We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Whitten South

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3950 Ridgemont Drive, Abilene, TX 79606
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Management photos
BEST WESTERN Whitten South
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    139
    51
    11
    8
    9
See reviews for
73
40
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (218)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
anetta
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I always get good service at this hotel. Good restaurants within walking distance. Good comfortable bed and a COMFORTABLE lazy boy in the king bed rooms. Good hot breakfast; eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, waffles and other cold items to chose from. I have never had a bad stay here.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We thank you not only for your review, but also your repeat visits to stay with us. Our big comfy recliners seem to be perfect for everyone from toddlers to our hard working guest that just wanna relax after a long day. We do offer a great selection of both hot or cold breakfast to start your day while several... More 

Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I chose to stay at this Best Western because my brother was in town working on a job for Texas Tech and I was on my way to Colorado to visit our mother. Since my brother lives in Florida I decided to go through Abilene in order to see him and he and his employees were staying at the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

Our hotel property with its excellant location offer ideal rates for the hard workers out there. Our staff work hard as well so that they come back to a nice cool clean room and wake up to the smell of coffee and breakfast before getting back to the grind. We thank you for the recommendation and for taking the time... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
159 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

Pros: clean room, air conditioning worked great, great breakfast, the toilet was higher than a average toilet, reasonably priced, near shopping and restaurants. Cons: a little noise because of traffic from the main road and people parking there cars in the parking lot. I had a pleasant stay and would recommend to anyone who comes to town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. It is also great to hear our procedures we have implemented are working to insure an enjoyable and clean stay. We would also like to make sure you know for our lighter sleepers and also our day sleepers, request the rooms facing the poolside, so that... More 

Uvalde, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We stayed here for the night as we were passing through. It is an older property, but updated and clean. Comfortable bed and very friendly staff. We were even offered a cold beverage at check in. They offered sodas, water and beer. We didn't use the pool because we were too tired from traveling, but we could see it from... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

Thank you , for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We know with so many choices out there that clean, comfortable and great rates are what help each guest decide where to stay. It is always a pleasure to hear our guest truly enjoyed their stay. We hope to see you again on... More 

Dallas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

The Kings Family Reunion was held in Abilene on June 27,2015. We select Best Western for our 3 days weekend visit, and we truly have a blast. It was awesome to take a early morning stroll through the mini strip located behind the hotel. My Twin sister and I love thrift store shopping and West Texas Goodwill was right on... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We are so glad to hear your family enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our property is perfect for family reunions, location offering many things to see close by, several areas to sit down and visit, and of course our swimming pool for the kids to enjoy. We look forward to hosting... More 

Port Royal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Very clean rooms, bathrooms and lobby area. Non smoking rooms really smell nice and really never had smokers in them. Good hot breakfast that is refilled all the time. Centrally located. Benefit to join program to get further discounts. World wide. highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

Our staff does the very best to ensure each and every room is cleaned thoroughly and that our non-smoking rooms stay non-smoking for those guest that prefer a clean smelling room or that have allergies. We also change all bedding after each guest and have the rooms shamooped regularly since we are also a pet friendly hotel. Our reward program... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Although the beds were what I'm accustomed to at a BW (I.e. Comfortable), the additional room guests were not. The room was not very clean. It was noticeable that a broom had barely made it into the bathroom given the dead flies in the corner. When we woke the next morning, we had at least 4 large Beatles making their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We thank you for writing a review and are sorry to hear you will not be staying again. We hope that you informed the front desk of the issues you encountered so that we can inspect the room and resolve all matters. The rain we have been receiving here lately is welcomed and much needed but it also has its... More 

Flower Mound, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

Very clean hotel with large lobby for gathering. Would highly recommend on budget. Nice touch of free beverage at check in. Great location with restaurants close by. Small outdoor pool but was clean. It is outdoor entry but enough parking available.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us and are happy to hear it was a good one . We understand that now a days inside entry is more appealing , but our outside entry allow most guest to park right in front of their room and gives them the ease of walking a short... More 

San Antonio, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

This Motel is the worst Best Western I have ever stay. Blood marks on sheet. Very dusty on coffee maker. Do not recmmend this location at all. There are some other Best Westerns are a lot better than this one. This is the worst Best Westerns I ever stay in several years. There were bugs in the room. The location... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We first want to say we appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and we truly apologize you had such a negative experience. We want our guest to know good or bad we wanna hear about it so that we can continue as we are or correct any issues. We were unaware about the problems and cleanliness issues... More 

Liberty, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Doors open to parking lot and I was uncomfortable. Hotel is old and the rooms are dated. A bug got on me in bed. There were stains on the carpet. However, the room seemed to be clean enough, there was still an odor.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize for a local pest getting into your room, we take all precautions to try and prevent them from getting in and eliminate them unfortunately the recent rain we have gotten, they try even harder to find inside shelter. The front desk said... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abilene hotels
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Abilene I-20
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Abilene
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Abilene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Residence Inn Marriott Abilene
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Abilene Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 37 in Abilene
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay