We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Hotel website
Hotel deals
20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    143
    181
    150
    68
    36
See reviews for
93
120
41
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (578)
  • Mar-May only
    (169)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (173)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The reason why I was in Austin for the weekend was because me and my boyfriend wanted to spend some time together since we are always busy with our work life. So we come to Austin, and let me tell you... we were so excited to check in the hotel because we barely stay at hotels. Now as we walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We regret the problems you encountered but we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately, we we had to close off our 6th floor and along with it, the pool and fitness center. The staff was instructed to advise all guests upon check it and offer several options for recreation. Thanks again and we hope to... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

None of the amenities were functional due to construction, no laundry, no pool, no gym. I think guests should be made aware prior to booking, not upon arrival. Front desk staff wasn't friendly when I checked in at 11pm after a 4 hour drive, so that was a bad first impression. I was passed around between 3 different clerks for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to relay your experiences during your stay. Unfortunately, due to a changing construction schedule, we were unable to post the closure of our pool and fitness center on the 6th floor to our website. The staff was instructed to offer complimentary transportation and entrance to the Town Lake YMCA or Barton Springs Pool. Checking... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is for sure dated. Dingy carpets. Hotel going through renovation. Beds have old mattresses that sink when one sits/lies in them. A/C units had issues while we were here. HD cable TV signal kept going out. There's so much going on in tiny parking area of hotel. It's such a struggle just to enter parking area to check in.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for relaying your comments about your stay. Yes we are renovating the property. The containers in the parking lot are temporary and will free up ample space once they are removed. There are six, 10 minute slots for those checking in, directly across from the main entrance. We also hope to remedy the issue with food trucks in... More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for a conference that was also taking place in the hotel. The reason for my low rating is as follows. Negatives: -When I laid down for bed on the first night, the first thing I noticed was that the sheets were not clean. I won't say what was on them, but it was disgusting. The bed had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for relaying your comments. I’m concerned that your bed was not cleaned and have shared this with our Executive Housekeeper. Cleaning every bed, every day is a hotel standard and what is expected of every guest. Not doing so is completely unacceptable. Please accept our apologies. Parking is not usually an issue as we have ample parking for... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was here for a conference. This hotel is very clean. I had a nice, large room on a high floor with a balcony and a great view of...a defunct shopping mall. Which was kind of interesting from a historical cultural perspective. It was a bit fascinating and eerie to be in the midst of such a sprawl of parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

I’m afraid that you have mistaken us for the Holiday Inn Midtown. We do not have balconies, our parking is in a five story structure and there is not defunct shopping mall next to us. We can boast a convenient location near IH-35 though. We’re glad you’re stay at our sister property was pleasant and hope you can join us... More 

Danville, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here because I wanted access to 6th Street and also the Town Lake pedestrian/bike trail. The location for the trail is outstanding. They are redoing the hotel and it REALLY needs it. The furniture in the room was dinged, carpet very worn, and almost everything in the room that could rust was rusted (towel bar, air conditioner, etc.).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for your detailed comments about our property. Our renovation is proceeding nicely and we’ll be done a little earlier than May and that includes all the items mentioned. The plan is to have the property ready in time for SXSW in March. Actually the guest rooms and corridors will be done in mid October when we’ll begin lobby work.... More 

Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was here for a conference and had a pleasant experience. The location in great allowing easy access by foot, car or bus to downtown Austin and surrounding areas. I paid a higher price for a view of the pool and lake and it was beautiful. The hotel is in MAJOR need of updating and this is currently taking place.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments about our staff and the hotel. We are indeed renovating and the elevators and carpeting will all be included. We’re currently working on guest rooms and corridors and will begin lobby work in October. As with most renovations of this type, carpeting will be the last thing done. Thanks again for your constructive comments and please... More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Jennifer at the front desk was helpful.I Santiago and Sefany at the bar were awesome. I had the grilled chicken sandwich-loved it! The pool is on the 6th floor and gets sun until the sun sets. Gym is smaller than average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind comments and for recognizing our staff members. The front desk and bartenders are the front line in any hotel and ours are among the best. You may be interested to learn that as part of our current renovation, the fitness center will be enlarged and moved to the first floor near the main entrance.... More 

Dallas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in a King room for one night in the North tower. The room was very clean, they must have excellent housekeeping procedures and staff, I was very impressed. I attempted to take a quick dip in the pool around 5:00 Sunday night only to learn they had already closed it for cleaning. In a Texas summer, 5:00 is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

We’re elated that you enjoyed your stay appreciate your comments. Unfortunately, our pool was used heavily on Saturday and the water became cloudy. We waited until after checkout on Sunday when most of our leisure guests checked our to shock the pool. We regret any inconvenience we caused. Our renovation is progressing nicely and we’ll soon have all new rooms.... More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The things that made our stay at this Hotel Excellent are the location, the price and people. I travel to Austin somewhat frequently. This was a family trip and we wanted to be close to downtown. The facility is being remolded and shows wear & tear common to most downtown hotels that I visit. The key I look for is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments and compliments to our hotel and staff. Yes, we are remodeling the entire property but it's our people who make this Holiday Inn a great place to stay. We work hard to find and keep the best employees who give our guests the kind of Texas Hospitality they expect. Please come back and see us... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

362 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (162)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
King Room (47)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (12)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#48 of 191 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay