We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Amarillo hotels

Red Roof Inn Amarillo

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Amarillo to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Amarillo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
63%
Ranked #26 of 66 hotels in Amarillo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
LoCloA
  • Reviews (210)
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (47)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    76
    36
    27
    15
See reviews for
46
54
22
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Not a bad place. Tub was horribly clogged so we had to switch rooms, but everything else was fine. We really liked the staff because they were extremely friendly and were nice to our dogs. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointed! When we booked the day prior they had a pool. But when we checked in the pool was broke. Used wash cloth still in the tub from past guess. Room smells! Highly recommend somewhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm very sorry about the pool and the rest of your stay. As for the pool, we had an incident prior to your stay, and we were draining and cleaning the pool to fix it for our customers. However, I'm sorry you didn't get what you wanted. I'll be sure to get... More

San Antonio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was disappointing from top to bottom. The rooms are run down, drain did not work, room details and repairs not resolved (e.g., metal patch around shower faucet did not cover entire wall and water leaked into the wall behind), peeling paint everywhere. The breakfast was absolutely pure reduced carbs. Not one piece of fruit and no protein. Finally,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with the Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm truly apologetic for your experience with us. I'll be sure to take your complaints to the appropriate departments so that future customers will not have the same problems. I hope you will forgive us and come again. General Manager More

Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First room had tiles missing in tub/ shower combo. Faucet nose did not engage shower fully. Next room we moved to had better shower pressure and no missing tiles. Patchwork around rooms on walls. A/C adequate. Budget hotel yes, stay here again?? No, but they do have adequate truck parking available! !

Was this review helpful? Yes
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn. I'm deeply sorry that you didn't have the stay you expected, and that your room was not adequate. I hope you may give us a second chance and will consider us again despite your last experience. Thank you, General Manager More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I love how they let pets stay! All night it has been quiet even though I saw many guests with pets. Great price! Nice room. Clean with lots of extras. Staff were nice. Lots of parking. Well lit. Saw security checking the parking lot. No extra charges for pets! The neighborhood around the hotel has a lot of poor people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo for your stay. I appreciate you posting your feedback. Yes, all the Red Roof Inns are Pet friendly, and I'm happy that we could make your stay better. Hope to see you soon, General Manager More

Kristiansund, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night whilst travelling through Amarillo. Our only requirements were: Low rate but clean. The hotel was better than we expected when we booked this standard. Pros: -Janet at the front desk was lovely. -Clean facility and rooms. -Spacious rooms. -Even thiugh it is a bit old, it's not noticeable. -Free parking and WiFi. -Very quiet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Red Roof Inn, and I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I loved your pros and cons list, and we will do everything in our power to make your next stay even more memorable. It's great that you enjoyed everything we had to offer, and I hope you'll stop by soon. General Manager More

Dortmund, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night in November 2013 for the second time. The booking from Germany was without a problem. Our room was clean and spacious. The breakfast in the morning was ok and the staff very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo all the way from Germany! I truly appreciate your business, and I'm happy you enjoyed your stay. Come again, General Manager More

Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Left another hotel due to wild guests and checked in at the RR for one day and ended up staying 3 nights, the staff was VERY accommodating, plesant and definitely went the extra mile to make my stay comfortable. I dont usually stay at hotels with exterior doors but I felt safe here knowing there is security on duty during... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Red Roof Inn Amarillo for your stay. I appreciate you choosing us despite your concerns, and I hope you'll come back to see us soon. Thanks for posting your reply, General Manager More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Back in April I traveled into Amarillo for my sisters wedding I drove all the way from California. And by the time I arrive hunger and figtise had made itself known. It was Kym who I barly could see. She however could see. She made my reservation. I saw her patience with me as I struggled to retrieve my info.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn for your stay. I am happy to know that you enjoyed the service provided to you, and that you were satisfied with your trip as a whole. Next time you are passing by, I hope to see you again. Thank you for letting us know how your experience was. General Manager More

Marquez, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was very pleased with our room for the price. The breakfast was very good and better than most other motels we have stayed at. While this certainly is not a five star motel, it is as good as you can expect for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo

Address: 1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located off of I-40 on Exit #71, Red Roof Amarillo is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Tri-State Fairground, the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum, and Amarillo College. We’re also close to Palo Duro Canyon State Park, perfect for hiking and biking, the cities of Canyon, Hereford, Borger and Pampa. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
105

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer