We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clarion Inn Austin North

Hotel website
Hotel deals
7928 Gessner Drive, Austin, TX 78753 (Formerly Best Western)
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clarion Inn Austin North
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clarion Inn Austin North
Clarion Inn Austin North
Clarion Inn Austin North
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    32
    36
    18
    19
See reviews for
44
28
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
There are newer reviews for Clarion Inn Austin North
See the most recent reviews
Atlanta
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
64 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is a nicely maintained and, in its day, was probably extremely nice. Alas, over the years, age has started to take its course but the hotel is still a decent one. The beds were firm yet not hard. The sheets were white and clean. The bathroom was spacious. The work area was an actual desk with enough electrical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anas J, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and we appreciate your detailed opinion about your experience at our hotel. We would like to see you back in your next visit to Austin to make offer you a memorable stay with no hesitation to be your home away from home More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked this hotel as we needed a pet friendly hotel in this location. I'm sure there are more updated hotels near this one but not all of them were pet friendly. The lady at the front desk was really friendly and professional. We got a room on the 3rd floor and the room was pretty dated but kept as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anas J, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Thank you Tiia for your feedback, and hope to see you in Austin on your next visit. We are working on updating some areas in the hotel and that is a continuous work we do to better guest satisfaction with keeping our hotel clean and neat. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

1st noticed atrium was hot, then tried A/C in room, didn't work either, went down to front desk, they was going to give us another room but it turned out to really smell like a smokers room, we had a non smoking room, my wife said no way, so being in the A/C business I got the A/C to work... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anas J, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Austin North, responded to this review

We deeply apologies for the experience you have had in our hotel and we do understand the frustration you must have been through. I am not sure where all these roaches are coming from, as our weekly pest control never missed. We do our best to make sure offer our respected guests the comfortable and enjoyable experience and offer the... More 

Austin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room at check in had no water for two hours. it was barely hot. The ac unit in the 4th floor meeting room did not work. The key cards were not properly swiping . It is in a bad part of the city. At 11:00pm a fight broke out at the apartment complex across the street. One police car... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anas J, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Thanks Mark for your feedback and I do apologies for the inconvenience has been cause with several unusual events during your stay. The water was cut off for maintenance issue and it took longer than anticipated. Please contact me directly in your next visit to Austin, and we will make sure that you will have a comfortable stay that meet... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you're not familiar with North Austin, this Best Western Atrium North is located on an access road immediately behind an elevated interstate and it's very hard to get to during rush hour if you don't know the area due to Austin's heavy traffic. The immediate vicinity near the hotel looks a bit seedy with homeless people taking shelter under... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anas J, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Thanks for your detailed feedback, which is highly appreciated and valued. We are sorry that you were misled through online information that we have washing machines in premises as we have never advertised such service in our website; nonetheless, we are working to outsource this service for the convenience of our guests. More 

Houston, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I am not sure about where to start. How about the lack of air conditioning in the atrium. Maybe the quarter inch separation between the window and the frame for the bugs. Or maybe the lack of sufficient water pressure to take a shower, Maybe it should be the breakfast where there was only one guy trying to cook, clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I do not expect to be treated at a Best Western like I would if I stayed at the Ritz, but I do expect a place to live up to what they advertise. The person checking us in was completely flustered by the fact we had vouchers for free nights. He could not "remember the password" in order to log... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anas J, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Hospitality measure, one thing goes wrong the whole stay goes wrong! First we would like to thank you to take a time to write us your feedback that we highly value. We sure can see the level of frustration you have put in during your stay in our hotel; although we always keep up with several training to have all... More 

Niceville, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had to attend a training program for work, as a health and safety professional that travels alot, I was very impressed with the hotel. It was well maintained and had a large, clean room with a king size bed. The linens were clean but worn and the bed very comfortable. Internet speed was fine during the day, but as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anas J, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and we highly appreciate your feedback. Please note that we are working to upgrading our internet service and jump up the speed. Kindly ask our front office staff to place you away from the pool to insure a quieter stay. Wayne our cook is the person we proud of and count on to make a good... More 

Conroe, Texas, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Have stayed here before...its close to what I am in town for...mostly clean...its always noisy, the pool inside contributes to that, I'm sure...morning breakfast is great! but the overall price is a bit high

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anas J, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Thanks Brian for your feedback that we always highly value and appreciate, also it allow us to meet and exceed our guests' expectations. Please let us place you away from the pool side in your next visit as they are quieter rooms for sure. More 

Austin, Texas, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I tried to book a room directly with this hotel, but because of a corporate discount, was directed to call the 1-800 number. The operator was friendly and helpful as she booked my room. We completed the booking and she asked if i'd like the confirmation number. i replied that emailing it was sufficient. Fours hours later, when i arrived... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anas J, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Austin North, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you had a good stay with us. Nonetheless, we do apologies for the inconvenience has occurred during the booking as the national agreement should be booked through our Best Western International channel, and for some reason and we believe due to system defect, we have not received the booking and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question