cancelled. I chose this hotel because it had an airport shuttle and I had a 6am flight from DCA. Turns out the shuttle doesn't start until 5am for guests, so I had to take a taxi. The beds were really hard, and while the weather was atrociously cold, the bedding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Lisa R, Thank you for taking time to write your review about our hotel. We’re very sorry that the bed and heating unit set up was a let down. We will address these concerns. I assure you that the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our... More 

Englishtown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Recent stay was nice. Room was clean and well furnished. Towels could have been softer. Room heat was problematic to control. The hotel is located in a good area. Private pay parking. Front desk staff handled check in fast. Common areas were clean. Room service breakfast was cold and unappealing. Seemed like reheated pancakes and bacon. The rest of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear aarohm, Thank you for your candid feedback and for sharing your thoughts with regards to your stay at our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that the rooms and our facilities are well to your liking. However, it is regrettable if the heating condition of... More 

Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Hotel was just fine, we had no issues with the water temperature or staff; other reviewers complained about this and it almost made me second guess my decision in choosing this place. The only small issue was that we attempted to go to the restaurant/pub area around 3:30 (during a time in which they were supposed to be open on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staunton, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Booked this through Priceline. Spacious room and bathroom. Lighting in the bathroom could have been brighter. Even though we had a standard (two double bed) room facing south towards Old Town, we could still see the Potomac, the Beltway bridge, and the Ferris wheel and lights of National Harbor--all of which we very pretty lit up at night. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear MicAngMol, Thank you for your review of your recent stay. It is our goal that each guest would have a great overall experience that exceeded your expectations. It was our pleasure to serve you. We are glad to hear you were pleased with your rooms' view. We are happy that you were please with the convenience of our hotel's... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question