We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Allentown hotels

Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3220 Hamilton Blvd / I-78 Exit 54, Allentown, PA 18103
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney to your Saves list
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Allentown
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014
TheNavigationalDir27 Fanwood, New Jersey
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    40
    47
    40
    55
See reviews for
105
31
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (222)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney
See the most recent reviews
Copiague
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This hotel was horrible. The door to the room would not lock properly, there was hair in the sink, and the room was suppose to be a nonsmoking room but it stunk of cigarette odor. To top it off, the air conditioner barely worked, we excessively noisy and kept going on and off every 10-15 minutes. The noise kept us... More

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We regret your stay was not a pleasant one, we are always looking for our quests honest review to improve and serve you better . We are constantly improving our property to meet our guests needs. We have competitive rates, friendly staff and are conveniently located Again, thank you for your feedback. More

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel is in a nice location as far as restaurants, shopping. Lot's of parking. The staff is very nice. The rooms are not the greatest. Comfortable beds and pillows. When you get in the room you can smell a misty unpleasant odor. The included breakfast is left to be desired, coffee, orange and apple juice, some bagels with cream... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We regret your stay was not a pleasant one, we are always looking for our quests honest review to improve and serve you better . We are constantly improving our property to meet our guests needs. We have competitive rates, friendly staff and are conveniently located Again, thank you for your feedback. More

Fanwood, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Since this was our very first time to Dorney Park and Wildwater Kingdom, our family didn't know what to expect after reading several reviews on this motel. However, we were pleasantly shocked by the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites because of the bargain you were getting for the money you spent. The rooms were very spacious and comfy with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review

Hello Jimmc66 Thank you for sharing your stay at our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with our competitive rates, friendly staff and our convenient location. Again, we thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next trip to Allentown. More

Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Was here last month. Better than before. The cable was expanded to many channels / music channels. The pool and hot tub were great. The hotel was very friendly both guests and staff included. Close to everything. The breakfast is basic and good for a day out in a theme park near the hotel. Needs some TLC here and there.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for sharing your stay at our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with our competitive rates, friendly staff and our convenient location. Again, we thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your next trip to Allentown. More

Ellenville, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We drove to PA from NY with our daughters and I can't share enough how disappointed I was. Our carpet was down to it's last threads in some areas. The bathroom had mold on the walls. When we went to the front desk to speak to the manager the individual was flat out rude to us. She went in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review

Hello Ms. Leslie G, We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered. However, regarding the refund, you paid cash and our policy does not allow our employees to issue cash refunds. Our employee tried to accommodate you as much as she was able by changing your room and contacting a manager. The following morning when the General Manager was able to... More

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This is the third worst hotel I've been to, ever. Upon entering the lobby you're hit with the overwhelming odor of chlorine, which runs throughout the entire hotel...thankfully, you don't smell it in the rooms. Once we entered the room it became apparent that my choice of hotel was not a good one. It was not clean, the microwave looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We regret your stay was not a pleasant one, we are always looking for our quests honest review to improve and serve you better . We are constantly improving our property to meet our guests needs. We have competitive rates, friendly staff and are conveniently located Again, thank you for your feedback. More

Deerfield Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We were looking for a nice place close to family in the Allentown area. We have a dog so there are challenges in this area, however, this hotel is old, dirty, has small rooms (we could hardly walk around in the king bed room as the bed took most of the room). Not only was the bath area dirty, you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We regret your stay was not a pleasant one, we are always looking for our quests honest review to improve and serve you better . We are constantly improving our property to meet our guests needs. We have competitive rates, friendly staff and are conveniently located Again, thank you for your feedback. More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here on a trip to dorney park. Service was horrible. Front desk clerk was rude. Shower water was cold. There were strange stains on the bed and the bathroom was not clean. Would not recommend..

Was this review helpful? Yes
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We regret your stay was not a pleasant one, we are always looking for our quests honest review to improve and serve you better . We are constantly improving our property to meet our guests needs. We have competitive rates, friendly staff and are conveniently located Again, thank you for your feedback. More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The outside is a little run down in appearance. The room I got, matched the outside. Looked old, but the on the upside, it appeared clean and had no bad odors to go with it,That was a relief. The hotel is really close to Dorney Amusement/Water park, which if your going to, I'm sure it's a plus, but I just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FourStar1, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We regret your stay was not a pleasant one, we are always looking for our quests honest review to improve and serve you better . We are constantly improving our property to meet our guests needs. We have competitive rates, friendly staff and are conveniently located Again, thank you for your feedback. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney

Address: 3220 Hamilton Blvd / I-78 Exit 54, Allentown, PA 18103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Allentown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Allentown/Dorney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites - Dorney Park And Allentown
Howard Johnson Hotel Allentown
Howard Johnson Allentown

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay