We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1831 Austinburg Rd., Route 45 North, Austinburg, OH 44010
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015

Needed a place to stay near the Spires institute for my daughter's soccer ID camp. Booked this place for the price, proximity, reviews, and free breakfast as we had to be up early. The hotel is just off the highway surrounded by some of the usual fast food places. Parking lot had large spaces to park in and was well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cincinatiboy
Devan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

Cincinatiboy, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! Our staff prides itself on going above and beyond to ensure the satisfaction of our guests and it is wonderful to hear we met your expectations! We hope to see you again in the future if you visit the area! More 

Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

nice people, good rate, nice room. Clean hotel, good breakfast, The area's nothing special but ok. Truck stop across the street. Didn't use the pool or any of the other services. Front desk people were nice.

Helpful?
Thank Dan M
Devan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

Dan M, Thank you for your valuable feedback! I apologize you didn't have the time to explore the areas around our hotel! I recommend coming back in the summer months, our location is central to local wineries, covered bridge tours, eateries, and Geneva-on-the-Lake! We hope to see you again! More 

HAMMOND
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

We needed a place to stop for the night and I had seen this HIE on the list to stay for 5000 IHG Reward points so I booked it for our trip. Previously we had stayed at the Sleep Inn across the parking lot. When we pulled in after driving over 7 hours, we saw the parking lot was FILLED!... More 

Helpful?
Thank JANET K
Devan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

Janet K, It's great to hear you were able to take advantage of our Points Promotion! We strive to exceed expectations and make every guests stay as memorable as possible! Its awesome to hear you enjoyed the beds and pillow selection as well as the buffet breakfast! Holiday Inn Express has our "Forget Something" program and we carry multiple items... More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

We were in town for a soccer game at Spire and, at first, were reluctant to book at HIE due to a bad experience at one last month. However, this HIE was very nice, clean, well decorated, has a large pool, good vent fans in the bathrooms. Great wifi strength. I have severe allergies and autoimmune issues and nothing was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Erin K
Devan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

Erin K, Thank you for your awesome comments! We only use cleaning supplies without harsh odors and make sure to disinfect every surface throughout the room to ensure our guests health. We rotate our breakfast options each day, hopefully if you visit us again you will be able to have some of our delicious bacon! More 

Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Paid a little more than what we wanted because the price of another one was $40 cheaper and about 20 miles away. Well they would not price match and we were tired. The night stay was ok. Expect a lot of kids because of the Spire place nearby. TV wouldn't work-called the desk twice. Nothing. Went to go swimming-pool closed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margie1113
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

Dear Margie1113, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay at our hotel. It is disheartening to know that your experience was not as perfect as it should have been. I am sorry for the disappointments you had with our pool and television. I also regret the service letdown from our hotel staff.... More 

Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2015

While traveling across Ohio a few of my coworkers and I needed a convenient place to stay. Having stayed here before we pulled in. The property looked much the same with friendly front desk and an added evening reception with a light dinner and beverages offered. The quality of the rooms and cleanliness has gone down hill. My room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank WaterTraveler1985
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

Dear WaterTraveler1985, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate you nice comment about our staff. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room condition and cleanliness. We will address these concerns. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and... More 

Shirley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

Very nice hotel off I90 and convenient to nearby towns. Very clean, friendly staff, decent breakfast. Would have loved more healthy alternatives at breakfast - plain yoghurt, more fresh fruit options but a very nice place and room had a fridge to store groceries

Helpful?
Thank sbaker1
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

I traveled to Ashtabula for the first time for business however will absolutely return with my family and friends. Upon check in we were greeted with lemonade and tea, accompanied by a fresh baked cookie ( which was very pleasant after 7 hours on the road from Indianapolis ). The check in process was speedy and the room was large... More 

Helpful?
Thank IndyTravelDiva99
Devan P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ashtabula-Geneva, responded to this review

IndyTravelDiva99, Thank you for your AWESOME review! It's guests like you that give us the determination to make sure we deliver a superb guest experience time and time again. We take every guests opinions into consideration and that's where we get our great ideas for extra amenities and breakfast options! We look forward to your return trip! Safe travels! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

We were desperate to find a hotel in the Geneva-on-the-Lake, OH area, and not many places had accommodations left. In fact, the online booking tool had me believe that this hotel was also booked solid. However, the front desk was very helpful in arranging a room for us that afternoon. They were also helpful in finding restaurants in the area.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jordans190
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015

Everything and everyone was very accommendating. Family oriented, staff was friendly and everything was clean. Bed was comfy and made you want to stay in bed. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Helpful?
Thank geegee730
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austinburg
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
7.4 mi away
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
#1 of 6 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Ashtabula Hotel
Ramada Ashtabula Hotel
#5 of 5 in Austinburg
3.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
22.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Painesville
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
23.5 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay