We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 Abilene hotels

Whitten Inn Expo Center

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   840 East US Highway 80, 840 East US Highway 80, Abilene, TX 79601 (Formerly the Travel Lodge)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Whitten Inn Expo Center to your Saves list
Whitten Inn Expo Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
26%
Ranked #27 of 36 hotels in Abilene
  • Overview
  • Reviews (19)
  • Photos (23)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    5
    2
    7
See reviews for
3
1
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very dirty hotel. It was very hard to feel comfortable here. The towels were even bad & the pillows and bed smelled horrible. Would avoid and try finding another place. Service was ok and breakfast and coffee was not very good either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Arlington, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The front desk and house keeping staff were so friendly, very helpful, my room was cleaned very well everyday. location is fantastic, would come back and stay at the same place again. loved the pool area, great to go with family again and have BBQ. My most favorite part was going to the on site bar in the evening for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked through Expedia, was charged 71.80 for the room. We got there and was given a receipt we weren't supposed to see, which showed the actual price of the room was 39.00. We didn't even stay. I contacted Expedia about a refund, they claimed the hotel already charged them their fee and would only reimburse me the difference in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ash P, General Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

I apologize for the confusion at check in. As with any booking agency, commissions are paid to that company which is why you saw a difference in the price. That is something you should never have to worry about and again, I apologize. Also, due to our cancellation policy as stated on Expedia, if there are changes made within 24... More

Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Very inexpensive room. OK for a place to lay your head for the night. Noisy air conditioner; Way too powerful for the room size. When cycled on, it was freezing. When cycled off, hot. I think I awoke for every cycle change. Beds are worn out; dips in each of the two sleeping positions. They're also on low metal frames... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ash P, General Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We do apologize that your accommodations were less than satisfactory. We strive to make sure our guests are happy and comfortable. Many of our rooms have been updated to newer frames and mattresses and the old frames are going. Often we do not know the frames are broken unless our guests tell... More

Arvada, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have traveled the world and have NEVER seen anything like this..Ever! There are two Whitten Inns in Abilene and can't speak about both, just the junk hole we stayed in. I really didn't want to lay in the bed for fear of something disgusting.. I didnt want to brush my teeth looking at a rusty sink and it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bronson Tx
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in an infested room with my two kids. After the first night I woke up with bites all over my body. The motel staff tried covering up the problem and then wouldn't reimburse me. Also, I am still dealing with this nightmare because I brought them home with me. I've tried calling the manager to resolve the issue... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Arvada, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We intended staying here for 3 nights but checked out after the first. After being on the road for 14 hours and arriving at 23:00 there was not much time to seek other accommodations. Upon entering the room we should have known that there was going to be problems. The front door had graffiti on it along with massive smudges... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ash P, General Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We certainly apologize for your experience. The rooms that you are referring to have been shut down and are getting a facelift as we speak. We hate to hear anyone having such an experience and we strive to correct any issues as soon as possible. More

Burkesville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed at Whitten Inn in Abliene, Tx and it was the most pleasent place to stay. The staff was very nice and helpful. They had a wonderful breakfast. I would most definately stay at Whitten Inn again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ash P, General Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

We are so happy to hear that your stay at our hotel was a pleasant one and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had an issue with our room not closing properly informed the front desk the went out for the day upon our return the problem has been fixed only draw back was that we had smoking room as that was they had due to some powerlifting tournament in town

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ash P, General Manager at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More

Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We apprehensively stayed here last night because it was right next door to the truck shop our truck is broken down at and it was the least expensive in Abilene. Needless to say we were pleasantly surprised by our room. The beds are incredibly soft and yes, the rooms are older (this is not a brand new hotel) but they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ash P, Director of Sales at Whitten Inn Expo Center, responded to this review

We love, love, love to hear when a guest is enjoying their stay at our hotel. We hope you continue to have a great stay and if you need anything please let our front desk staff know. We unplug the fridge and microwaves to lower electric cost and longevity of them so that we can offer our guest better discounts.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Whitten Inn Expo Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Whitten Inn Expo Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitten Inn Expo Center

Address: 840 East US Highway 80, 840 East US Highway 80, Abilene, TX 79601 (Formerly the Travel Lodge)
Location: United States > Texas > Abilene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitten Inn Expo Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Whitten Inn Expo Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitten Hotel Abilene
Whitten Hotel Expo Center

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
103

See which rooms travelers prefer