We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Express Aiken

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1936 Whiskey Road South, Aiken, SC 29803
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Express Aiken
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    17
    18
    22
    13
See reviews for
34
11
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a night on our way to augusta and the room looked dirty the sheets looked dirty. I personally would not spend more than one night here. On a good note the front desk people are nice and if you call on the phone you get a 10% discount off your room so I guess that's nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We would like to apology for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay with us. We are looking forward to your return stay with us to show our work in progress. More 

Travelers are raving about these Aiken hotels

Warner Robins
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Ifr you are staying in Aiken then this is a very nice option for a very good place to stay. It is convenient to everything to include every restaurant you can think of. If you want a night that is a quick jump off of I-20 then this is not the place - - approximately 6 miles from Exit 18... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your return stay with us. More 

Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

We had a chance to stay here and the service and the rooms were good. Housekeeping would come and stock everything. I would stay here again and would recomend this hotel to my friends. The hotel and the property were neat and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. WE are looking forward to your return stay with us. More 

Lacey, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

I'm sorry to write this review. The staff were so helpful, and I understand that this is affordable accommodations. However, I feel like cleanliness doesn't have to be expensive. The ceiling was riddled with cobwebs, mold on the windowsill. Stained and questionable coverlet, very stale and un-fresh linens. Cracked toilet seat, ants, filthy carpets. I chose this property because they... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We would like to apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We look forward to your return stay with us to show our progress. More 

Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

The mattress was worn and slanted to one side, the shower curtain was falling off the wall and the shower head hole in the wall was open and not finished off. The door to the room was broken, the handle was too loose so the locks would not engage. It took 5-10 tries each time entering to get the door... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We would like to apology for any inconveniences you have experienced during your 2 nights stay with us. We are looking forward to return with us to show our progress. More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Booked 3 rooms to get near Augusta. Our rooms (upper floor in 2nd building) were just fine. We were simply seeking a clean room at a reasonable rate during peak Masters Tournament season, and this property provided that. Everyone I spoke to (booking, check-in, check-out) was friendly, professional, and welcoming, particularly Brian. Rooms were ready and waiting for us when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return with us. More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We stayed here for a softball tournament and the price was great. You getvwhat you pay for. Check in was nice. Brian i think was very friendly amd there is a cool fish tank when you walk in. We did the jaccuzzi room. The jaccuzzi was on a step and it had sunk down a good half inch towards the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rita M, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Aiken, responded to this review

Howard Johnson (Aiken, SC) would like to thank you for taking our survey. We are working to resolve all issues. We look forward to your return stay with us to show our accomplishments. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aiken hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 20 in Aiken
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 20 in Aiken
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Aiken
Hotel Aiken
#10 of 20 in Aiken
3.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#14 of 20 in Aiken
3.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay