We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 182 Austin hotels

Courtyard Austin - University Area

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5660 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78751
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Austin - University Area to your Saves list
Courtyard Austin - University Area
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
59%
Ranked #101 of 182 hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
KDavis510 Cleveland, Ohio
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    38
    39
    20
    7
See reviews for
29
18
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Let me start by telling you how poorly trained the staff is here. The trash can (only one in the room) was never left in the same place. Stayed here 3 nights, when we checked in, it was by the TV stand. 2nd night under the sink area and 3rd night at the front door. We always had to look... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian E, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your appraisal of our property. You are exactly right, the trash can should always be in the correct spot, along with all other room amenities. We are behind on training and maintenance, we took over this property (along with the Fairfield Inn next door) on February 20th. The previous management left us with 4 total employees. So,... More

New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This Marriott looked like it used to be a 1-star hotel and just changed the name on the outside of the building. The rooms were filthy with stains all over the couches and floors and one morning I woke up and smelled the most awful smell. Luckily I was checking out that day so didn't have to deal with it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian E, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, it gives me the chance to let you know that we are planning a very complete property overhaul/renovation this year. We cannot wait and we are sure you will love the upgrade!! See you soon, Brian Eaton More

Austin, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is an older location but not bad. Problem was front desk. Employee Mercedes is condescending, fake and just not helpful at all. She needs to work on her customer service skills. She is friendly with the staff but not the customers. I will not stay here again. I am long time Marriot supporter and will continue to support Marriot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian E, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review our staff, specifically Mercedes. We have shared your comments with her and the entire staff and we are all 100% committed to service excellence. Please come see us again, we are sure you will notice a difference. Sincerely, Brian Eaton More

Grove City, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very dated and tired property. My 1st room had ants. Bathroom is very small, like a closet. Ceilings are very low, If you are over 6 feet, you have to crouch down to take a shower. Ceilings & walls in bathroom had water damage. Windows very old and not sound reducing. There must have been a flock... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian E, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thanks for your response, later this summer we will be under going a complete renovation. It will be very inclusive and we are sure everyone will be very pleased with the end result. More

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was extremely average. The hotel seems tired and is in need of updates. However, it is a clean hotel with decent size rooms and comfortable beds. Parking is free. Breakfast is not- it was $ 10 for what you would probably get for free at other similar hotels in different chains. Another frustration: Another guest was playing with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian E, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We strive very hard to maintain a clean property and are anxiously awaiting a complete renovation to the Courtyard "Bistro" concept very soon (mid-summer through late fall). As for the fire alarm, since this alarm was caused by vandalism and the Fire Department responded, they are in complete... More

Humble, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have never had trouble checking into a hotel. It says checking time is 3:00. Don't count on that! Traveling for college sporting events and Tried to check in at 3:45 to get showered and changed for the next event....room would not be ready for at least 45 mins. Front desk gave a very unconcerned "sorry" . Different person at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian E, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we have been working diligently on training our entire staff and have seen great improvment. Please give us another try. Sincerely, Brian Eaton More

Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in late January for a company meeting at the hotel. Rooms are definitely in need of updating which is scheduled to begin sometime in the next few months. Everything worked, nothing was peeling, hard and soft furnishings all seemed to be clean and well maintained but the colors, finishes are definitely ready to be updated. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian E, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are happy to announce that a renovation to the new "Bistro" style Courtyard product is coming very soon. We anticipate beginning in mid-July and are very excited about this most important update. Best Wishes, Brian Eaton More

Houston, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Made reservations for 1 adult + 3 teens, Kg with sofa bed paid extra for breakfast. Received a tiny room with King bed & small upholstered chair, no sofa bed for the 2 teens! Called desk told them that we were supposed to have a sofa bed -"yes, sending that up now". A. Why wouldn't they tell me that at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian E, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Please accept my apology for the delay in responding. The Courtyard went througha property sale and management change in late February that was very contentious and caused significant issues in servicing our guests properly. Due to our property configuration, we have King rooms without sofa beds and King Suites with sofa beds, this must be the confusion within the reservation.... More

San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Staying here was just that, fine. It was- what it was. I was there with my husband while he was on business and his company put him there. The room and the hotel was okay. It was old looking in the room, like wallpaper kind of peeling off the wall and a fridge that looked like it was from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CourtyardAusUni, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. We are scheduled to have a complete renovation beginning the second quarter of this year. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is... More

Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place is ok. The staff was really nice. The room was fair at 98 bucks a night, not a bad deal. We did not get breakfast for ten dollars as it seemed standard. My main complaint is that it is on a one- way street by the interstate. Maybe I am logistically challenged, but returning back from the south... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CourtyardAusUni, General Manager at Courtyard Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to repond on TripAdvisor. I am sorry you had an trouble with our location. Although it can sometimes be difficult to get to us, our staff will do everything possible to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay in Austin. More

Been to Courtyard Austin - University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin - University Area

Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Courtyard Austin - University Area Hotel
Courtyard Austin Central
Courtyard Austin
Austin Marriott
Austin Courtyard
Address: 5660 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin - University Area 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles north of downtown Austin, 6th Street, and the Texas State Capitol, Courtyard Austin University Area offers newly-renovated guestrooms, onsite cafe and outdoor pool. Our University of Texas Austin hotel is just 3 miles from the campus off Exit 238A of I-35. Modern guestrooms feature Marriott luxury bedding, flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Guests will enjoy a reasonably-priced breakfast buffet at our cafe before heading for a dip in our outdoor pool or a workout at our 24-hour fitness center. With over 1,600 sq. ft. of event space, business meetings are easy at Courtyard Austin Univeristy Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Austin - University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Austin - University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.