We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Abilene

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1802 East Overland Trail, Abilene, TX 79601
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Abilene
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Abilene
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jhunter31
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    10
    2
    5
See reviews for
23
7
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is not a bad hotel. I was traveling with two kids and had booked a room with 2 queen beds. When we walked into the room it felt dirty and smelled. It was also very small. I went back down to the desk and the staff was very nice and changed my room to a king suite with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elizabeth B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review

Dear Jhunter31, Thank you so much for your feedback. While I'm disappointed that we did not meet your expectations with the first room you were given, I am glad that my staff was able to accommodate you with a different room. I will be sharing your feedback with our staff so that we can be more diligent about our cleaning... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

If you would like your belongings stolen then go ahead and stay here. If you leave anything behind in the locked room you are staying in house keeping will steal it and management condones their employees behavior. Housekeeping thinks it is ok to steal left behind items in the room you are staying in and WILL NOT TURN IT IN... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review

Dear April J, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon. Sincerely, Connie D Case Manager... More 

Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

In Abilene, there are many hotel choices right off of I-20 and a plus for this hotel is that they are situated behind a 'freeway facing' hotel, which makes it much quieter than the other hotels. They upgraded me (without me requesting it) to a suite; the room was very large and it was a nice touch to have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
63 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

I stayed here on a recent business trip to west Texas. I was given a mini-suite and it was good. The furniture seemed a bit dated but was functional. The shower was good. The fitness center was well supplied. The complimentary breakfast was good as well. So why the average rating? There were too few AC outlets in the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review

Dear DDay1959, I appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to read that the rooms and your dining experience is well to your liking. However, it is regrettable to read that the the service received from our receptionist did not live up to your expectations. Please know that this is... More 

Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
21 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. They gave us a suite which is a big room complete with mid-size refrigerator, microwave and extra sink. The king size bed was comfortable, the TV was adequate, and there is also a table with two chairs and a sleeper sofa with a coffee table. They have a nice hot free breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterton, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Rooms were very large with a couch and table, but some of the furniture did not quite seem to match. The workout room was well equipped but had poor ventilation. When I went in there someone had propped open the door, I didn't understand why until I closed it. It smelled really bad (sweat) and the room had no ventilation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review

Dear Bucky732, Thank you for the candid review. We are delighted to hear you liked the breakfast area and found our location convenient. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and... More 

Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014 via mobile

The best I have to offer on this place is that it has the best hotel room shower I have had in years! Lots of pressure and hot water. However, the tap water sinks and smells like a algae pond. This is prevalent all throughout the town, you can taste it in soft drinks and ice tea. Interior hotel doors... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senta J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review

Dear JR Ford, We are sorry you were less than satisfied with with your stay at our hotel. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our shower despite the issues with the water. We encourage our guest to report any problems they may have during their stay with management. Best Regards, Senta Jackson More 

Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

I was surprised by the size of the rooms. Try to get a corner room (they seem to be larger than the normal rooms). This is a great location if you are visiting Abilene Christian University or Hardin Simmons University. It is about 1 mile from the ACU campus. I do not know if they give any discounts for ACU... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senta J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review

Dear Volleyball4, We thank you for your review of our property. Next time you visit, let the front desk know why you are in town and if there are any discounts we will be glad to apply them to your stay. Best Regards, Senta Jackson More 

Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

The room was nice & comfy. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was not too good. Powdered eggs & dried out sausage are not appetizing. Most of the milk was expired. The cinnamon rolls were decent. The juice was good. The fruit was bruised. Sad breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Longview, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Every time in the area, this is my stop. Upon my arrival, I was greeted by Mrs. Senta & Mrs. Priscilla, they gave me a warm welcome & made me feel right at home. Made sure my room was comfortable me. I applause these ladies for doing a outstanding job.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senta J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Abilene, responded to this review

Dear Tracy G, Thank you for your review of our property. We are very pleased to know you enjoy staying with us and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Senta J More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question