We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Athens hotels

Knights Inn Athens

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   997 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Athens to your Saves list
Knights Inn Athens
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
57%
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Athens
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014
foto_johnyoc Kettering
  • Overview
  • Reviews (44)
  • Photos (24)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
8
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Knights Inn Athens
See the most recent reviews
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is the second time I was forced to stay here, as all other hotels were booked for Dads weekend. I thought the first time was bad but this was worse. The beds are of the cheapest quality. Dirty bathroom(hairs on the floor), very small. I was awakened at 0500 by the individual next to me as his cell phone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
patelaku20, Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to fill out a review on your last stay. Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize that your stay fell short of your expectations . We also appreciate your feedback and my team will discuss your comments to provide the best service we can. More

Athens
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The non-smoking room had a bit of a smoke smell... I slept with the window in the bathroom open which aired the room out. It was a nice place... very clean...at a great price. Breakfast was very simple.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

On behalf of management, we extend our sincerest apologies for all inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We understand that problems like the one you experienced with smoking smell handled immediately. When any issues arise in your room, we encourage our guest to notify the front desk so we can take proper measures to rectify the problem. We are... More

Warren
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is located on State Street in the heart of Athens. The room was clean and the location excellent. Many places to dine in or carryout right by the hotel. Check in was hassle free and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. You are absolutely right that we are at prime location in Athens Ohio where all restaurants and shopping areas are very close by to our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and friendly service. We appreciate you staying with us... More

Kuwait
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Forced to stay here because nothing else was available in town for OU orientation week. Rooms are straight out of the 70's with zero maintenance. Electric outlets are all 2 prong so I couldn't even charge my laptop or cell phone. There's a moldy/dusty/chemical smell in the room. My dreams were haunted with the possibility the neighbor might be cooking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

On behalf of management, we extend our sincerest apologies for all inconveniences you have experienced during your stay, we are still renovating our property but understand that problems like the one you experienced with dusty chemical smell handled immediately. When any issues arise in your room, we encourage our guest to notify the front desk so we can take proper... More

Tiltonsville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

For a non smoking room, the smoke still lingered in the room. We went out and bought an air freshner to spray the room. Which disguised the smoke for one night. Had a rude neighbor who kept slamming the door after fighting with the male in the room. Plus the foul language coming from her outside the room. The wireless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

This is very unlike us at Knights Inn Athens Ohio regarding smoking situation in non smoking room.I know we can do better than average, for this experience we sincerely apologize. We advise that for all issues our guest notify the front desk so we can immediately take necessary measures to rectify the problem.Also your internet comment is greatly appreciated and... More

Dayton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at the Knights Inn several times between April and the end of May while working on my practicum in the area. Each of my rooms, even though I requested one in the back, was in the front unit. This wasn't bad, except there is a lot of traffic noise and one night a semi parked in front of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us with such kind words. Our property is an older prototype but we are proud of providing comfortable stay to our customers.Lot of our customer would like to experience wood paneling in rooms. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a GREAT stay with us between April to end of May and enjoyed different... More

Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights over Memorial Day weekend. We were there for a family reunion nearby. The hotel is VERY OUTDATED! BUT it was clean, the bed was comfortable, the shower had hot water, everything worked including great wifi! So for $50 a night it can't be beat! The Hampton nearby was $149 a night! We did not eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us with such kind words. Our property is an older prototype but we are proud of providing comfortable stay to our customers. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a GREAT stay with us and enjoyed different amenities during stay at Knights Inn, Athens, Ohio. We hope to see you stay with us in... More

Cleveland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in Knights Inn because it was the only room available during Ohio University's graduation weekend. We were delighted with the room and the hospitable management. It was clean, comfortable, affordable, and conveniently located to both campus and Rte 50. While the hotel looks like it has not been updated in decades, everything was clean and in good repair.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

I appreciate the fact that you took the time to share a review with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly service. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again soon!! More

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Room was clean, staff were very friendly and the breakfast was plentiful. No problems at all. Parking is right outside your room door. Access to Ohio University is perfect. All along East State Street there are many restaurants and shopping areas.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

Fantastic!! Thank you so much for this great review, we definitely enjoy all of our guest here at Knights Inn Athens Ohio and providing a wonderful stay experience is our top priority. You are absolutely right that we are at prime location in Athens Ohio where all restaurants and shopping areas are very close by to our hotel.We hope to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Knights Inn Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Knights Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Athens

Address: 997 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Athens 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Knights Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Athens Ohio

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Athens with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Knights Inn AthensTake advantage of affordable rates and essential amenities when you stay at our Knights Inn Athens hotel near Ohio University. Wake up to free continental breakfast, complete with fresh-baked waffles, when you stay at our Athens, Ohio, hotel, or prepare food using your in-room microwave and refrigerator. Email friends and family during your stay using our free high-speed Internet access. Our hotel is conveniently located off Route 33, and truck parking is available in our ample lot. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
38

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Knights Inn Athens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer