We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Austin - University Area

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
5660 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78751
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Austin - University Area
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Courtyard Austin - University Area
Courtyard Austin - University Area
Courtyard Austin - University Area
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (9)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It seems like the hotel is recently remodeled and the room itself was nice. But don't be fooled by looks because the housekeeping are not trustworthy people. They essentially kept a dress I left in the the hotel room after checkout. Being able to trust people coming into and out of your hotel room is of utmost importance. And from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a wonderful and ergo-friendly set of new everything awaits your visit to this charming and fully featured hotel. All the way down to the multi-story artwork installation above the lobby, nothing was missed in this incredible renovation. Alexis at the front desk made the visit feel extraordinary with superior service Local and area knowledge she shared was very much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Dear Mitch J, I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay. Alexis at the front desk is truly a wonderful asset to us. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on the renovation and yes; the art piece above the front desk is spectacular! We hope to see you back soon for another wonderful visit. Kind... More 

Boyd, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While in Austin on business recently we had the opportunity to stay at the Courtyard University Area Hotel. The parking is free and has a large area. We were greeted very pleasantly by the front desk staff and obtained our rooms promptly. The room was very clean, large and the bed was comfortable for the entire three days. Standard internet/Wi-Fi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Dear DougW1954, We are so happy to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. We pride ourselves with friendly service and functional spaces to relax in. We appreciate you feedback and hope to see you back in the near future. Kind Regards. More 

Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We got a good rate on this hotel due to priceline. Was a little nervous after reading the reviews, but since their was a renovation I hoped it wouldn't be soo bad. Our room was renovated and very modern. Bathroom kept the old tubs and toilets, but everything else was acceptable. The staff were very courteous and friendly! The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Dear Tamra J, We are delighted to hear that you had a good stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and we have looked at the TV in the room. We were able to rectify the issue and it is working perfectly fine now. We hope to see back soon. Kind Regards More 

La Porte, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Three elevators but none of them working so must have strong legs & back to haul luggage. If you need wireless internet then make sure to bring your own because that's not working either. Bring your Singular & inhaler if you're allergic to mold because the rooms have a nice mildew smell to them as an added bonus. Best of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Dear DrSparks, Thank you for your feedback. During you stay with us we experienced a severe technical failure with our property management system which involved our internet servers that provides the hotel and our guests with internet service. During that time we implemented our manual check-in and check-out process which naturally leaves some room for error and that is why... More 

Springdale, Arkansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is definitely an older hotel on the outside, but the interiors of the rooms and public spaces have been updated. Our family of four had a double queen room for one night. Bathroom is not large, but that was to be expected due to the age of the property. We did not utilize any of their additional services for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Dear Scott H, Thank you for staying with us, even if it was only for one night. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back soon! Kind Regards More 

Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Looks like the remodeling is complete. My room on the 5th floor was neat and TV was large screen LG and operated very well. Climate control for the room was noisy and did seem to regulate well. My only real complaint was the volume of the 40 big band music. The lobby bar was full and I wanted to watch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Dear DavidNCarolyn, Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for staying with us during your most recent trip to Austin. I do apologize for the inconvenience in regards to volume control in our social area. We are working on having that resolved. We hope to see you back next time! Kind Regards. More 

Tucson
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

I read some of the other reviews and was amazed at how spotty the reviews were. We got a great price during SXSW. Kayla at the front desk couldn't have been sweeter or more helpful. The room was nicely decorated and clean as were the public facilities. It's not terribly convenient to attractions, but an easy ride to the 6th... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Dear McRogers11, Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear that your experience at the hotel was pleasurable. I will make sure that Kayla knows how much you appreciated her service. We are looking forward to your next visit. Regards More 

Abilene, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

I was lucky to find this place at the last minute for 2 nights for a very great price. The check in was quick and efficient and it was very clean. They are remodeling right now, but don't let that deter you, as they have done a great job of accommodating their guests They have a wonderful breakfast buffet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Dear Iwskea, Thank you very much for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a good time with us. We are looking forward to your return. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question