We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 49 Alexandria hotels

Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Hotel deals
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
79%
Ranked #18 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Ross T Brooklyn, New York
  • Reviews (428)
  • Photos (56)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (75)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    157
    55
    18
    14
See reviews for
179
98
23
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife booked this hotel because it had a wheelchair accessible room with a roll-in shower (which I need). When we arrived, the receptionist informed us that the room had been booked in error, and that there was nothing that he could do. He then suggested that we look at another accessible room but without a roll-in shower. We did,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Dorset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked a two night stay here at 3 a.m. in the morning to arrive later that day whilst having a terrible night elsewhere, cutting our break there from 3 nights to 1. Our relief at finding somewhere to go at such short notice probably made us more impressed than we might have been but I can honestly say every... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mattapoisett, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel was quick to get my family in and as all Hampton Inn's it's a safe clean place for my family to stay. The pool was excellent and the breakfast was a great value as I have a family of five. If I wasn't so tried when we arrived the Hotel offered free shuttle service to and from the... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We experienced great service, hotel was clean and near to highway. Our room was very clean but the beds were very hard. Overall we would probably return and try a different room in the hope to find a softer bed :)

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakdale, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location to National Harbor. Free shuttle service to the DC Metro made it very easy to go sight-seeing in DC without worrying about a car. Also, the free self-parking was an added plus to the stay. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was super clean, super quiet and a great value. Plus you always receive a free breakfast at Hampton Inn. Even if it's just yogurt and toast with coffee, tea or juice - it's a nice perk of staying here. We had nothing but praise for the staff that we came into contact with during our stay in August,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rib Lake, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family arrived in DC and spent four nights. My parents arrived before me and were told there was no reservation in my name and they had no rooms available. My Mom had to call me at the airport to ask for the reservation number. They were then told, "oh, whoever entered the reservation entered the first and last name... More

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed July 11-18 and check-in was quick and smooth. We not happy with our first room on the second floor after the first night - dusty rug and flooding toilet - but no problems with front desk moving us to another 2-bedroom suite on the fourth floor - much cleaner. Both rooms were first off the elevator so a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was probably the worse I've seen for the amount of money they charge. The front desk didn't seem to be too overly concerned about much of anything. The elevators didn't work for most of my stay. My mother, who is in a wheel chair, couldn't go outside the building by herself because the handicapped door didn't open when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. We apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our team to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again. More

Washington D.C
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here twice in July 2014. The first time there was a very large family reunion taking place in the hotel so I chalked a lot of what I saw and experienced up to an overwhelmed staff. Unfortunately when I returned about 2 weeks later the same problems were still present. The front desk staff was unprofessional and unhelpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Alexandria with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#8 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria #14 Family Hotel in Alexandria #20 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
213

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer