We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akron City Centre Hotel

20 West Mill Street, Akron, OH 44308 (Formerly Ramada Plaza Akron)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Akron City Centre Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2015

As others have said the lights in the hallways do not work so the entire common area is dark and gloomy, the ac in the room worked when it felt like it. Had to get up and turn it off let it sit and turn it back on to get it to work for 30-45 min. The fixtures in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
Larry R, General Manager at Akron City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about our shortcomings. We apologize. No excuses. The new management team here has been working hard to address the guest comfort issues you mentioned. We sincerely appreciate your honest feedback and hope you will give us another try in the future. More 

Hillsboro, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

Akron City Center Hotel is a downtown hotel that was once a great facility. I have used this facility with a small group for the last 3 years due to its location on the Tow Path. For whatever reason, partly I am certain because of new ownership, the hotel is fading fast. With more than a dozen floors, only one... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jim B
Larry R, General Manager at Akron City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for your very uncomfortable stay and certainly understand your feelings. Your description hit the nail on the head. Since your departure, the new management team here has been working hard with ownership to address all of the items you mentioned. We have made progress and have applied for renovation funding. My hope is that you'll give us... More 

Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

No lights in hallways, no a/c in lobby or hallways. Only floor with lights on was 9th. Bistro was closed, pool closed, ice machine broken... One elevation worked with bad key card swiper, room was stale, a/c couldn't keep up with 90 degree hallway, closet door broken, desk broken, carpet wavey.... need I say more- the guy working at the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
Larry R, General Manager at Akron City Centre Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding this hotel's shortcomings. We sincerely apologize. Since your stay, the new management team has been working diligently to correct the items mentioned. Our restaurant and lounge are closed now for renovations. Our pool will be reopening within the next two weeks. We are retraining our Front Desk staff and because of this they are... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2015 via mobile

I'm guessing at some point, this was a really nice hotel. But the fact that at $89 a night in downtown Akron should have a good indication. When I arrived, the AC was not on and the hallways were dark. The rooms had a lot to be desired; peeling wallpaper, leaking windows, lumpy beds. Week one, they lost my reservation... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Pat C
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

Ok, it is by no means a 5 star hotel. Probably a 2-3. Went on saturday in august. Lobby, hot and dark. Pool, closed. Two people at desk, very nice. Parking garage, desolate. But, none of that is horrible, just not 5 star. So, first room, not so hot. I don't think anyone actually stayed in it for months. 14th... More 

Helpful?
Thank MARK L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

In June, I booked a room at this hotel so I'd have a place to stay after a concert I was going to in the area. Despite the fact that I was there WITH MY CONFIRMATION EMAIL IN HAND, I was told there were no rooms. The girl behind the counter was completely clueless and when we asked for the... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Lynda S
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2015

Worst hotel experience EVER! Wish I'd have read some of these reviews before deciding to stay at this place. The only positive aspect was the location because we could walk to the Akron Civic Theater for our concert. First we had a horrible time finding this place. We finally find it & get parked & head into the lobby. It... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanie B
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

Stayed one night in a jacuzzi "suite" on the 9th floor. Stood in the front lobby for ten minutes waiting to check-in. I should have walked out and never looked back! The girl at the front desk finally showed up, out of breath and sweaty, apologizing and saying she had to go to the bank before it closed which is... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Honest_0pinion_101
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Had to call 911 …..The worst hotel experience ever.After checking in the room was filthy and the toilet was black.They gave me another room and that one was even more GROSS.I finally told them I want my money back and they refused.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey G
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Where to begin -- the ghost town feel the minute walk into the lobby, the lengthy check-in process with inability to process a credit card, the dim lighting on the room floor, the creepiness of most of the hotel's 20 floors completely empty and dark (finally found ice on the only other occupied floor), the outdated and dingy room décor,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank christine052615
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akron
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Akron
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cuyahoga Falls
6.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Akron South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sheraton Suites Akron/Cuyahoga Falls
6.0 mi away
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
Hilton Akron / Fairlawn
#4 of 5 in Fairlawn
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
7.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Akron Fairlawn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay