We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
600 Guadalupe Street, Austin, TX 78701
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #123 of 191 Hotels in Austin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
recorder Pineville, Missouri
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    58
    43
    22
    28
See reviews for
13
60
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Pineville, Missouri
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
64 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You can walk to the Capitol, or 6th street or Congress St. from here. We just stayed one night but this is a strange set up. You have to order what you need in the rooms. Rooms aren't bad and they were really helpful. I had taken ill and couldn't go on our Segway tour. They allowed me to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Do not spend your money here. All our towels in the room when we checked in had stains on them. The mirror in the bathroom had hair stuck to it. The water had a funky smell. Our bed had stains on it. So we didn't bother showering the night before we left. No kind of dishes were in the kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you experienced cleanliness issues. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will retrain our staff and follow up by checking each room to... More 

San Antonio, TX
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Filthy. Avoid this place. I was in 2 rooms and linens were dirty and had visible pubic hair on them. Staff did bring new linens, which were clean. Also, cold shower in the morning. This place was horrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Please know that we take you comments and concerns very seriously. I am appalled by the condition of the linen the room in which you stayed. I will be sharing your comments with our housekeeping staff, and coaching them to further ensure that we do not encounter this type of issue again for any of our guest. I do understand... More 

Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

My friend and I arrived earlier than we anticipated, and even though check in was at 3, they accomodated us and let us check at that time. We were impressed with the room and kitchen right off the bat, very clean and well equiped. We had never been to Austin before, so we didn't know it right then, but you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It's great to hear that our hotel met all of your needs. I’m also pleased to read that you enjoyed our fully equipped kitchens as well as our hotel’s location. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of... More 

los angeles
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Superbly located within walking distance of many bars and restaurants. I just can't get too excited about this kind of generic sleeping location. Room ok, service ok, parking expensive, breakfast just ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are delighted that you were happy with our convenient location, and that we met your needs overall. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. We do hope that you will stay with us again should your travels bring you... More 

Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

This was great for the price, in a perfect location with free parking. We were a group of 4 stayed for 2 nights and just needed a room to sleep in. Is only a few blocks to walk to Capital and same as walking to 6th street entertainment district. 2 girls felt very safe walking to and from the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing you experience with us. We are delighted that the location of our hotel met your needs. It is great to read that you found us to be a great value and that you felt safe in our surrounding area. As well, I am thrilled to know that our staff was friendly and helpful. Once... More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

It was in a great location but not what we expected in a hotel. Didn't expect it to be included with a hotwire.com deal. Definitely older and needed some cleaning and extra touches. The staff was Very helpful & friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

We appreciate you taking a moment to tell us about your experience on you recent stay with us. We are glad that our staff was friendly and helpful and that our location met your needs; however, we do apologize that you found your room to be outdated and that you felt that it could have been cleaner. In response to... More 

San Antonio, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Entered room half drank glass of water on air conditioner, old orange peels on floor, trash under bed. Got in bed, there looked to be chips or fried chicken crumbs in the bed! No tv remote! Called for remote 2 hours later still no one brought us one. Asked front desk next day, attendant finally found one but the back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Kim - We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. The issues you described are unacceptable, and we sincerely apologize for your experience. We have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping staff and we will inspect every room prior to our guest's arrival to ensure that your experience is not repeated. We will... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

My experience at this hotel was very good, the Staff were very courteous and went the extra mile. The room was spaceous and good working air condition, we were able to cook our food and enjoy the comfort of our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Carol - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your spacious room and fully equipped kitchen. We are proud of our staff for providing you with quality service. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Ottawa, ON
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The location of this hotel is nothing short of perfect. Congress St. delights are but a stumbling distance away. Staff are friendly, helpful, but not overly intrusive. Had a 2nd floor room that smelled of bleach, which was probably a good thing. The windows opened. The room was clean. Almost unused. I could hear my neighbours upstairs however which sounded... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. It is great to read your wonderful comments regarding our location, cleanliness, and value; however, please accept our apologies that your kitchen package and the overall setup of your room did not fully meet your needs. Your feedback on these issues will be useful to us as we continually... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question