We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A Place at the Beach III

2.5 of 5 1904 E. Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A Place at the Beach III
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
A Place at the Beach III
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    53
    16
    17
    17
See reviews for
81
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Washington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We've been trading into to A Place At The Beach III at least once a year for about 12 years. We've seen at least two management changes, and we've witnessed the continuous deterioration of the (timeshare) units due to significant wear and tear. Part of the wear aspect is due to the allowance of pets (owners only), but that's a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We rented a 3 bedroom here in January. It snowed!!! So, as a result we spent much more time in the room than we had planned. Our room was a long walk from the elevator. Downside: we were asked to go to a lunch to discuss upcoming renovations, what we would like to see, etc. Well, we went and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

We look forward to you visiting us again when our renovations are completed and Thank you for giving us a positive review. Have a wonderful Autumn. More

Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Not quite up to the timeshare standards my parents are used to. Carpet needs replaced soon, etc. Only one cart to assist with getting luggage in and out. Great location, just a mile along the beach from Fort Macon park. I spent most of my time on the beach, not in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

We really appreciate your review of our resort. We also hope that you will come and visit with us again when our renovations are completed for the L building in late Feb. of 2015. The K building will be renovated in the later part of 2015 into 2016. Have a great fall season and Thank you again. More

Merritt Island, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

This place is gross. If you like a clean, new updated look do not stay here. My parent have owned here since the 1980's and it looks like it. The carpet is threadbare. The walls have water damage bubbles in it. The mattress on the bed has not been changed. The sofa has been the same for 14 years. Everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about our Resort. As you are a Time Share owner here at APATB you are well aware of the renovations that have started as of 10.5.14. The L building units are getting done as we speak and will be back up and running in late Feb of 2015. If you may... More

Garner, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We own one if the busiest weeks in the summer....July 4th. My two boys, 13 and 9, love the slide. My parents bought several years ago and were very pleased.....I am not so happy about the resorts fees. We pay higher and higher dues every year and this year was a doozy! With the "new dues " for 3 years... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

Thank you and we really appreciate your response to our Resort. I have passed your concerns along to the necessary people about the upkeep of your unit. The renovations are starting on October 4th this year and most of them will be taken care of in the 1 and 3 bedroom units. The 2 bedroom units will begin in October... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

The good: fantastic pools and other activities. Lots of people grilling and having a good time in the courtyard. Nice grills provided, charcoal and gas! Multiple showers for coming back from the beach. The not so great: a complicated setup. Several times I ended up in the wrong building trying to get back to my room. Need to walk through... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about all the amenities at our resort. In reading your review we understand that you rented through a private owner and hope that you expressed your concerns to them about the cleanliness along with the unit condition. We do hope you come and visit with us again in the future and have a wonderful... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We visited Atlantic Beach in the last week of August and rented a 2-bedroom unit from its owner. It was 'cozy' with 4 adults and 3 young children, but comfortable. The unit was clean and adequately equipped, though it would be nice if toilet paper was provided when we arrived. Our unit faced the parking lot rather than the beach,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

We appreciate all your kind words about our Resort and hope that you will come back and visit us again. Have a great Summer. More

Burlington, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We have just returned from a week at this vacation spot and are already planning for next year's visit. It has a great beach access to a beach that is beautiful and not crowded. It has an excellent pool with a water slide that kept our boys (9 & 5) occupied from morning until night. We rented through Atlantic Beach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

We love reading that your family had a wonderful time at our Resort. We look forward to your next visit with us here at APATB. Have a great summer More

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My family held a reunion at Place at the Beach August 2 -9. When we arrived the outdoor pool & the parking lots were flooded thru Wed. We were told to park wherever including the muddy grass . The parking lots were a safety hazard & emergency vehicles would not have been able to access the property . The management... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here at our Resort however we do appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns with the water issues. All of our pumps have been tested and are in working order. In this area we had 27 inches of rain in less than 25 days along with us being... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just got back from a week at APATB and overall it was a great time. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, the amenities were great, and the beach was perfect. The office staff was very friendly. The only complaint i had were the lifeguards at the outdoor pool. There were 3-4 lifeguards at one point and they all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kimber B, Manager at A Place at the Beach III, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We are glad to hear that you had fun at our Resort and hope that you would come visit us again. The young men and ladies are not lifeguards of any sort however they are pool attendants. They are there to enforce the rules and regulations of the pool area.... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to A Place at the Beach III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Place at the Beach III

Address: 1904 E. Fort Macon Road, Atlantic Beach, NC 28512
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Atlantic Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — A Place at the Beach III 2.5*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your A Place at the Beach III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Place At The Beach Iii Hotel Atlantic Beach
Place Beach Iii
a Place At The Beach Iii Atlantic Beach

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (93)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (67)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay