We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Whitten South

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
3950 Ridgemont Drive, Abilene, TX 79606
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Whitten South
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Whitten South
Add Your Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    47
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
63
34
21
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Friendswood, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night on our spring break trip up to the panhandle (Palo Duro Canyon). Hotel was clean and the breakfast was very good. The assistant the morning we were there was very helpful to all. The room was clean though the bathroom was a bit dated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed one night on a vacation. At check in the desk clerks were very friendly and you even get a choice of a small bottle of wine, beer, soda or water at check in. The room was clean and comfortable. The only problem we had was that the TV did not work. They came up right away and reset... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We have said this so many times and so many reviews and we hope that you and all our guests know that we thank you for taking your time to write about your experience at our hotel, and that includes the good and the bad. Our remotes and TV sometimes are like siblings and don't get along. We have been... More 

Buda, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed my stay, staff was very friendly and accommodating. They have a nice sitting area upstairs if you just want read or sit down relax and have a drink. Close to restaurants and the shopping mall. I will stay there again when I am in Abilene.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We appreciate you writing a review of your recent stay with us. It is such a great reward to get yet another great review writing by our guest, truly shows the hard work and dedication our employees put into their job. When the hotel was completely re- done alot of work into the lobby so our guest can enjoy all... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed at this motel, and I'll say right now that it's an excellent place to stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the choice of the free beverage at check in was a nice surprise. The room was very clean & well-kept, and the hot breakfast was wonderful. I notice in some reviews that they aren't pet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We understand that pets are an important part of your family and they would miss you if left them behind during your trip. When you and your pets stay with us we do our best to insure their safety, make sure you are aware of appropriate areas to take them to use the potty, locations of local stores, vets and... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent experiemce. great room, good breakbast options and reasomable price. Met two staff, both were very helpful snd friendly. The room was large and clean and well layed out. Breakfast had numerous options and all were very good. I will stay here again next year.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at our hotel, and including three words we love to hear, Excellent, Great and Good. Our staff work very hard to provide our guest with the exact same experience that you had during your stay, every time they stay. We have a full time breakfast attendant that insures all items... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a whole we had a nice stay. We got assign a room where the TV did not work but they move us to the next room where the TV did work but we could not get the lights to work by the bed. The beds were comfortable and the shower was great. You had to reach your room though... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review of your recent stay. We apologize that you encountered and issue with he TV, but also glad we were able to find a solution quickly. All hotels have their staff preform deep cleaning and preventive maintenance on all rooms, but sometimes you still wont know tell a guest checks... More 

colorado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

large room, clean beds, good WiFi, bug TV, what's not to like. pet fee for our dog was $10, other hotels in area were charging up to $ 50 per night. breakfast had hot food(eggs and sausage) , really nice since wife is diabetic and can't do a continental breakfast. would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. All of our properties are pet friendly and while it is necessary to charge this fee, for extra cleaning prior to next guest checking in the same room that may have allergies to animal dander, we still keep it within our guest budgets. Our... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am always surprised when everything goes well with an overnight stay. In this case, I have no complaints. This is a motel (I did not know that but probably missed it in the advertising). We had a clean room, great service, and a good breakfast (more than just a continental, with eggs, breakfast meats, etc.). The room was just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. When there are so many choices out there we thank you for giving us the opputunity to show you what we have to offer. Our staff take pride in there work everyday, which shows in every review written by our guest. We look forward to your continued... More 

Plano, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Overall, we were pleased with the accommodations and the breakfast the following morning! The beds were comfy and the rooms were very clean. En joyed our stay and will use them again traveling to the Abilene area next trip.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we are so glad you enjoyed it. This last month has been busy for us and its so nice to hear that even when we are running in circles we still give that great customer service. We look forward to your next trip. Thank you, Karen Goff More 

Sun City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We always enjoy staying at this hotel. They keep the premises very clean and friendly. I especially enjoy the display they have in the front lobby. The beds and shower are wonderful. It is in a quieter part of town away from the highway

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
wiexpo, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitten South, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel. We have actually quite a few guest take pictures of our wonderful animals in the canoe, seems to be our biggest attraction. We do our best to make every guest feel welcomed and at home from the moment... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question