We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area

Hotel deals
Hotel website
1617 IH-35 North, Austin, TX 78702
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    209
    113
    70
    29
See reviews for
124
110
45
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (575)
  • Mar-May only
    (161)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (158)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (118)
All months
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The only reason I didn't rate this lower is because the front desk staff was amazing. The hotel location is horrible and the beds are horrendous because the mattress is so old that they sag. I will not stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I'm glad that you found our front desk staff to be amazing. I apologize that the condition of your bed was less than desirable. My staff will certainly address this concern. Thank you for staying with us. More 

Vacaville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the 3rd time I have used this venue for our meetings and all three times the staff was helpful and willing to help out to ensure that our meetings went off without a hitch. I would recommend this hotel for meetings.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christopher G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for your 5 star review! We are delighted that you have experienced consistent outstanding service during your meetings with us! We can't wait to see you again for your next meeting! More 

PA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've always enjoyed DoubleTrees and have had good luck. But this time I arrived at 2am with a confirmation to be told that they were oversold. To their credit, they sent me across town to another hotel. However, retuning back to that replacement hotel the following evening, THEY had canceled my reservation - although to THEIR credit (ATT Executive Hotel,... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the frustrating experience you encountered during your visit to Austin. It is not our standards to displace our guests and we are following-up to correct the reservation errors. Thank you for your comments and allowing us the opportunity to make it right for you! More 

Temple, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel wasn't the worst I've stay in. However, when I am paying what I did to stay here, I expect a lot more. The housekeeping was awful. Half-filled drinking glasses were continually left in my room, when they were removed it was often to just outside of my door (where they would sit for a couple of days), and... More 

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review

I apologize that your experience was below expectations. I agree with your comments and am disappointed that we missed the mark during your time with us. I have addressed these concerns with our staff to ensure that we improve our delivery of service. Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay with us and hope that you will allow us... More 

Lafayette, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a major academic conference here. Staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms very clean and quiet, catered food was great! Whatever issues arose, the staff took care of. They met our needs, the conferences needs, and we all had a wonderful time.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christopher G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. I am also pleased that any issues you did encounter that our staff was able to make it right for you! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

DoubleTrees are consistant, and found everywhere, and what really makes a difference is the staff, and the University Area Austin DoubleTree has the best staff I've ever experienced. At the conference I attended our server Alex was unfailingly polite and generous with his time. He made sure that I always knew what items were completely vegetarian (a miracle in Texas)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christopher G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay with us. Our staff takes pride in providing friendly service that makes our guests feel human again and I am extremely pleased that Alex, Lauren, and Brenda did just that for you! I will certainly share your comments with them and the rest of the team. Thank you for choosing... More 

Manhattan Beach, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for the SXSW music festival. While a bit far from that activity, I thought this hotel was a good value. The room was roomy and comfortable, staff was efficient and friendly. Free newspapers in the AM, free water in the Lobby, free wifi.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We are excited that you enjoyed the little things that mean everything such as the newspapers in the morning, complimentary wifi, flavored water, and especially our friendly staff. We look forward to seeing you again next year for SXSW, if not sooner! More 

Sherbrooke, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I’ve chosen this hotel to stay near the University of Texas. Cab from the airport to the hotel was 22$. Pros - Close to UT (although you have to cross IH-35 if you want to walk and it might be challenging) - Friendly and careful staff Cons - Noisy because next to IH-35. Avoid rooms on that side. - The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are delighted that our friendly staff and location exceeded your expectations. I appreciate your feedback relating to the desk chair, exterior noise, and wifi. We are always striving to improve our guest's experience and your comments will help with that process. We hope to see you again in the future! More 

Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel because it was the closest available for the UT open house. However, it is not a good value for the money. Breakfast is not included, and expensive for what you get. The breakfast buffet was just okay, can't vouch for made to order food since we were in a hurry. It is sort of close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christopher G, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are glad that you found our location to be convenient to the University of Texas. We will use your feedback to help better serve our guests so they will have an outstanding stay at our hotel. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

241 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (174)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
King Guest Room (41)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Two Queens Guest Room (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question