We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Altoona

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
180 Charlotte Drive, Altoona, PA 16601
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Altoona
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hampton Inn Altoona
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    66
    28
    10
    7
See reviews for
105
42
13
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (283)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Ruckersville, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn. Loved the fitness room, pool and whirlpool. They were well stocked with clean dry towels. I also really liked the vanity in the bathrooms for our room. Well stocked and clean. The beds were comfortable and the pillows nice and soft.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cranston, RI, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was a clean, modern, well appointed hotel not far off the highway that provided a pleasant night's sleep on a cross-country road trip. I traveled alone with a car load of family furniture from the East Coast for a child's new apartment in Chicago. Safety was foremost and my husband reserved a room for me by phone back home... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us, I am very happy that you chose our hotel to be able to get off the road and rest. I am glad that our hotel and our entire team made your stay pleasant and comfortable and allowed you to rest up for the next leg of your trip to Chicago! I am very pleased that... More 

Miami, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is well kept and the staff provides excellent service. The rooms also seem to be very well taken care of. It is also conveniently located and offers delivery from the restaurants that is located across the parking lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review

It is terrific that you were able to enjoy our our rooms as we just completed a major renovation in 2014. Everything in the rooms was completely remodeled and I am very happy to that found the rooms comfortable. We do have some nice restaurants surrounding our building as well as the area. I am pleased that you were able... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Texas shaped waffles that don't fit on the plate? Poorly heated frozen breakfast foods in the chaffing dishes? NOT what we've experienced at other Hampton Inns. 6 pillows per bed and not one firm enough to be comfortable plus a vent fan that whined all night made for a horrible night of trying to sleep. We were in a queen... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Dear Cindy K, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay during the Penn State graduation festivities. Our waffles are Texas shaped due to the management company being located in Texas. Most of our guests are intrigued by the shape of the waffles and we have never had anyone report that they cannot fit the waffles... More 

Panama City Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the best, if not the best, Hampton Inn I've seen. The property is clean and very well maintained. The staff is friendly and do everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. I'm not sure when I'll be back in this area but if and when I am I'll be staying right here! I want to say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review

I am so happy to hear that you were able to get a room at the property on such short notice and that the team was able to help you! Teh restaurants around our hotel and in the general area are very nice and I am glad that you and your family found the hotel to be clean and comfortable.... More 

York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was traveling in the area for work and thought it should be easy to book a room the day of based on where my day ended. To my surprise when I did an online search for hotels in the area I could not find an available room. As a diamond member I thought I would try to call directly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with our property! it is wonderful to hear such kind comments concerning the team! I am glad that you found the property clean and inviting and that the staff, especially Amber treated you so well. I will make sure to share your kind comments with my entire team here at the property. Kindest Regards, Jeffrey... More 

Prosper, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was upgraded to a jucuzzi suite. What a shame, I only spent a few hours in the room. Excellent as Hilton's are. Clean, comfortable, everything worked as it should. Walk across parking lot to local sports bar (Champs - excellent food!) and Cracker Barrell (one of my favorites). So this stop offers great proximity to walking distance food, too.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Thanks for writing about your stay with us! I am so glad that you were upgraded to our suite as it sounds as if you really enjoyed the room. The restaurants in our parking lot are awesome and I am thrilled that you were able to enjoy each one while staying with us. I look forward to having you stay... More 

Murrysville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent property for a stay. Staff was great - accommodating, friendly, and very helpful. The hotel are rooms were very clean and updated. Stephanie at the front desk was very helpful - thanks! Lot's to do within walking distance - restaurants, mall. I would definately return to this hotel and recommend highly!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review

I am so glad that you took the time to let me know about your stay! I will make sure to share you kind comments with my entire team including Stephanie. I am very happy that you were able to enjoy the restaurants in the area and the mall. Hopefully you and your family can come stay with us again... More 

Altoona, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wil never stay in Hilton again, thanks to Stephanie. She refused to let us use the pool or anything else. I had to leave and return later. I requesed a refund and now have to take them to court to get it. They are all liars you can't beleive anything they say.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Mr.Edwards, Thanks for sending in a response concerning your stay. Since you were trying to check into the hotel early we did not have any rooms cleaned at that point. As you were notified I did go ahead and process the Hampton 100% guarantee for your stay and the credit will appear on your next credit card statement. Regards, Jeffrey... More 

warren, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was super accommodating and probably the friendliest I've had at any Hampton and I've stayed at alot traveling with my job! They were wonderful from the front desk to the maids to food service to the guy washing floors. The hotel was impeccably clean also

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeffrey C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Altoona, responded to this review

Dear Annette S, Thanks so much for staying with us, I certainly appreciate your business. I will make sure to share your kind comments with my entire staff, including our housekeeping teams as well breakfast attendants. I am glad that you had such a super stay and look forward to having you stay with us again! Kind Regards, Jeffrey Cipriani... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay