We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Atlantic Beach accommodations

A Place at the Beach III

2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1904 E. Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added A Place at the Beach III to your Saves list
A Place at the Beach III
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
63%
A recent review
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    52
    15
    17
    16
See reviews for
77
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The good: fantastic pools and other activities. Lots of people grilling and having a good time in the courtyard. Nice grills provided, charcoal and gas! Multiple showers for coming back from the beach. The not so great: a complicated setup. Several times I ended up in the wrong building trying to get back to my room. Need to walk through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about all the amenities at our resort. In reading your review we understand that you rented through a private owner and hope that you expressed your concerns to them about the cleanliness along with the unit condition. We do hope you come and visit with us again in the future and have a wonderful... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Atlantic Beach in the last week of August and rented a 2-bedroom unit from its owner. It was 'cozy' with 4 adults and 3 young children, but comfortable. The unit was clean and adequately equipped, though it would be nice if toilet paper was provided when we arrived. Our unit faced the parking lot rather than the beach,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

We appreciate all your kind words about our Resort and hope that you will come back and visit us again. Have a great Summer. More

Burlington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a week at this vacation spot and are already planning for next year's visit. It has a great beach access to a beach that is beautiful and not crowded. It has an excellent pool with a water slide that kept our boys (9 & 5) occupied from morning until night. We rented through Atlantic Beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

We love reading that your family had a wonderful time at our Resort. We look forward to your next visit with us here at APATB. Have a great summer More

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family held a reunion at Place at the Beach August 2 -9. When we arrived the outdoor pool & the parking lots were flooded thru Wed. We were told to park wherever including the muddy grass . The parking lots were a safety hazard & emergency vehicles would not have been able to access the property . The management... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at our Resort however we do appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns with the water issues. All of our pumps have been tested and are in working order. In this area we had 27 inches of rain in less than 25 days along with us being... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just got back from a week at APATB and overall it was a great time. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, the amenities were great, and the beach was perfect. The office staff was very friendly. The only complaint i had were the lifeguards at the outdoor pool. There were 3-4 lifeguards at one point and they all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We are glad to hear that you had fun at our Resort and hope that you would come visit us again. The young men and ladies are not lifeguards of any sort however they are pool attendants. They are there to enforce the rules and regulations of the pool area.... More

Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I've been going to A Place at the Beach for years and have always enjoyed it. But this year was dreadful. While there is nothing they can do about the weather, something must be done about the drainage of the parking lots. The lots were flooded when we arrived and we had to wade through thigh-high deep water to unload... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback and have addressed your concerns at our resort so they do not occur again. There is a plan of action for the future of our drainage issue if it shall come up again. The indoor pool had been closed due to lightening within 5 miles of our Resort and by law we have to shut all... More

Strasburg, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Heavy storm flooded parking lots and cars on Thurs. Just by luck we looked out and saw that water was up to the rocker panels on our car. So my husband ran out to move it and ask a few employees where he should put it. No one was any help, so he just found some high ground. People were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

We love reading that your family enjoyed the pool and the beach. Mother Nature decided to unload over 9 inches of rain in our area last week within a 3 days. We had horrible storms here and we apologize that the parking lots were flooded. There have been many staff members working very hard along with 12 pumps trying to... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have been coming for 30 years. I have a son that is 18 and I have a picture of me sitting in a chair holding him on the same burgandy carpet when he was 6 months old and it is still there. Just lots older dirtier and thread bare. The manitainence fee goes up and nothing is being done.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review for APATB. We do apologize that your unit was not up to your satisfaction. The renovations will start to take place this fall/winter in the L building and we will post photos for everyone to see. We hope you have a great summer! More

Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Ok. We love APAB but you must understand what u are getting into. We have a time share. We LOVE the pool! The kids go NUTS for it 930am to 930pm. The beach access is great. The units are BEYOND the need of repair and they look AWFUL! If you are looking for something nice then don't do a timeshare... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive review about our outdoor activites at APATB. As you did mention in your review the renovations will start taking place in the Timeshare units from the fall of 2014 through December of 2015 so when they are done then the units will match our wonderful amenities. The L building that holds our 1 and 3... More

Farmville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have been coming to A Place At The Beach for over 30 years as timeshare owners. The outside of the buildings looks great but is very deceiving as the insides are worn out. We just finished out week and in our unit the freezer did not work properly, drawers in kitchen were off track, dishwasher was broken and washer... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking your time to write a review for our resort. There are plans in progress for the upgrades to start this fall for phase 1 of our timeshare units. There are 279 condos at this resort and many people rent through VRBO and the local realty companies. If you would like further information on different condos... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage A Place at the Beach III, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to A Place at the Beach III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place at the Beach III

Address: 1904 E. Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place at the Beach III 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your A Place at the Beach III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Place At The Beach Iii Hotel Atlantic Beach
Place Beach Iii
a Place At The Beach Iii Atlantic Beach

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (85)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (59)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Atlantic Beach with
any amenities