We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 184 Austin hotels

Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Guadalupe Street, Austin, TX 78701
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
58%
Ranked #118 of 184 hotels in Austin
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
jjc34 Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
  • Overview
  • Reviews (151)
  • Photos (27)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (37)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    48
    30
    17
    20
See reviews for
8
54
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is very convenient to downtown Austin. It is on the famous Sixth Street with a large number of restaurants and bars in easy walking distance. They are also not far from the Commerce Street bridge with the nightly flight of the bats - definitely a sight to see. The rooms in the hotel are large and comfortable. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I saw what appeared to be black mold underneath the sink, and even though we were on a nonsmoking floor, our entire room smelled like smoke. When we got home, our clothes, luggage, and belongings all reeked of smoke. The breakfast was also a waste--weak coffee and prepackaged muffins if you get there early enough. Plus: good location, friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Alexa - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and friendly staff; however, we are disappointed to hear that your room had a smoke odor and that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. We offer coffee, hot tea, muffins, granola bars, oatmeal, and fresh... More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at this Extended Stay America could not have been any nicer, nor more helpful--they were outstanding. These personnel had the answer to my every question, the supplies I requested, and knowledge of how to use the wifi. They are top-notch! This is a super location--right on 6th Street! Several great restaurants, bars, and music available within walking distance,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I appreciate your kind remarks about our staff and location; however, I regret to hear that you experienced a smoke odor. I will be meeting with my housekeeping and maintenance staff to work to deodorize our hotel. As well, I do apologize that you found... More

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of this Hotel is great! Close to all the bars, restaurants, music, and close to the Whole Foods. The apartment is nice, the kitchen is small but has all the necessities (you just have to ask for it at the front desk). The bathroom is a little bit old, but everything worked. The complimentary wifi in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write such a pleasant review. I'm so pleased to read that you appreciated our convenient location. As well, I am glad to read that you liked your room and your fully-equipped kitchen. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back... More

Port Norris, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, we knew the this was not going to be the Ritz. It was 160 bucks-- which is cheap for 6 th street in Austin. The check in was great. Erika is a sweetheart! Keep her. She gave us a great lunch suggestion (Gloria's) excellent mexican. Also, Clayton was also super helpful with a map and telling us where to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff and the excellent service you received; however, I do apologize for the unacceptable cleanliness issues in your room and bathroom. Please know that as this hotel's manager, I will be meeting with my housekeeping staff to... More

United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I recently booked a two night stay at this hotel and went somewhere else for the second night. The proximity of the hotel to 6th street is ideal. However the area is not safe. There are homeless people everywhere. One went into an uncontrollable rage while we were in Starbucks which was very frightening. Upon entering the room there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. The situation you described regarding the cleanliness during your stay is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. Please know that I will be meeting with our housekeeping staff to review cleanliness standards and ensure that your experience is not repeated. As... More

Waco, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had to warn you about Extended Stay America hotels. I stayed at the one in Mishawaka, Indiana, and it was terrible. The floor was not well vacuumed; housekeeping is once a week; you have to exchange your towels at the front desk; the breakfast is coffee, tea, hot chocolate; apple, orange; nut bar, and Quaker oats you make yourself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Could be nice if they took the time to upgrade and clean. The linens, towels, and washcloths are all old and nasty. I guess there was a reason this was the only hotel available in this area of Austin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

Your review for our hotel was recently brought to our attention. We are very disappointed to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us. We have inspected your room to ensure there are no bed bugs. We are also inspecting all of our linens to make sure they are meeting our hotel's standards. We are grateful for the feedback... More

Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

It was a great hotel for the price you pay. The location of the hotel was also very convenient. I stayed 2 nights and booked directly through their website with a 20% off discount for each night. At check out, I had to remind the clerk of the 20% off discount. When I recalculated the charges, they had still charged... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are pleased to read that you found us to be a great hotel for the value; however, please accept our apologies that the front desk clerk didn't understand how to process the promo code upon your check out. In response to your feedback,... More

La Mirada, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and son stayed one night and checked out and went to another hotel. Although their experience was not great I do want to say that the General Manager, Zina called to follow up the review that was submitted and she was very sorry for their experience. Her customer service was fantastic. I really appreciate the fact that she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.

Address: 600 Guadalupe Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Extended Stay, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stayamerica Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America Austin
Extended Stay Austin
Austin Extended Stay

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Austin with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
101

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St. staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer