We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South

Hotel website
Hotel deals
6701 Hollywood Rd., Amarillo, TX 79119
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed there using rewards points but was treated like a paying customer. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and spacious. However it was on the front and traffic noise was a problem. Otherwise, the stay was satisfactory. Free breakfast offered a nice selection of choices.

Helpful?
Thank tonyatkinson1947
South East
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

Very friendly check in. Room great size. Bed comfortable. Breakfast ok. Location poor, no restaurant on site. You can get food delivered if you want but we didn't try it. Disappointed to find no reception staff at, they were all outside!

Helpful?
Thank Razors
Kristina M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We love hearing from our guests, as It gives us the opportunity to see where we may need improvement. Amarillo has seen a lot of growth, and we hope to have more restaurants open near our location. We hope to have a chance to serve you again, and until then... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

Suite was very roomy, although no divider between the couch/TV area and the bedroom. Breakfast was very good as those go. We arrived late at night and left the next morning, traveling from Dallas to Seattle so not much time to experience the place.

Helpful?
Thank Dayne G
Kristina M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Kristina Morgan General Manager More 

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1,372 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015 via mobile

Rooms do not feel clean, furnishings are extremely old. The towels and sheets are grey from being washed and used excessively. Location is on the south side away from everything on I-40 There are lot better hotels in town I would never stay again.

Helpful?
Thank wick1979
Kristina M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Kristina Morgan General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Amarillo hotels

New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015

The lobby was nice, and the staff was friendly, but it was down hill after that. I requested a 1st floor room. Sadly they placed me next to the House keeping and laundry room. The odor of cleaning supplies was enough to almost knock someone out! Went to go close the curtains, they fell on top of me. Then came... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelelingJohn
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South, responded to this review

Dear travelelingJohn, Thank you for your stay and for leaving a review about our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your comments are important as these will help us keep track of the things that we need to improve on. It is certainly regrettable that you found your last visit disappointing, most especially with your room accommodations. Your comments are valued and noted... More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and the hotel property was clean outside and inside. Breakfast was good. Beds were very comfy and rooms were modern and clean. Located next to a big cinema and go kart / mini golf but far enough away it's quiet at night. Has truck parking behind the hotel on the street. Hotel staff was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yousuck1515
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

This Holliday Inn is clean and well serviced. Hotel front staff was very accommodating. The room was very clean and the service was "as to be expected". There were no complaints. The hotel is easily accessible to restaurants and away from the city traffic but took no time to get back on the highway home.

Helpful?
Thank Sondra C
Kristina M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are so happy you had an enjoyable stay with us. We take pride in our service and cleanliness and we are pleased that you were able to see the quality our staff takes pride in providing. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Kristina Morgan (General Manager) More 

Allen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

We pre-paid for our hotel room and then they proceeded to charge us 3 times on our credit card, refunding 2 of them but failed to refund the last one. We only owed $25 dollars for a pet but still no refund on the rest of the bill. Very frustrating! Watch your charges at this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Wilson_1812
Kristina M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review in regards to your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for incorrectly charging you. We value your concerns and would really love the chance to correct it. We appreciate the comments we receive from our guests, as it allows us the opportunity to improve... More 

College Station
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

We have stayed at this hotel probably six times in the last year and a half. This past stay was very disappointing. The room was not as clean on checkin as in the past. We stayed 3 nights and nothing was done during that time but make the bed. The last night even that wasn't finished. The top of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan M
Kristina M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the rooms cleanliness issues you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into and corrected immediately. We value your comments! Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel about this matter. I'd love... More 

Abilene, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015 via mobile

Front desk staff was very nice BUT I am not impressed the hotel itself. Bathroom floor had hair on it, it's a fight with TV to change channels, and after 10 mins of trying to get hot water for my shower I finally went to the front desk in which they let me know that it isn't labeled correctly, it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen J
Kristina M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo South, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Kristina... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amarillo
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Amarillo West
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites South -- Amarillo
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#5 of 69 in Amarillo
4.5 of 5 stars 543 reviews
5.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Amarillo
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#9 of 69 in Amarillo
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay