We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Aiken

2.0 of 5 235 Richland Avenue West, Aiken, SC 29801
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Aiken
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Aiken
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    13
    13
    22
See reviews for
12
23
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Westminster, South Carolina, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great customer service every time we visit. Thanks Christy and staff. Within walking distance of shopping and food. Live entertainment on the week-ends. Hotel is older, so expect that, only adds to the unique charm.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

My staff and I thank you so much for taking time to review our property. We really pride ourselves on offering the best customer service possible. Many exciting changes are taking place at Hotel Aiken. We are currently making many improvements to the older structure one step at a time. Your next visit will be better than your last and... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came in for a horse show and hotel Aiken was the perfect place to stay. It is just over a mile from the show grounds. I have a two year old and a three month old, it was great being so close to the show grounds. We stayed in an outside room(111) and had no problems with noise. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

We were very pleased to have the opportunity to serve you and your family. Thank you for your honest review and taking the time from your busy schedule to share your experience. Feedback is not only important when planning changes for the hotel, but it also motivates our staff. We are looking forward to serving you and your family on... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Can't beat the middle of downtown location! Close to great shopping, restaurants, court house, theater, etc. Don't expect fancy, actually pretty spartan, but for the price, you can't beat it! Polo Tavern can get noisy at night, but the burgers are superb! Nice personnel! Very willing to help!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Yes, we are right in the heart of Aiken and the only downtown hotel in the center of shopping, restaurants, the Arts Center and so much more. I agree that our Polo Burger is beyond mouth watering. We appreciate your time and accurate review of our hotel and look forward to serving you again soon. Happy travels! Thank You More 

Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Why stay at a cookie-cutter motel next to other cookie-cutter places and boring chain eating places on the outskirts, when you can have a nice classic hotel in the middle of lively, downtown, historic Aiken? Great, friendly, helpful staff, led by Chrissy, Good bar,very reasonable rate, free use of Gold's Gym facilities. Can't beat it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

We very much appreciate the time you have taken to recognize our hotel. We hope to see you in te future and wish you safe and happy travels until we see you again. Thank You More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

I have been fortunate to stay twice at the Hotel Aiken. I love the historic charm of the hotel and the convenient proximity to delightful shops, wonderful entertainment and exceptional dining in the downtown, historic district of Aiken. Perhaps most important to my overall satisfaction is the devotion of the hotel staff to ensuring your comfort and enjoyment of your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at Hotel Aiken and all that Aiken SC has to offer. Our staff is very pleased to have been able to serve you and that you noticed and appreciated the qualities our Hotel and Tavern has to offer. We look forward to serving you in the future. More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights just before thanks giving . The location is perfect for this beautiful town . The hotel itself is very charming and I cannot speak highly enough about the service and amenities . There is a nice popular bar on property with a great character called moose being the main guy . He was friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Mark, and behalf of all our staff we would like to thank you for your review. We each try very hard to bring Southern Hospitality alive at our hotel. I have shared your review with the hotel and bar staff and we feel very motivated that you see our efforts and hard work in progress. We hope to see you... More 

Fort Salonga, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

What a shame. This once beautiful hotel has been left to slide into such a poor state. To be fair, the rates are cheap and the rooms are clean and the bar is good.As a historical note- they have the first elevator that was installed in South Carolina. They should put a marker on it. That's it. I did have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

We appreciate the time and concern you took giving your direct review of our hotel. I am sorry that you did not have the same experience you had in the 90's. Many changes are taking place at Hotel Aiken to improve the property. We take all of our guests concerns and needs into consideration when planning for change. I would... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Hotel Aiken is one amazing and historical hotel. But the heart is in the story of the bar and the stories within the bar walls from the long time regulars to the new college students coming every year. No matter what u will find a story that will keep you laughing and keep you wanting more!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review Monica. The city of Aiken has a diverse history with tons of memories to share, and in an ever changing world new and fresh memories and stories everyday. The bartenders and staff of Hotel Aiken love to here positive feedback. You review puts a smile on their faces to share with the next... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Very comfortable and beautiful place for eminiscing the 50's-60's, wonderful staff especially friendly & efficient. Best southern fried chicken ever with amazing live music by Pretty Petty band. We rocked all night! Thanks again for a memorable stay! Nancy

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful stay. We want to give every guest of Hotel Aiken a successful stay. Thank you so much for taking time to review us. Best Regards More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

We always stay at Hotel Aiken when visiting beautiful Downtown Aiken. Staff are great, including Brittany and Chrissy at the front desk and Nikki in the lounge . You won't regret spending your weekend at this charming hotel! Nancy and Joe

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Nancy and Joe we would like to thank you for always staying at Hotel Aiken. We know that their are other options you could have chosen and are honored you continue to stay with us. Honest reviews keep us motivated and working hard and we always appreciate our guests taking time to write a review. Hope to see you soon!... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Aiken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Address: 235 Richland Avenue West, Aiken, SC 29801
Location: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay