We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 9 Athens hotels

Knights Inn Athens

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   997 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Knights Inn Athens to your Saves list
Knights Inn Athens
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Athens
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (41)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
5
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The rooms in the newer section, in the rear of the hotel, are typical of any modern hotel. The rooms in front, the original hotel, are pine paneled. These rooms are dated but are very clean. The cost of a room is very reasonable. the staff are friendly and very accommodating. The included breakfast consists of orange juice, breads (bagels,... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

It is so nice to hear our gracious service is very well received for your stay with us. We love to go above and beyond by providing excellent hospitality service to our beloved customer.We have finished the renovation 1.5 years ago in rear building. Few of our customers would like wood paneling due to hocking hills area so they get... More

New Martinsville, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I had a pleasant stay at the Knights Inn in Athens. It is conveniently located right across the street from one of the best farmers' markets I've ever visited. Our room was clean and quiet. In the morning, a complimentary breakfast was available and was enough to get us to lunch. Out back you can push or... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the 5 star review. We take great pride in cleanliness and service. We are at prime location in Athens Ohio where all restaurants and shopping areas (including farmers market on Saturday) are across from street from our hotel. We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again... More

Doylestown PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed in a few knights inns and they have never been much to write about. This one is by far the best. The excellent rating does take into account what this inn is. It is not the Ritz or a new motel with the latest stuff but it was definitely a great surprise for what it is. Everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
patelaku20, Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for the 5 star review. We take great pride in cleanliness and service.I am glad to read all of your nice comments, and will be sure to share them with the Team here. We all work hard to ensure that all of our guests have a great experience, and I am... More

Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The plaque in the lobby states proudly that Kennedy was at the then-Motel Athens in 1959; and I think one couldn't be blamed for thinking that nothing's changed since then. Indeed, the owners told me that certain things - like upgrading the wiring - couldn't be done because the property's simply too old. If you're used to modern, consistent, look-and-feel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

You are right that Our property is an older prototype but we are proud of providing comfortable/clean stay to our customers.We are in process of renovating rooms in small chunks on every year. We finished renovation in back building in year 2013. This year, We also replaced flat screen TV in front rooms.We do have wi-fi available in through out... More

NW Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We just needed a roof over our heads for a night and the Knight's Inn fit that description. There is nothing special about it. The front desk clerk was efficient, but not really friendly. Our room had a bare plaster patch on the wall and cheap looking laminate flooring that gave the room a cheap feel. Our room was fairly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
patelaku20, Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us with such kind words. Our property is an older prototype but we are proud of providing comfortable stay to our customers.We are in process of renovating rooms in small chunks on every year. We finished renovation in back building in year 2013. We are extremely happy to hear that you like pillow and quality of... More

Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is the second time I was forced to stay here, as all other hotels were booked for Dads weekend. I thought the first time was bad but this was worse. The beds are of the cheapest quality. Dirty bathroom(hairs on the floor), very small. I was awakened at 0500 by the individual next to me as his cell phone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
patelaku20, Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to fill out a review on your last stay. Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your recent stay. We sincerely apologize that your stay fell short of your expectations . We also appreciate your feedback and my team will discuss your comments to provide the best service we can. More

Athens
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The non-smoking room had a bit of a smoke smell... I slept with the window in the bathroom open which aired the room out. It was a nice place... very clean...at a great price. Breakfast was very simple.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
patelaku20, General Manager at Knights Inn Athens, responded to this review

On behalf of management, we extend our sincerest apologies for all inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We understand that problems like the one you experienced with smoking smell handled immediately. When any issues arise in your room, we encourage our guest to notify the front desk so we can take proper measures to rectify the problem. We are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Knights Inn Athens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Knights Inn Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Athens

Address: 997 East State Street, Athens, OH 45701
Location: United States > Ohio > Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn Athens 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Knights Inn Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Athens Ohio

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Knights Inn AthensTake advantage of affordable rates and essential amenities when you stay at our Knights Inn Athens hotel near Ohio University. Wake up to free continental breakfast, complete with fresh-baked waffles, when you stay at our Athens, Ohio, hotel, or prepare food using your in-room microwave and refrigerator. Email friends and family during your stay using our free high-speed Internet access. Our hotel is conveniently located off Route 33, and truck parking is available in our ample lot. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
38

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer