We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 188 Austin hotels

Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North to your Saves list
Ranked #53 of 188 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
JC E Casper, Wyoming
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    49
    13
    10
    5
See reviews for
36
66
16
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place is a total disaster, and their customer service is really disappointing. I called to get some information on a booking, the gentleman that answered the phone basically said he didn't know anything because he only worked part time and he couldn't answer any questions. I then asked when would be a better time to call and he basically... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Casper, Wyoming
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
10 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Rodeway Inn was freshly painted...remodeled...There's still some work to do i.e., our tub needs replacing.... tall beds ok, Internet did not work in our room. Front Desk lady was very friendly and helpful...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Take a look at all of the good reviews—they all say the exact same thing and everyone seems to be from Texas. This hotel was dirty, full of bugs and smelled awful. The management were rude and seemed like they could care less about keeping a clean establishment. Seems very unlike other Choice Hotel brands. There are definitely cheaper options... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
RodwayInnAustinNorth, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that it has taken so long to get back to you on your stay here at the Rodeway Inn & Suites. I know you have expressed that our reviews are falsified but I can guarantee you that they all come from verified guests of ours. It is because of those guests that we show great... More 

Brackney, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Staff was very accomodating but rooms were very dissappointing. Cracked floor tiles and mold stained shower. Everything felt dirty. A little remodeling would go a long way! Next to a hospital and neighborhood seemed quite. Plenty of parking

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I stayed over the Grand Prix weekend when hotel prices here, and everywhere in Austin, are unconscionably tripled. That aside, the room was fine, clean and pleasant. The motel area is not too great, bounded by expressways and other cheapie hotel/motels.You walk nowhere. Downtown is a 10 minute drive via a confusing basket weave of roads. Good luck! Some of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This was an over all great experience, especially when you consider the price. The location wasn't too far away from everything in the city and the room was clean. I would recommend to anyone on a budget looking for a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

As some reviews have mentioned, this place isn't the easiest to find, even with a GPS. We found the other rodeway (university) and asked for directions there. It's off the 238A exit. Upon arrival at the correct location, we saved the coordinates. Plenty of free parking is available at the rear of the property. We were given a choice of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RodwayInnAustinNorth, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an... More 

Mason, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

The room we stayed in was a nice size and had a comfortable bed but had scratchy sheets. The bathroom was fairly recently remodeled, but it wasn't cleaned very well. There was a dead cricket in the fan light fixture and dirt in the shower. The restaurant that is attached is a dive and the food is not very good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Stayed in room 106 last night. The rooms stunk like cigarettes. There were dead crickets around the perimeter of the room. The shower looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while and the curtain was ripping out of the wall. There was an area beneath the shower curtain hanger that was wide open and I wouldn't doubt that there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RodwayInnAustinNorth, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North, responded to this review

Thomas, My sincerest apologies for the frustration you experienced. We strive for a superior customer service experience across all facets of a guest's stay, so my apologies that this was not met. Please let me know if there is something I can do to rectify the situation. Allen Bosque | General Manager gm.tx310@choicehotels.com 512.428.4494 More 

Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

This place was easy to find and very accesible to the freeway. The staff was very flexible with my check in, Since I arrived earlier than expected. My sister got locked out of our room and they were very nice with assisting her. The room was very clean and very nice. I would recommend this place to anyone, and next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North

Address: 6201 E Highway 290, Austin, TX 78723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#38 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#55 Business Hotel in Austin

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay