We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Express Aiken

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1936 Whiskey Road South, Aiken, SC 29803
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Express Aiken
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Aiken
Add Photo Write a Review

71 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    16
    18
    20
    12
See reviews for
31
10
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a chance to stay here and the service and the rooms were good. Housekeeping would come and stock everything. I would stay here again and would recomend this hotel to my friends. The hotel and the property were neat and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. WE are looking forward to your return stay with us. More 

Travelers are raving about these Aiken hotels

Lacey, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm sorry to write this review. The staff were so helpful, and I understand that this is affordable accommodations. However, I feel like cleanliness doesn't have to be expensive. The ceiling was riddled with cobwebs, mold on the windowsill. Stained and questionable coverlet, very stale and un-fresh linens. Cracked toilet seat, ants, filthy carpets. I chose this property because they... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We look forward to your return stay with us to show our progress. More 

Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

The mattress was worn and slanted to one side, the shower curtain was falling off the wall and the shower head hole in the wall was open and not finished off. The door to the room was broken, the handle was too loose so the locks would not engage. It took 5-10 tries each time entering to get the door... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We would like to apology for any inconveniences you have experienced during your 2 nights stay with us. We are looking forward to return with us to show our progress. More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Booked 3 rooms to get near Augusta. Our rooms (upper floor in 2nd building) were just fine. We were simply seeking a clean room at a reasonable rate during peak Masters Tournament season, and this property provided that. Everyone I spoke to (booking, check-in, check-out) was friendly, professional, and welcoming, particularly Brian. Rooms were ready and waiting for us when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return with us. More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We stayed here for a softball tournament and the price was great. You getvwhat you pay for. Check in was nice. Brian i think was very friendly amd there is a cool fish tank when you walk in. We did the jaccuzzi room. The jaccuzzi was on a step and it had sunk down a good half inch towards the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We are working to resolve all issues. We look forward to your return stay with us to show our accomplishments. More 

Kershaw, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Room 208 was not clean at all, and when I pulled back the bed sheets it was disgusting. There were stains and hairs all over the sheets. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Take my advice don't stay at this Howard Johnson.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken,SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences. We are working to resolve all issues. We are looking forward to your return with us to show our progress. More 

Md
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Extremely satisfied and impressed with the hotel and staff. Will plan to stay here every Aiken trip in the future!!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to say that it gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate you for taking our survey. We're glad to have met all of your accommodations. We are looking forward to your return stay with us in the future. Thank you and have a nice day. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay