We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Hotel website
Hotel deals
625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer!
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
Add Photo

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    76
    124
    72
    36
    28
See reviews for
82
49
30
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (336)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
See the most recent reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

If your a history buff or you have friends in stationed in the area this is the place to stay! I found this hotel on a whim and to my surprise, the staff was extreamly friendly anf helpful. (Not something you experance when visiting places new england.) A free shuttle runs to the airport which you can also pick up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, Administrator at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. It is truly our pleasure to service our guests. I am glad to hear that our location worked out so well for you. Next time you may want to include in your many things to do, our bicycles that we have available that are free to our guest... More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in January. P.S. I booked this room on Priceline, so I don't know if they reserve the worst lot of rooms for those reservations. Either way, I spent about $100 for the night (including the $20 for parking!) and was VERY unimpressed. The lobby and bar looked fine, but the room was pretty grungy. There... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, Administrator at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments, we always look forward to hearing from our guest on where we can improve. I am sorry that you had an issue with your room decor and arrangement of the room. It is our goal to make sure every one of our guest has an absolutely fantastic stay. We will take your comments... More 

Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for business. It was convenient to get to. The Wifi was AWFUL, it was really painfully slow. The bed was comfortable, seemed pretty clean, and the staff was nice. The parking lot is really small and the spots are incredibly tight which having an SUV rental car was a parking nightmare for me. There is a Safeway across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, Administrator at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment on our hotel and services. Our hotel strives to give our guest the best services and accommodations. We do apologize for the inconvenience in reference to parking, our parking garage was being worked on at the time and had to be closed to for a short time. It is now completed, our parking space are... More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights on business and had a pleasant stay. The facility is very clean and nice, the staff was great too. The hotel is very close to the Patomac River, walking distance. Very close to Regan Airport as well with a complimentary shuttle to and from there. Good experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have mixed experiences at Holiday Inns in the past but the price was right for an unexpected trip. Beds were comfy, AC unit was quiet, room seemed clean. My husband and I were happy with the quality and location of the hotel. It is very easy to get to right off the GW Parkway, in a very nice, safe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff was nice but there was no parking on property. They shuttle you back and forth to their sister property 3 blocks away. This worked fine except my husband's expected arrival time was 4 am...no shuttle. He was fortunate enough to find an on street parking spot around the corner. I wish they would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Farmington hills, MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We weren't familiar with the Alexandria / DC area so we could only go by reviewers comments. We chose this hotel and really enjoyed the entire experience. Very accessible to King street and the Metro. We used the hotel shuttle extensively. Everyone on the staff was great. They couldn't do enough to make our 4 day visit comfortable and fun.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is an older Holiday Inn but our room was clean and fine for 1 night. The only problem we encountered was finding parking around the hotel. The parking garage and fitness center are currently under repair and closed. Although they do offer alternative parking at the Crown Plaza it is several blocks away from this hotel. This Holiday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Arriving on a sunday night, I was given a room key for a suite. Upon opening the door, the chain was on the door with someone inside yelling HEY.... I walked back to get another room. My second room, the key card did not work. After convincing the front desk that they needed to come with me to let me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WASHINGTON,PA.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

we had a wonderful trip last may,2012. whenever we go to d.c. area we always plan on staying at the holiday inn, alexandria. very convenient in and out of d.c. and the surrounding area. found this hotel to be very good, clean and very accomodating to us.would and have, recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay