We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
600 Guadalupe Street, Austin, TX 78701
Special Offer
SAVE 15% TODAY!
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #119 of 191 Hotels in Austin
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
barbielab Kingwood
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    60
    46
    22
    28
See reviews for
14
63
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Kingwood
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second stay here. It is the closest motel to our daughters downtown apartment and has free parking. It is clean, safe, easy walking distance to downtown attractions and the staff is friendly.Each unit has an efficiency kitchen and they offer a minimal free breakfast. On the negative side the towels are really rough and if you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies that our linens were not up to standard. Still, I am glad to read that you were pleased with our staff and convenient location. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. Once more, thank you for posting your... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice hotel in a great location! Stayed here during a trip with girlfriends and it only took about 10 minutes to walk to the main part of 6th Street. It is very clean and well kept and our room had a kitchen and full sized fridge! We had a blast and got amazing value for what we paid. Thanks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights, the rooms are dark and old. The shower was very loud when using the hot water. There was a dog staying next door and howled when its owner left. At night when people walked home drunk we could hear everything. The staff were kind of moody. The only good thing was the location.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We only had one night to spend in Austin, and really wanted to check out 6th street, but couldn't afford the 300-400 dollar hotels, so we decided to try this one regardless of the less than favorable reviews. Our room was just fine- the only flaws it had were a few lighter spots on the carpet and a cracked baseboard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pineville, Missouri
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
65 hotel reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

You can walk to the Capitol, or 6th street or Congress St. from here. We just stayed one night but this is a strange set up. You have to order what you need in the rooms. Rooms aren't bad and they were really helpful. I had taken ill and couldn't go on our Segway tour. They allowed me to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We were delighted to know that you enjoyed our hotel and its location. I’m glad to hear our staff was friendly and accommodating. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area. More 

San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Do not spend your money here. All our towels in the room when we checked in had stains on them. The mirror in the bathroom had hair stuck to it. The water had a funky smell. Our bed had stains on it. So we didn't bother showering the night before we left. No kind of dishes were in the kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you experienced cleanliness issues. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will retrain our staff and follow up by checking each room to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Austin hotels

San Antonio, TX
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

Filthy. Avoid this place. I was in 2 rooms and linens were dirty and had visible pubic hair on them. Staff did bring new linens, which were clean. Also, cold shower in the morning. This place was horrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Please know that we take you comments and concerns very seriously. I am appalled by the condition of the linen the room in which you stayed. I will be sharing your comments with our housekeeping staff, and coaching them to further ensure that we do not encounter this type of issue again for any of our guest. I do understand... More 

Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

My friend and I arrived earlier than we anticipated, and even though check in was at 3, they accomodated us and let us check at that time. We were impressed with the room and kitchen right off the bat, very clean and well equiped. We had never been to Austin before, so we didn't know it right then, but you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It's great to hear that our hotel met all of your needs. I’m also pleased to read that you enjoyed our fully equipped kitchens as well as our hotel’s location. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of... More 

los angeles
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Superbly located within walking distance of many bars and restaurants. I just can't get too excited about this kind of generic sleeping location. Room ok, service ok, parking expensive, breakfast just ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are delighted that you were happy with our convenient location, and that we met your needs overall. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. We do hope that you will stay with us again should your travels bring you... More 

Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

This was great for the price, in a perfect location with free parking. We were a group of 4 stayed for 2 nights and just needed a room to sleep in. Is only a few blocks to walk to Capital and same as walking to 6th street entertainment district. 2 girls felt very safe walking to and from the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing you experience with us. We are delighted that the location of our hotel met your needs. It is great to read that you found us to be a great value and that you felt safe in our surrounding area. As well, I am thrilled to know that our staff was friendly and helpful. Once... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities