We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas

5330 North Interregional Highway, I-35 at Exits #238-A/238-B, Austin, TX 78751
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Motel 6 Austin Central - South\/Univ of Texas
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

Not accessible at all without a car. Closest places to eat where the opposite side of the freeway which was about a thirty min walk. Cleanish room but with awful smell of smoke. Bathroom was on the small size but was fine for a few nights. We stayed three night and would not stay any longer. Wifi was not free.... More 

Helpful?
Thank chelseainsch
6Team, Brand Experience Team at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Chelsea, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you describe with our location. Please know the issue you experienced is an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. The service concerns you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we are sorry you experienced less... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015 via mobile

Clean and tidy Motel, close to IH - 35 and into Downtown Austin. (Taxi only $14). Little expensive for value the weekend we stayed - as it was the formula one weekend and Texas Longhorn game. Limited rooms with fridges - first come first served - ice available on tap. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Liz H
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

All night long I had other guests stopping by to fill their ice buckets. For the love of everything that is holy, move the ice machines away from the guests rooms so that your guests can get some sleep!!! This seems like common sense but not here. Otherwise, this was pretty much par for the course with Motel 6. Room... More 

Helpful?
Thank ltdvulcan
6Team, Team 6 at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your guestroom comfort. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Our aim is to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Please consider staying anywhere else but here. My friend and I checked in here for one night. I woke up around 1 am with a cockroach crawling on my bed and after turning on the lights we found around 5 more crawling around the room. The management here won't do anything if you have issues so you're on your own... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kyle B
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Dear Kyle, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe, and we are sorry for the circumstances. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the bed comfort issues you experienced.... More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015 via mobile

So we arrived at nighttime. As we were getting out if the car we saw a sketchy couple walking around the parking lot, probably drunk. The night staff was very nice. When we went to our room there was a guy smoking a cigarette who was blasting loud rap music from his car, who then intentionally walked next to our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Al M
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Al, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologize for any misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to our rate policies and the inconveniences you experienced. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. Our staff aims to provide... More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

To start off we attempted to check in well after check in time and the front desk was not sure if the room was ready. Once in the room there was no table and chairs which are shown in the pictures and the room was not cleaned very well. There was hair on the sheets and the pillowcases had stains... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becca L
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Austin Central - South/Univ of Texas, responded to this review

Becca, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We apologize for any inconvenience or misunderstanding that may have occurred during your recent stay with regard to your reservations and key issues. Our staff... More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

If there was an option for no stars this place would get just that. SCARY, is the most fitting word for this motel. I was in town for a horse show and just wanted a clean inexpensive place to stay, because I knew I would not be in the room only to sleep. Upon arriving the 3 people in line... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carly B
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Motel 6 is one of my favorite places to stay. The price is usually very budget friendly and it is a cool comfortable room. I really enjoy their radio commercials with Tom Bodett and have noticed that they have done a wonderful job of showcasing in their motels what Tom talks about in the radio spots. Ask Irene if she... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mitch J
Buellton, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

I really appreciate the cancellation policy of Motel 6 nationwide. We were flying in Late from Santa Barbara, Ca. on May 20 late afternoon. It was raining and we needed a rental car and on and on and on. Turns out we had double booked hotels so cancelled here. NO problem. That kind of customer support as late as 6pm... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank toadandbear
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015 via mobile

Compared to other places for the price, the hotel was nice. It had new floors and a flat screen TV. the staff was friendly but the housekeeping person came knocking on the door at 10am asking if we were checking out soon. I would go again though.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki S
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Other (39)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
Americas Best Value Inn
#137 of 193 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyde Park
Courtyard Austin - University Area
Hyde Park
Fairfield Inn and Suites Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay