We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Alexandria hotels

Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 25% in No. VA
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street to your Saves list
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
89%
Ranked #15 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Martin D Westmont, Illinois
  • Overview
  • Reviews (477)
  • Photos (87)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (83)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    152
    49
    5
    4
See reviews for
203
101
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Westmont, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We are frequent Marriott users and had a single night here recently due to a mess up on a house rental in DC. We decided to stay in Alexandria for the night to see the Old Town (which is touristy but cute) and then we'd head into DC for the "magical history tour" with our kids. This large Residence Inn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Dear Martin D, We hope that your vacation and magical history tour of DC with your family was one you all enjoyed and will remember for years to come. Thank you for allowing us to have an opportunity to be a part of it. I was glad to hear that the service you experienced was great. We also appreciate the... More

Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was a little disappointed. In a one bedroom suite, the couch was broken so lounging was out. The easy chair was missing the foot stool kept under the table. In all I sat on the bed to watch TV between meetings. Breakfast was fine but not up to the normal par for any Marriott or even this venue, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your feedback concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you coming back based on your comment that you had stayed previously. Being new to the hotel myself I welcome any feedback you may have in addition to your comments already shared. I can be reached at jeremy.mccluskey@marriott.com. Please let me know if I... More

indianapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Originally I could only book 1 night of my 2 night trip at this hotel due to conventions, and it was a 2 BR suite. I arrived at 1 pm and asked if I could check in early. The desk clerk (whose name I didn't get) was very polite and after conferring with his manager, asked if I wanted a1... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello indy25, I was so glad to hear that Tanitia and the rest of our team were able to take great care of you. I look forward to sharing your comments with her and the rest of our team. Thank you also for sharing your thoughts about the room. If your travels ever bring you back to the Old Town... More

New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Three of us checked in on Friday, March 28. No washcloths. Called down for 3 washcloths and 2 bath towels. They brought 2 wash cloths and 3 bath towels - not a big problem. Saturday at breakfast, there were no forks and they kept running out of food. Saturday evening we came back from sightseeing at 5 pm. Called down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello Veronic110, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay in March of this year. I was disappointed to read the experience you had. Our team has high expectations for providing a quality experience and unfortunately based on your explanation we did not live up to your expectations or our own. I welcome an opportunity... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ended up staying here last minute when the Residence Inn Old Town Carlyle was fully booked. It was a less-than thrilling stay. We requested a baby bed for my daughter, and it took over an hour to get one (even with a few calls to the front desk). One of the main guys at the front desk seemed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello HaveBabyWillTravel, We appreciate you staying at our hotel and sharing your comments about your experience. We will take your insights into account as we look to continuously improve our operation. I hope we may have an opportunity to host you again in the future and provide you with the great experience you expect from a Residence Inn by Marriott.... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had to stay here for graduation. The first night we had bloody sheets on my little girl bed as I was getting it ready for her. They did change it. Our TV went out no one fixed it. My husband had to fix it. They only have 2 channels for kids and I will not come back here again.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello Mrsjamescass, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I was disappointed to read some of the issues you had and welcome an opportunity to speak with you further about them. I can be reached via e-mail at jeremy.mccluskey@marriott.com. Thank you More

Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights with my family. Great service, friendly staff, very attentive. Shuttle runs 1 mile around hotel, near Whole foods, 2 blocks, and 3 blocks from Metro. Not alot of restaurants nearby, but again, use shuttle or trolley on King Street, Hotel is somewhat dated, typical late 80's residence inn, but very clean and we were very pleased.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello Andy H, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our property. We hope to have an opportunity to host you again in the future. Safe Travels! More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall everything was great, the accommodations, location, housekeeping and the two ladies at the front desk. The man working at the front desk on July 7, 2014 at 4am, however, was extremely rude and obnoxious. The day before, Tanitia order a cab for us for July 7th at 4am. We received a call at 4:02am that the cab was there,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello SusanLerner, I was glad to hear that you had a great experience, but disappointed to read that one individual created a negative situation as you were departing the hotel. We value your input and appreciate your insight about the situation. We will certainly be reviewing this with the appropriate individual and conduct the necessary training to avoid situations of... More

Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second family trip to Washington D.C. and we wanted to be just outside of D.C. but close to a Metro stop. This hotel is perfect for this! The property is in good condition and in a nice neighborhood. The Metro stop is about 5 minutes away. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a kitchen, which gave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello ColeQ, I am glad to hear that you found our Two bedroom suites to be spacious and our accessibility to the metro was beneficial to your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and hope to see you again in the future. Safe Travels! More

Providence, Rhode Island
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on the way to our final driving destination. It was fine for a family of five (3 teen boys 14,16,18). The place is really in need of renovation. The chairs in the living area had "pleather" arms that were cracked all over. The mattress sunk a bit (not the usual firm bed from Marriott). Signs if wear... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jeremy M, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, responded to this review

Hello Emzaro, We appreciate you input and feedback concerning your recent stay. We hope to see you again at some point in the future. Safe Travels! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street

Address: 1456 Duke Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town Hotel Alexandria
Alexandria Residence Inn

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria #9 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria #13 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
240

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer