We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Amarillo hotels

Red Roof Inn Amarillo

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Amarillo to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Amarillo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #27 of 66 hotels in Amarillo
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
RobertENealaia Jackson, Mississippi
  • Overview
  • Reviews (216)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (33)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (48)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    76
    41
    27
    15
See reviews for
49
54
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Be aware that all of these rooms open to the parking lot so all traffic and noise is felt and in some instances heard. Beds are firm, A/C is cold, rooms are relatively clean but don't look too close. We were pulling a U-Haul to Denver, stopped for the night and parked in several spots in the back with others... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 different night. the first night the room smelled so musty that we had to leave the window open for several hours before it aired out enough. We finally figured out it was the air conditioner itself that made it smell bad so we slept without running it. The second night we were in a different room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm sorry the air conditioner was an inconvenience, and I'll be sure to let the maintenance department know. Also, the coffee machines are a new disturbance, but I'll check it out. I hope you give us a second chance, and come by soon. General Manager More

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night. The room was a decent size as we had two double beds. The air conditioning unit was quite loud so could be quite disruptive. Our room overlooked the car park and there were a number of people drinking in this area which made it quite loud. The pool was nice. However, there was only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I appreciate you posting a review. I'm apologetic for your air conditioning and the loud people. Usually, there isn't a whole lot of complaints for disturbances, but I will do my best to make sure it doesn't happen again. I hope to see you soon, General Manager More

Winnsboro, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean and updated. I did notice an old musty smell of cigarette smoke that had been partially covered by new paint. When I arrived at the hotel, they had booked us in upstairs rooms and I requested downstairs rooms. They accommodated us. But a few hours later, as everyone was falling asleep, other guests were given a key... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I appreciate you posting your experience. I'm sorry that you had such a terrible experience at the office, and I will be sure to talk to the employees about this. Thank you so much for helping us understand your problems so that we may not make to same mistakes again. Thanks... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Kym always takes care of me. She helps make the stay pleasant. I stay here every time I am in Amarillo. They are always friendly and helpful. They always make you feel welcome. The rooms are clean and we have never had any trouble.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo, and I am thankful that you enjoyed your stays with us. Also, I appreciate the review posting because it helps us improve every post. I hope to see you soon, General Manager More

San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very small. The chair at the desk hit the bed behind it if you wanted to sit there. The wifi didnt work. Water pressure in the shower sucked big time. The fan in the bathroom was obnoxiously loud and it came on with the light..middle of the night bathroom trips... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I am terribly sorry that you weren't satisfied with your stay. I apologize for all the inconveniences from the shower to the lack of space. I'll be sure to send your complaints to the appropriate departments, and I hope you'll give us a second chance next time you're in town. Thanks, General... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not a bad place. Tub was horribly clogged so we had to switch rooms, but everything else was fine. We really liked the staff because they were extremely friendly and were nice to our dogs. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo to accommodate you, and i'm happy that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the drain mix-up, but it is now under control. I hope to see you soon, General Manager More

Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very disappointed! When we booked the day prior they had a pool. But when we checked in the pool was broke. Used wash cloth still in the tub from past guess. Room smells! Highly recommend somewhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm very sorry about the pool and the rest of your stay. As for the pool, we had an incident prior to your stay, and we were draining and cleaning the pool to fix it for our customers. However, I'm sorry you didn't get what you wanted. I'll be sure to get... More

San Antonio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was disappointing from top to bottom. The rooms are run down, drain did not work, room details and repairs not resolved (e.g., metal patch around shower faucet did not cover entire wall and water leaked into the wall behind), peeling paint everywhere. The breakfast was absolutely pure reduced carbs. Not one piece of fruit and no protein. Finally,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with the Red Roof Inn Amarillo. I'm truly apologetic for your experience with us. I'll be sure to take your complaints to the appropriate departments so that future customers will not have the same problems. I hope you will forgive us and come again. General Manager More

Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

First room had tiles missing in tub/ shower combo. Faucet nose did not engage shower fully. Next room we moved to had better shower pressure and no missing tiles. Patchwork around rooms on walls. A/C adequate. Budget hotel yes, stay here again?? No, but they do have adequate truck parking available! !

Was this review helpful? Yes
kvaap, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Amarillo, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn. I'm deeply sorry that you didn't have the stay you expected, and that your room was not adequate. I hope you may give us a second chance and will consider us again despite your last experience. Thank you, General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Amarillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Amarillo with
any amenities

Been to Red Roof Inn Amarillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Amarillo

Address: 1620 East Interstate 40, Amarillo, TX 79103 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel Amarillo)
Location: United States > Texas > Amarillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Amarillo 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Amarillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Amarillo Hotel Amarillo
Howard Johnson Amarillo
Amarillo Howard Johnson

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amarillo #15 Business Hotel in Amarillo
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located off of I-40 on Exit #71, Red Roof Amarillo is close to the Amarillo Convention Center, Tri-State Fairground, the Cowboy Hall of Fame Museum, and Amarillo College. We’re also close to Palo Duro Canyon State Park, perfect for hiking and biking, the cities of Canyon, Hereford, Borger and Pampa. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
105

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer