We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Hotel website
Hotel deals
625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
Add Photo Write a Review

354 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    79
    132
    75
    39
    29
See reviews for
94
51
31
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (354)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (100)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The rooms were clean, cool, and comfortable. These qualities, for me, are imperative to a enjoyable hotel stay, yet this experience was anything but pleasant. At check-in, we received keys to our two rooms: two people in one room, one person in the other. Upon entering his room, my father discovered clothes and shoes scattered about on the floor. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel serves breakfast in the lounge area until 10 AM. We arrived at 9:30 and we're informed that we could only get the buffet to late to order from the menu. I wanted to pass and should have, however, my friend was hungry. There was only scrapes left at this point. I tried the scrambled eggs which were ice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's not always that you get to review a hotel that's less than five minutes away from your home. Our home AC broke on a day when temperatures were unbearably high, so we were in search for an air conditioned oasis. This hotel did the trick! This is not a luxury or boutique experience, but it's a clean, comfy night's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear JayCobb1045, Thank you for the wonderful comments about your recent visit with us. We look forward to responses from our guest. It is our goal that each guest would have a great overall experience that exceeded your expectations. We are so glad you were comfortable and that the service you received gained notoriety of being a nearby oasis for... More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great big room with superb coffee making machinery. Location is ok but rather far a walk from kings street. Giant supermarket has closed down and the next big supermarket is 2-3 blocks down. Room is clean and nice but does look a bit dated. Wifi on the iPhone died on me on the last day

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Qes78 Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and our location convenient. However we would have preferred you were pleased... More 

Imperial
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel location is conveniently located close to the mall but far enough away with plenty to do in Alexandria if you want to get away from the crowds. The 2 Mo's behind the front desk were very helpful...especially Moe. He gave us advice on places to eat and tours to take around the area as well as shuttle information. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The worst experience EVER ! As a member of the IHG Program I feel obliged to report the terrible service I received at this hotel. To start with, I would like to mention that I am a U.S. citizen and I was traveling with my daughter who lives in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. We love to travel and we have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear ValSavino, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We sorry for the unfortunate incident that transpired during your stay. We apologize you had issues that took away from you having... More 

Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice, clean hotel really close to the airport. We had to catch a flight in the morning and the hotel was in an ideal location for that. A number of restaurants are within walking distance from the hotel which is convenient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located north of the main area of historic Alexandria, but the distance is walkable (about 8 blocks). There are restaurants within a block or two of the hotel itself. The hotel rooms themselves were quite nice. They were the standard hotel room layout, but seemed to have a bit more width to them than most, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear ConestogaWagoneer, We appreciate that you took the time to leave a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. It is nice to know that you noticed the cleanliness of the rooms. However, I am sorry that you had some service issues at the restaurant. I also apologize for the air conditioning issue you experienced. I... More 

Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Paid $125 a night during a long weekend stay in Alexandria. Nice hotel but I have a few nitpicky things I didn't care for. The parking garage spots are not accommodating to normal sized vehicles (we drove a Chevy Impala) and the spots are more for very compact cars. Plus we were too far to walk to the water or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Granger7, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with our elevator and with some aspects of our bathroom. Please be assured that your comments will be considered when making the needed improvements. I do hope that you will allow us to host you... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We traveled to Alexandria with our grandchildren. Positives: Shuttle to and from the airport Reduced prices on kid breakfast meals (nothing fancy but filled up the kids) Staff responsive and helpful Ate at TJ Stones and Haute Dawgs only a block away. Negatives: Far from King Street and shuttle doesn't run until mid afternoon Old hotel-had to move rooms due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review

Dear Barbara09123, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about our staff and the shuttle service. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room condition, internet service and housekeeping. We will address these concerns. We take all reviews... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#25 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Ready to book?