We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Hotel website
Hotel deals
1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

390 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    145
    155
    55
    19
    16
See reviews for
155
108
28
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (390)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
See the most recent reviews
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent 4 nights here while enjoying the attractions in the Washington, DC area. I am so glad I selected this hotel. Although it is older it is still a good value for your money. It is close to the Metro and the hotel shuttle was very handy. This area of old town Alexandria is very nice and quaint. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Columbus,WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

What a neat little hotel! This hotel is in the historic residential district of Alexandria Virginia just a few miles south of DCA. Beautifully situated among red brick row houses, cobblestone sidewalks and about 4 blocks from a park and riverwalk on the Potomac. They offer a free shuttle to and from the airport (about a 10 minute ride) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Conway, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I am from South Carolina and travel at least five times a year throughout the south east. I would NEVER EVER stay at a Best Western Hotel. I usually book rooms at Hampton Inn, Embassy Suites or Courtyard by Marriott. Because of an event in town, those hotels were booked. I needed to reserve at least six rooms immediately. Therefore,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kelso, Washington, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our second stay. We stay here because of the location although the rooms are great and so is the breakfast. We did miss the snack room that they had last time we stayed. The shuttle to the airport and the metro makes it a very convenient place to stay. No need to rent a car.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is a great hotel for people with vehicles who want to be close to the mall in a quiet residential setting. The hotel is fairly intimate, the rooms are spacious and clean & the staff is friendly. The price includes: free parking, Wi-Fi and a descent breakfast. It never took us more than 10 minutes to get to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel. The previous stay over a year ago, and we loved it and had a wonderful time. There have been changes and we feel the quality has declined in the last year. They no longer offer the snack kitchen, which was a nice perk, but we understand that it was probably costing far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

First I would like to thank you for your comments. You are correct about not offering the snack kitchen anymore. We have undergone new management and we are in the process of making some changes to the hotel. I agree about the eggs, so we have changed brands. I hope you give us another chance and see how nice we... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It looks to have a lot of parking space, so if you have a car, I think this would be a great choice for you. If you don't, you will have to rely on shuttle service, which was dependable and the driver was really accommodating, or walk. A LOT. The room was clean and the bed was super comfortable. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Beds were very comfortable room fairly clean except for dead bugs in bathroom ceiling light. Staff was very friendly. We had a first floor room that was very easy for my mother who can not walk very far. The Handicapped parking was about 20 ft from our door. Breakfast was not the greatest hotel breakfast I have had. Food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for leaving us a review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I already have housekeeping working on those lights. Thank you for letting me know. Come back and see us again and we will make sure you get some eggs. Thank you again. More 

Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was THE worst hotel experience I have ever had. No where, on their site, is there an indication that there wasn't an elevator. My husband has problems with his legs, and this hotel put us in the room farthest from the only entrance that was accessible at night, even though I had requested a first floor room upon booking.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

First of all I would like to tell you again how sorry I am that you had such a bad experience at our hotel. I do apologize for being sold out on the first floor when you arrived and I am also sorry you didn't get our call to move you to a downstairs room the next morning. Thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay