We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 Abilene hotels

Whitten Inn Expo Center

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   840 East US Highway 80, 840 East US Highway 80, Abilene, TX 79601 (Formerly the Travel Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Whitten Inn Expo Center to your Saves list
Whitten Inn Expo Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
29%
Ranked #28 of 36 hotels in Abilene
  • Overview
  • Reviews (25)
  • Photos (26)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    5
    2
    11
See reviews for
5
1
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Everything in the room was outdated. Shower didnt work right, bathtub didnt drain so im standing in dirty water while showering. No hair dryer, I didnt even know where the ice machine was to get ice if I wanted some. The only good thing was the pool. While I was swimming with my family I was rudely asked what room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ash P, General Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We do apologize that your stay was less then perfect. It is so important that the front desk is notified of issues during a guest stay so that we know which room and to get them corrected immediately. We do keep hair dryers at the front... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Great from start to finish. I was greeted by a very friendly front desk person she made me feel at home. My room was clean and comfortable the the breakfast was good i liked the selection and I enjoyed a day by the pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ash P, General Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We are updating our rooms and expanding our breakfast. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again. More

Abilene, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at this hotel for a course and was impressed with the staffs' attitude and demeanor. I was asked why I intended to stay there and was delighted when I received a discount as an EMS worker on a course; it is very rare that we receive any gratitude for our service. I was also told that there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ash P, General Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand that being in EMS is a very important profession and usually unrecognized. We at the Whitten Inn Expo appreciate our EMS professionals and show that by giving them a special rate. We also have special rates for Military. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us... More

Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just stayed here for the second time in less than six months. First time we chose to stay here because of location and price, second time we were in a bind and didn't want to stay across Abilene, and next time we just sleep in the car if this is the only option. Here are the positives. Rooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Saybrook, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

1st room..air not working. 2nd room..air not working. 3rd room..air worked, but shower sprayed everywhere causing floor to be soaked. Bedsheets had dog hair on them. Found and took pictures of roaches. High speed internet did not work at all. Left to another motel at 2a.m. I would never stay there again. They weren't even willing to reiemburse me for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Abilene tx
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lots of roaches everywhere even on bed Mold in restroom Stale ugly smelling linen..... All of it Severely stained old carpet Bad bad place to stay In need of complete renovation or knocked down and rebuilt Unsutaible place to stay STAYaway!

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Ash P, Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

We thank you for taken the time to write a review of your stay. We do apologise that your stay was less then perfect. We ask that you call and speak with the manager Katie. It is so important that front desk is notified of issues during a guest stay so that we know which room and to get them... More

El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Very dirty hotel. It was very hard to feel comfortable here. The towels were even bad & the pillows and bed smelled horrible. Would avoid and try finding another place. Service was ok and breakfast and coffee was not very good either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Arlington, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The front desk and house keeping staff were so friendly, very helpful, my room was cleaned very well everyday. location is fantastic, would come back and stay at the same place again. loved the pool area, great to go with family again and have BBQ. My most favorite part was going to the on site bar in the evening for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked through Expedia, was charged 71.80 for the room. We got there and was given a receipt we weren't supposed to see, which showed the actual price of the room was 39.00. We didn't even stay. I contacted Expedia about a refund, they claimed the hotel already charged them their fee and would only reimburse me the difference in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ash P, General Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

I apologize for the confusion at check in. As with any booking agency, commissions are paid to that company which is why you saw a difference in the price. That is something you should never have to worry about and again, I apologize. Also, due to our cancellation policy as stated on Expedia, if there are changes made within 24... More

Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Very inexpensive room. OK for a place to lay your head for the night. Noisy air conditioner; Way too powerful for the room size. When cycled on, it was freezing. When cycled off, hot. I think I awoke for every cycle change. Beds are worn out; dips in each of the two sleeping positions. They're also on low metal frames... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ash P, General Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We do apologize that your accommodations were less than satisfactory. We strive to make sure our guests are happy and comfortable. Many of our rooms have been updated to newer frames and mattresses and the old frames are going. Often we do not know the frames are broken unless our guests tell... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Whitten Inn Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Whitten Inn Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn Expo Center

Address: 840 East US Highway 80, 840 East US Highway 80, Abilene, TX 79601 (Formerly the Travel Lodge)
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn Expo Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Whitten Inn Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel Expo Center

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Abilene with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
103

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Whitten Inn Expo Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer