We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
1900 Diagonal Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Special Offer
Holiday Pre-Sale: $119/nt
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Add Photo Write a Review

1,164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    524
    437
    136
    45
    22
See reviews for
559
168
27
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1164)
  • Mar-May only
    (301)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (387)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (259)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (217)
All months
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The hotel is recently renovated and my guess is most of the rooms are great. My room, 151, is a very nice cellblock. No windows, no exterior light. I am in this room after being told (a) we have no room for you in spite of your reservation, and then (b) we have a room for you, but it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate the type of room you reserved. Although we strive to accommodate our guests with exact reservations, at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and... More 

Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Wonderful staff to work with during our event. Various hotel staff checked in with us throughout the day to ask how everything was going & if we needed anything. Room were spacious and clean. Food was to excellent with wide range of choices. Polite. Friendly. Knowledgeable.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that your event was a success and that our hotel was your chosen venue. We hope to be able to offer you the same hospitality and accommodation next time you visit. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager More 

Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I've stayed here many times. The hotel is directly across from the King street metro station making is supremely convenient to public transit. It's two metro stops from National Airport. The renovated fitness center is excellent. It has four elliptical trainers, treadmills, two bikes, weights and universal gym. There are also fitness balls. Access to the fitness center requires crossing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you appreciate the changes to our fitness area and that you have been able to make use of the facility. Please come back and see us in 2014, when our rooms will have completed a new case goods upgrade and tub-surround. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your... More 

Champaign, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Comfortable room. Good breakfast included, staff at breakfast were pleasant and accomodating, and evening reception was good. Too bad internet was not included. But the internet worked well. Comfortable room, plenty of space.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again soon. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed at the Embassy Nov.6-8. It was like coming home, I used to stay there all the time when a road warrior. I now visit once a year and they have same hospitality staff, great general manager. Every year there is an upgrade to the facility and this year was no exception. Great to order breakfasts! It is situated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am so pleased that you continue to visit us once a year and that we are your hotel of choice. We like to hear when our guest’s think of us as their home away from home and appreciate your continued patronage. I look forward to your next visit and having you experience our... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wonderful service during an extended weekend. Especially enjoyed the bartender-makes great amaretto sours and was unobtrusive! Great shuttle service and knowledgeable staff. This hotel is directly across from the Metro for easy access to DC. Would definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you were able to join us, even if only for a short duration! We will look forward to your return to our hotel. Best Regards…MaryAnne Russell General Manager More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel needs to be updated for more modern style . Carpets in room and hallways can be better. Also, PLEASE DON'T EAT in the hotel's restaurant. We are suppose to eat out but since it's very busy during that day, we thought we can try their own restaurant. It was awful. We ordered fried calamari for an appetizer, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is very disconcerting to read such negative comments about our restaurant, I will be forwarding this review to the director of Food and Beverage for immediate attention. In the meantime please reach out to us, so we may discuss your hotel experience more at length. I anxiously await your call. Best... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect. Metro station is right across the street and plenty of restaurants and cute shops on King St. Our room smelled like an old ash tray. We couldn't switch rooms because they were booked. The sofa sleeper was very uncomfortable...no padding to the "mattress." The breakfast was good. You could get any kind of eggs, waffles, pancakes,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is unfortunate that a non-smoking room was not available for you at check in and that you were uncomfortable in the room you were assigned. We are in the process of updating all of our case goods in our rooms and redoing the tub surround, we are very excited about the... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The Embassy Suites is a convenient place to stay if you are visiting the D.C. area. The Metro is just across the street. If you fly into National Reagan airport, it's easy to access the Metro to the King Street Exit and only about 2 stops I believe from the airport. It's also easy to hop on Metro and go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you appreciated the location of our hotel and that it offered convenience in your daily sightseeing. I am concerned, that you did not enjoy our full cooked to order breakfast, as we make every effort to offer a variety of food items and daily specials. I am pleased however, that you... More 

Boston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Two room suite is convenient. Location across the street from Metro and steps from shopping and restaurants was great. Breakfast and evening reception added bonus. Before booking, ensure construction on rooms is completed or not near your room.

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
wasot_gm, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very excited about our room updates as completion is nearing, mid- January 2014, and make every effort to locate our guests away from the construction and possible noise. It does happen that due to the open atrium, some sound may be heard, but every attempt is made to work during those hours during... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

602 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (152)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (323)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)
Viewed
Other (64)
Viewed
Two Room King Suite (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay