We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

2.5 of 5 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    130
    46
    16
    12
See reviews for
134
92
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (337)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
New England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was a nice hotel with a friendly efficient front desk staff. The shower had lots of pressure,but more than once I got a burst of very hot water that was dangerously hot. The shuttle is very helpful. We used it to go to the Metro. IF you are planning on staying here to go into DC, it takes a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Petersburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was clean and quite which was exactly what we were looking. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom is somewhat dated however the shower was great. This location was very convenient to Reagan National Airport and grocery store. Downtown was just a few blocks away.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staten Island, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was terrible..Restaurants were not close, they were not kid friendly especially for breakfast. Bathrooms were nasty, with barely any hot water. The rooms were ok, clean and thank goodness did not smell..Downfall, there was no elevators.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Jennifer B, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. I also thought we had a good variety of kid items for breakfast. We have kid cereals and make your own waffles which has been a kid pleaser for a long time. Oatmeal, fresh fruit and items for toasting along with eggs and bacon or sausage... More 

Portsmouth, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice staff, great location, in the middle of town. Staff extremely helpful and pleasant. Would definitely stay there again and recommend. Was the best price around for a nice room, other hotels close by were at least 50% more. Great bargain and very nice rooms.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

John L, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We greatly appreciate your business and glad you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you again and have a great day. More 

Baton Rouge, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No refrigerator, not working toaster, not clean towels. Breakfast was the best in I saw in this class (included breakfast) but staff need to care more No refrigerator, not working toaster, not clean towels. Breakfast was the best in I saw in this class (included breakfast) but staff need to care more

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quiet, clean, warm, convenient - very reasonable rates so close to DC. Just a few blocks to the of lovely shops and restaurants in the heart of Alexandria. Van service to King St and metro. Must have been on Inn as in Old Colony Inn. Set back from George Washington Parkway on a quiet service road.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

hhmarcom, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are pleased that you had such a good time and enjoyed our hotel. We hope you come back and stay with us again when you come to the area. Thank you again, More 

California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

I spent a week at this hotel and had a wonderful time! They have a free shuttle that picks you up at the airport & takes you back. The free shuttle also will take you to Old Town Alexandria, to 2 Alexandria Metro Stations and a nearby shopping center. The staff are very friendly and informative. The room was fine,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Dear ckkartist, Thank you for taking the time to fill out your response. We were happy to have you stay with us and glad you had such a good time. Hope you have a Happy Holiday. More 

New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Overall good value for an expensive region. Rooms are modern and very clean, front desk staff is friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. Suitable for families as well as business travelers. Shuttle to Old Town is very reliable and quick, and the nearby metro station made trips to DC easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Darius A, Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are glad to here you enjoyed your stay while visiting DC. Please come back the next time you come to town. Thank you, More 

North Branch, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed at The Old Colony Inn from Friday to Wednesday, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The neighborhood is beautiful and I felt very safe the entire visit. The have free parking and free shuttle to all local areas. Jeremiah, one of the drivers is an excellent individual and very dedicated employee. We walked every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

Cindy T, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us a review. I am so glad you had such a good time while staying with us here in Alexandria. The waterfront is so beautiful and so much fun to experience. I see you also went to one of our favorite restaurants too. Please come back... More 

Westerville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Old Colony Inn. First time was two years ago for vacation with my daughter; this time I visited on a three-day business/pleasure trip alone. My plane arrived at National at 7 a.m. and I grabbed a taxi to the hotel. They were nice enough to let me check in then as there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shelby C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn, responded to this review

cchottel, It was great having you remember us and come back to stay with us again after 2 years. We loved having you here and I am glad we could make you trip so pleasant. Hope you have a Happy Holiday and that we get to see you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay