We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
2345 Mill Road, Alexandria, VA 22314
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
CarolinaTravelers2 Greensboro, North Carolina
Add Photo Write a Review

339 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    199
    104
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
94
75
25
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (339)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

All the room comforts one expects in a Marriott property are here--comfortable bed, clean room, free wifi, appropriate amenities. Staff members--especially Cory (General Manager), Elizabeth, and Juliana--are friendly, courteous, patient, and efficient: they create a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The lobby/seating area is open and inviting with various seating configurations. The buffet breakfast has a nice selection, including a very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Dear Carolina Travelers2, it was absolutely wonderful to read about your experience at my hotel. We strive everyday to make this kind of impression on all of our guests, and I am very proud of my staff for delivering it to you. I look forward to sharing your compliments with all of the people you mentioned by name and to... More 

Canton, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Apartment style Residence Inn with ok breakfast selection. Pros - nice and friendly staff, ok breakfast, good manager's reception, shuttle service within short radius, and wonderful gym. Cons - no pool, elevators can be slow at times, managers' reception limited to Monday - Wednesday evenings, windows do not open for ventilation especially when cooking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Dear Jake F, Thank you for the compliments on my friendly staff and services. So many travelers love the value we build with our complimentary breakfast, evening social, high speed WIFI and 2 mile radius courtesy shuttle. I am glad that you enjoyed all of the amenities. Once again thank you and I look forward to seeing you next time... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great budget hotel as base for 4 day business trip to DC. Newish building, purpose designed. Good facilities ( I preferred the bar, compared to the sister hotel up the road which had the pool). Room was great and well equipped with full cooking and dining facilities for the long stayer - tho I did not require. Casual bar, very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Dear Nick B, I am delighted that your experience with us “hit the spot”! Our lobby bar was just recently newly constructed and it’s nice to see that our customers are enjoying it. It is also helpful that our facility is young and well equipped. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with me and... More 

Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights so we could visit Washington. The room was great, very clean with a separate kitchen. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The only negative thing was the location which was in the business district so there wasn't much happening at night, we had to walk to the old town for the metro and for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Dear britman 20, thank you for the great compliments about my very clean rooms and friendly helpful staff. Our location here in beautiful Old Town Alexandria is so fabulous for both business and nightlife travelers that we're the closest hotel to the Hoffman Center nightlife area (it's just a one block walk! Or our free shuttle can be taken if... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Worked out well for us. Separate rooms and kitchenette made a huge difference. Staff very accommodating and professional. Location is very convenient though it's in a business district, not the heart of old town, and pretty quiet at night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Dear Jerry M, thank you for the “very nice” compliments regarding your experience at my hotel. We have such a great combination of value with our convenient location, accommodating staff, and full kitchens in every suite; and I am very glad you enjoyed them all. I look forward to passing on your compliments to my staff and thanks again for... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Alexandria is a beautiful town and the historic old town district is a must visit if you are in DC area. This property is conveniently located close to old town (5 min drive). Rooms are nice and very comfortable. However, it looses a couple of stars since the check-in experience was not that great. We were told that their parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Dear Ratheesh P, thank you for sharing with me your feedback regarding your stay. While it is normal for many hotels to only offer offsite parking for all of their guests, we are fortunate enough to have the combination of both on premises parking and an ample capacity parking garage located just directly across the street. Guests simply love both... More 

Orleans, Ontario
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
77 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

Have stayed in VA a few times now when visiting DC and Alexandria gives you the best of both worlds ... Old Town character and quick 15 minute access to Downtown Washington. This hotel is clean and located near the Eisenhower metro and several restaurants with a good gym. Windows are also soundproofed so you don't hear the metro or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Dear WJR-041, I am glad you enjoyed our clean accommodations and close proximity to the metro and popular destination venues. All of our guests are very important to us, whether a guest is a reward member of any level, a new customer, or any customer that we have the privilege of serving. If I have an upgrade available I would... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I stayed 3 nights at this hotel and from the time of check-in, the staff was rude. Check-in was complicated and specifics were not explained to me. The hotel also incorrectly charged my credit card. When speaking with the manager about the situation, she was rude as well. The manager did not correct the mistake of their staff, but instead... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Dear Mary l, thank you for providing me feedback regarding your hotel stay. Please accept my apologies for all of the incidents you described in your post. I am very grateful for the valuable information you have given me because it enables me to continue improving our customer service so that to uphold all of the great reviews written before... More 

Charlestown, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

We recently stayed at this hotel when we were in the DC area. We have stayed at residence inns in the past and have had nothing but great things to say about them, and this one was equally great. The hotel itself was in a fantastic location. We absolutely loved the area we were in. We were two blocks from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth C, welcome to the ongoing growing club of happy customers that are discovering our fantastic location. Everybody just simply loves our close walking distance to so many popular destinations; and our super close proximity to the metro station. Our free daily breakfast is the best in town, and when accompanied with an amazing staff that delivers consistently friendly... More 

manila
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Satisfied important things for me. 1. well maintained bathroom. 2. well maintained room and beddings. Breakfast selection was good. Location was great...especially with the help of the free shuttle around the city. free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate all day and night at lobby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cory G, General Manager at Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town South at Carlyle, responded to this review

Dear cristina b, thank you for sharing your experience with me. I am delighted that my staff satisfied maintaining the guest room, bathroom, and beddings for you. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the team. So many people choose my hotel for the great location, I am glad that you do too. Once again thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay