We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    524
    440
    136
    46
    22
See reviews for
561
169
27
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1168)
  • Mar-May only
    (301)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (391)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (259)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (217)
All months
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect. Metro station is right across the street and plenty of restaurants and cute shops on King St. Our room smelled like an old ash tray. We couldn't switch rooms because they were booked. The sofa sleeper was very uncomfortable...no padding to the "mattress." The breakfast was good. You could get any kind of eggs, waffles, pancakes,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is unfortunate that a non-smoking room was not available for you at check in and that you were uncomfortable in the room you were assigned. We are in the process of updating all of our case goods in our rooms and redoing the tub surround, we are very excited about the... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Embassy Suites is a convenient place to stay if you are visiting the D.C. area. The Metro is just across the street. If you fly into National Reagan airport, it's easy to access the Metro to the King Street Exit and only about 2 stops I believe from the airport. It's also easy to hop on Metro and go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you appreciated the location of our hotel and that it offered convenience in your daily sightseeing. I am concerned, that you did not enjoy our full cooked to order breakfast, as we make every effort to offer a variety of food items and daily specials. I am pleased however, that you... More 

Boston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Two room suite is convenient. Location across the street from Metro and steps from shopping and restaurants was great. Breakfast and evening reception added bonus. Before booking, ensure construction on rooms is completed or not near your room.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very excited about our room updates as completion is nearing, mid- January 2014, and make every effort to locate our guests away from the construction and possible noise. It does happen that due to the open atrium, some sound may be heard, but every attempt is made to work during those hours during... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The location is great. It is directly across the street from a main metro terminal so it is easy to get to anywhere downtown. There is also a free shuttle that goes from the metro stop into Old Towne Alexandria, which has lots of shops and restaurants. The rooms are nice and amazingly quiet. We had a room on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay, despite the fact that you had difficulty maneuvering in the parking garage and I hope that we may be able to service you again. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager More 

Elkridge, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel, employees friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was very good and presented well. The free breakfast was fair with the smallest omeletes that I have every seen. I think if you paid for breakfast it could have been better, I guess.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that your stay was a pleasant one, but concerned that you did not seem to enjoy our complimentary breakfast offerings. Although our omelets are made according to Hilton standards, I am sure that our staff would have been able to accommodate you with a larger omelet of your choice upon request.... More 

Hickory, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Guest rooms now being updated (Fall 2013) walk across street to metro and near many other places of interest in Alexandria. Very good made to order breakfast. Some rooms can see Washington Monument. Unlimited movie and Sony PS3 game rentals was good deal for my group.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were able to appreciate the convenience of our hotel’s location and that your stay was personalized with the unlimited movie and game rentals. Please come back and visit us soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager More 

New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my family, we had 4 rooms, I shared one with my mother. When we checked in, I went into the bathroom to get a towel, and a large panel of wood fell off from under the sink onto my foot. I called the front desk and told them what happened, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am deeply concerned that an issue you encountered while at our hotel was not addressed while you were here and to make matters worse, that the email apologizing after the fact, may not have been received by you, as it was sent to the email of the guest who made the initial reservation. I... More 

Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went to DC together with our 3 boys, stayed at this hotel and took the metro to the Smithonian museums. It was a great experience. The best price and quality for the area. They also serve a free amazing buffet style breakfast and a free happy hour. Very happy with the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and were able to visit the numerous sites and museums that Washington DC has to offer. Please come back and see us again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager More 

West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have stayed here before and really enjoyed the experience. The location, staff, and room exceeded my expectations. I just reserved a room for later this month ( Nov ), partly because they were offering a free parking special. when I booked, I found out the "free" parking costs $12.00 per day. I was told that normally the parking charge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your past stay and that you will be returning to our hotel in November. We do offer a “Park & Play” rate on our Embassy Suites website which identifies a “savings of $14.00 or more”. I am however, unaware of the “free parking” special you reference in your review.... More 

Columbus, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We tend to stay at Embassy Suites when traveling with our children, but will likely not return to this particular location. The hotel has a convenient location, directly across the street from the King St. Metro. However, there were a couple of issues: 1. Strange charges: After we arrived home, I noticed that my credit card was overcharged by $67.42... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am concerned to hear about the issues you encountered while staying at our hotel. We pride ourselves of having the most amiable staff and feel saddened, that the only positive encounter you had was with the Front Office staff. Let me assure you, that we do not overcharge our guests for their stay. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

602 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (152)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)
Viewed
Other (64)
Viewed
Two Room King Suite (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (127)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay