We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake

Hotel website
Hotel deals
20 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake
Share an Experience

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    170
    129
    60
    29
See reviews for
83
108
40
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (520)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (141)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (135)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
Orlano, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is a good location for downtown events. Not too far that you can walk to SXSW events. The hotel itself is clean. The fitness center had a broken hamster wheel, but everything else was in working order. The bar had a good amount of craft beer available along with the water ones. The hotel is right on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us during SXSW. Our location for this event gets better every year as the activity fill nearby Rainey Street. We’re just a 5 minute walk from Rainey and another 10 minutes to the Austin Convention Center. Please come back and stay with us again next year. We’ll have a newly renovated... More 

Seattle
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this Holiday Inn for a couple of nights when participating in a local event, and I found it to be adequate but that's about it. While the staff is friendly and the location on the river is nice, the facility itself is showing its age and could use some upgrading to bring the hotel to modern standards.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments about our staff and location. We do our best to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere for all guests. We in the permitting process for a top to bottom renovation so please check back with us and learn about the upgrades in progress. More 

USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was in the tower facing the river and bridge. No traffic noise, peaceful view of river bank park. The hotel is awkwardly placed, has no grounds of it's own, but does have large free parking garage. Once you figure out how to get in an out it is pleasant enough. The hotel is right near the freeway and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for the detailed comments. We do indeed have a great location right on Lady Bird Lake and with easy access to all that Austin has to offer. Thanks again and please come back and visit us again soon. More 

Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel to attend the Fleetwood Mac concert at UT. It was only 1.9 miles from the theater and the hotel offers free shuttle service if you make a reservation early enough. This service does end at 10:30 PM so different arrangements after the show need to be made. We took a cab back. It is definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words and compliment to our staff. We’re proud of our associates and work hard to find and retain the best that Austin has to offer. Please come back and see us again soon. More 

Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Probably the most average hotel I've stayed in. Its what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn I guess - a bit boring, not very polished but all in all OK. Rooms were sizable, on the old side. Breakfast was pretty disgusting. Prices seemed high but not out of line for Austin at that time. The hotel is right next to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for taking a few moments to leave your comments. Although it seems we did not meet your expectations, we do hope you’ll join us again. You may be interested to learn that we’ll soon be renovating the hotel from top to bottom. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again soon. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was really disappointed with this Holiday Inn location. -Elliptical machines in fitness center need to be replaced. -Elevators are beat up. -Shuttles are beat up and need to be replaced. -Hotel in general needs a facelift. Service was poor at breakfast. The one time the server came to my table, he brought cold coffee. If you are above average... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving your comments. Although we did not meet your expectation, we certainly appreciate your business. I’m surprised at the comments about the elliptical machines, they are only a year old but I’ll surely address this with our fitness equipment representative. I’ll also review this with our Front Office Manager to discuss with our drivers. Elevators will be... More 

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is at a great location if you want to see the bats fly every evening but for the price you have to pay it is way to expensive. The rooms are average and the building is due for an upgrade. Staff is friendly and the bar/ restaurant is average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and compliments to our staff. We do shop our competition and offer rates designed to add value to our guest’s stay. Rates change regularly depending of what’s happening in town. We’re also one of a very few that offer complimentary parking in the downtown area. Thanks again and we hope you come back soon. More 

houston Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The front desk staff was friendly. But the rate for a room on Saturday night was $214. For a holiday inn on a major freeway with traffic noise this seems high. It did include parking and the room was clean and well lit. Elevator serving parking garage needs some serious cleaning. Location was convenient to downtown Austin.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments and compliments to our staff. We do shop our competition and offer rates designed to add value to our guest’s stay. Rates change regularly depending of what’s happening in town. We’re also one of a very few that offer complimentary parking in the downtown area. Thanks again and we hope you come back soon. More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For those of you familiar with the TARDIS in the UK. Dr Who TV series you will know what I mean. On the outside this hotel looks modern and up to date, on the inside however it looks like it was built and furnished somewhere around the 1970s. Everywhere looks a bit tired and shabby. The staff are friendly enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thanks for taking a few moments to relay your comments. Our last renovation was in 2008 but we’re again waiting on the start of a top to bottom redo that addresses all the points you mention. It all starts in late April. We do hope you will stop by again and see the changes we’re making. And..we’ll leave the TARDIS... More 

texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible place to stay. Staff tried to enter room with "lost" guest at 5:30 am. luckily door door clasp was on. No knock or checking who was registered in the room. Someone charged drinks to my room at check out. When asked to see signed charge, they couldn't find it. Days later they were too busy to look for it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
todped, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Austin-Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments. Your experience is indeed troubling as this is a violation of our policy to always knock and wait for a reply. We will investigate and take measures to assure this does not recur. I’m glad we were able to reverse the erroneous charge to your room. Unfortunately, the wait is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

287 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (162)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
King Room (47)
Viewed
Pool (21)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question