We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westin Alexandria

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Westin Alexandria
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

683 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Riverside, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is sort of a strange review I am writing and it goes under the heading of making a terrible customer service decision. I am currently staying at this hotel the Westin Alexandria and the city is in a total blizzard with all ways of travel shut down. Nobody can get here or leave. I asked the front desk for... More 

Helpful?
Thank WorldTravler2016
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear World Traveler, Thank you for staying with us this weekend. It certainly is concerning to read your comments and your impressions for how you were treated during the snow storm and I would like to offer my apologies. It was not our intention to ignore or deny your request to extend your stay and it appears our actions were... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

We had a great stay and great service from Claire at the front desk. She assisted us and took the time to follow up. This is a great hotel and will recommended, the location is convenient and we will love to come back.

Helpful?
Thank Patriots73
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Patriots73, Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share these comments. I was delighted to read that Claire took such good care of you during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Rich Casale General Manager More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

I stayed here one night for a job interview and felt well-rested the following morning. The room was very nice, immaculate, and comfortable. The gym was clean and had what I needed, I'm just sorry I didn't have time to go for a swim. The staff was friendly and helpful, I would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Mel314
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Mel, Thanks for staying with us recently. Needless to say, I enjoyed reading your comments concerning our staff and the accommodations and thanks for sharing. Hope to see you again soon. Rich Casale General Manager More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
199 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

I stayed here twice while on a business trip to DC. The location is fine, near a metro and plenty of places to eat. Both rooms I had were of a decent size and well appointed with a good view over the courthouse. Liked the gym too. However there were some aspects I didn't like. On both occasions I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank bubu3
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear bubu, Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share these comments. I was glad to know that your enjoyed your rooms, the Westin Workout Fitness Center, and our location. It was concerning to learn that your pre stay emails did not get handled and please accept my sincere apologies for that oversight. We have... More 

Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is outside of DC, however, offers a shuttle to the Metro station to go into DC to visit the attractions. The hotel is beautiful, clean and reasonably priced. Our room didn't have a view, but was quite large and very comfortable.

Helpful?
Thank MaureenBen
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

I have stayed at this Westin before. It is a short walk to the King St Metro and Amtrak and there are many good restaurants and activities within walking distance. Try not to get a north facing room. Or ask not to be placed over the loading dock. On day one of my stay I woke to the beep, beep,... More 

Helpful?
Thank TTommy69
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear TTommy, Thanks for staying with us this past week as well as previously. Your comments and observations are much appreciated and some is certainly related to the age of the guest rooms. You did notice that we have story boards in the lobby that talk to a renovation in our guest rooms and corridors. Your mention of it is... More 

Oviedo, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

We upgraded to the Executive Floor after responding to a last minute offer by email ($25/day). Unfortunately, when I tried to respond to the offer prior to arrival, both online and by phone, the hotel staff was not able to secure that for me. Luckily, they did honor the request when we arrived. The linens on the bed were beautiful!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dakota P
Hiram, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

This property is very nice - comfortable accommodations, friendly staff, close to restaurants and coffee shops, within walking distance to Metro - but as other reviewers have cited, the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything in the room next door.

Helpful?
Thank William L
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear William, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share these comments. I appreciate your concerns with the noise bleed from connecting rooms. We are getting ready to renovate all of our guest rooms this coming January and February. Part of the renovation includes addressing the causes relating to this issue. I feel confident that when... More 

Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

Great location, lobby looks nice, but upstairs hallways and rooms are worn/dated. . .duct tape holding carpet down, torn chairs, no shampoo in bathroom, filthy vents. The restaurant is good for breakfast. . .typical business hotel. The rooms leave a lot to be desired. Saw all the 4 diamond AAA plaques. . .they must be from awhile back

Helpful?
Thank DogMomTravel
WestinAlexndria, General Manager at Westin Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear DogMomTravel, Thanks for staying with recently. We agree with you in that we are in need of a refresh in our guest rooms and corridors. In fact, we are starting that renovation in January and it will be complete around the end of February. That refresh will include all new paint, carpeting, wall covering, lighting and seating. Basically, our... More 

Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

We arrived early after a long drive. Staff worked hard to get us settled early. Couldn't do enough for us. What a great experience after a 9 hour drive Room service was fast and courteous. Great food, great staff and clean, very comfortable room!

Helpful?
Thank johnnyd4357
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (98)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#14 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay