We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 Abilene hotels

Whitten Inn Expo Center

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   840 East US Highway 80, Abilene, TX 79601 (Formerly the Travel Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Whitten Inn Expo Center to your Saves list
Whitten Inn Expo Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
33%
Ranked #24 of 36 hotels in Abilene
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
BernieAlbert2014 Burkesville, Kentucky
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burkesville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Whitten Inn in Abliene, Tx and it was the most pleasent place to stay. The staff was very nice and helpful. They had a wonderful breakfast. I would most definately stay at Whitten Inn again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ash P, General Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that your stay at our hotel was a pleasant one and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had an issue with our room not closing properly informed the front desk the went out for the day upon our return the problem has been fixed only draw back was that we had smoking room as that was they had due to some powerlifting tournament in town

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ash P, General Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We apprehensively stayed here last night because it was right next door to the truck shop our truck is broken down at and it was the least expensive in Abilene. Needless to say we were pleasantly surprised by our room. The beds are incredibly soft and yes, the rooms are older (this is not a brand new hotel) but they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ash P, Director of Sales at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

We love, love, love to hear when a guest is enjoying their stay at our hotel. We hope you continue to have a great stay and if you need anything please let our front desk staff know. We unplug the fridge and microwaves to lower electric cost and longevity of them so that we can offer our guest better discounts.... More

Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

So i come to Abilene often and have always seen the signs for the whitten inn....I finally decided to try it out...Its about average id say..Older style motel with great parking...Staff was very friendly and helpful.. Room is about average as well....Could use an update as it is an older place. UPDATE THIS PLACE!......lol

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ash P, Director of Sales at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

We are so glad you decided to stay, and hope to see you again soon. We recently began overhauling our rooms in the last couple of weeks, its going to take us so time but we are diligently working. All rooms will be completely deep cleaned, rooms that need it are being repainted, furniture refurbished, all outlets and fixtures are... More

dallas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

for past 10 years I spend every Labor day weekend at Whitten Inn in relation to a big Dove hunt we do every year. they are always friendly, rooms ar Just OK, nothing to write home about. But they work, the TV's work, and the AC's work- all I need.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Idaho Falls, Idaho, United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here one night on our trip back from Houston. When we entered the room I saw a big read cockroach and my friend saw 2 in the tub!! I called the front desk and they said they had been having troubles with them coming in through the drain. He offered to change our room but we were very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smyer, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed at the property for years for business and when we attend The West Texas Fair and Rodeo.We could not believe how this place has went down hill. First we arrived late Friday night and it took 50 Minutes to get checked in, there were 3 people ahead of us, who also by the way were giving out... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ash P, Director of Sales at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We do apologize for the experience you had with your keys, sometimes this is an unfortunate event that we can not foresee. We do our best especially late at night when maintenance staff is not available. As far as you saying that guest were given information to other hotels, the only time this happens is, if we are... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Great old style motor inn that is cean, reasonably priced, convenient parking to your room. Outdoor pool was nice and clean. Stay in hotels 100 nights a year and I would rank this very high for value for your dollar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

First of all don't be fooled by their advertisement of a "deluxe breakfast bar"; It barely qualifies as a continental breakfast. The furniture was decent, The room itself is dated, but looks like it was painted in the last year. The staff were all very nice to me. The towels were flimsy and you only get two sets. The air... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

One staff member out of many were respectful. The owner/manager/maintenance man is rude, disrespectful and has no common sense let alone any sense at all. The rooms smell like cigarettes dispite the "no smoking" signs on doors. A/c worked when convientant, spider webs, live large roaches, and don't bother leaving your towels down to receive more, you won't get them.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ash P, Director of Sales at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

We are very sorry this guest needed to write this unappealing review, due to an error that was not ours. We offer several companies the option to direct bill with us, in turn we ask that they reserve the rooms with specific instructions so that we can insure everything is just as they would like it to be. There was... More

Been to Whitten Inn Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn Expo Center

Also Known As:
Whitten Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel Expo Center
Address: 840 East US Highway 80, Abilene, TX 79601 (Formerly the Travel Lodge)
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 hotels in Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn Expo Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Whitten Inn Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitten Inn Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.