We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makunudu Island

#3 of 38 Hotels in Male
Certificate of Excellence
Makunudu Island, Male
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Makunudu Island
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Makunudu Island
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    222
    92
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
33
264
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (349)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
VR
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

even though I spent only one day here for a fishing trip, I found this little island clean, peaceful and graceful with lovely people. I did not find all dirt I saw in Hanimadoo from where I came. This is not an island for who is serching entertainment and mass tourism.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for our honeymoon. It is quiet and relaxing with plenty of staff to help however you have your own staff for meals and to look after your room. The house reef was nice and handy. Meals were more than you could ask for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Check the room tip More information.Zameer was the person who took care of us at meals. He was wonderful. With no idea what to tip we were not sure we did the right thing. Our big disappointment was not going to Male on the tour. They did not have enough people . They should have taken us anyway. One friend... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

My wife and I recently (May 3rd - 17th 2015) had our 2nd stay at Makunudu Island having previously stayed there for a week in May last year. First of all I must commend the staff who worked very hard to make the holiday another lovely experience and a special mention for some of the staff who were more personal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

This was our fifth visit to Makunudu Island. It fits nearly all of what we want from the Maldives. "No News No Shoes" as they say in the guide books. We love the quietness of the island. There are only 37 villas, all are identical but situated in different surroundings. Jan and I prefer the south side, and enjoy being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Brian and Jan, Many thanks indeed for your wonderful review on your 5th return experience to Makunudu, and I have shared your kind appreciation with my team. I am sorry that I was not able to catch up with you for a proper conversation during your stay with us, please accept my sincerest apologies for my oversight and thank... More 

Midlands UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

This was our third visit to Makunudu and as such, knew what the island is like: unspoilt, quiet, very natural and a tropical paradise. Everything was the same, apart from repeat guests used to be invited to a small gathering where cocktails and nibbles were enjoyed as a gesture of thanks for returning - this did not happen and neither... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Louisa and Martin, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write a review on your third return experience to Makunudu. Our team is very passionate about our guest feed back and we do use our guest feed back constructively to ensure that we continually improve for our future guests. Thank you again for your observations and... More 

england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Just returned from 2 weeks at the beautiful island of Makunudu, second visit and was just as wonderful as the first. All the staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Zameer our waiter and Shah in the bar. Food was fantastic couldn't fault a thing aside from our room boy, who was rude and very touchy feely!! Will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Jo and Paul, Many thanks indeed for the wonderful review and we are delighted that you have enjoyed once again the Makunudu experience. Our team is very passionate about our guest and I am certainly concerned that one of our team member was not able to live up to your expectations and I assure you that it will be... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We had an amazing holiday at this resort to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. Makunudu is a really lovely unspoilt island, its natural beauty needs no dressing up with fancy resort facilities. The staff were all so friendly, accommodating and helpful, and the fact many have been working there for a number of years is testament to their enjoyment of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Guest, What a simply beautiful review and thank you for bringing lot of smiles on our faces. Well we certainly like to impress our guests, we do try our best to deliver the best possible experience and it is an honor to receive such positive feebacks as a result. Thank you for your kind feedback on the whole Makunudu... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

This was our fifth visit to beautiful Makunudu, and once again we could not fault in any way or any respect the quality of our holiday. This is a beautiful completely unspoilt island with no artificial trappings, you therefore always feel you truly are in the Maldives. We are always given the warmest of welcomes, the standard of service from... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

My wife and I thought that this was the perfect place to start our first ever trip to Maldives and India. There is no pressure to do things and the staff are attentive without being intrusive. After an extraordinarily hectic time at home in New Zealand right up to the time we left, we could not have started our holiday... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MakunuduIsland, Manager at Makunudu Island, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the wonderful review on Makunudu, We are certainly pleased that our concept and services met your expectations. We do try our best to deliver the best possible experience and it is an honour to receive such positive feed back. We look forward to welcome you to a unique return experience to Makunudu. Sunny... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

838 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (535)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (75)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (92)
Viewed
View from room (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (272)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (296)
Viewed
Amenities (70)
Viewed
Beach (33)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)
Viewed
Villa (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Male
22.4 mi away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,086 reviews
4.3 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Coral Reef Maldives
23.6 mi away
Centara Ras Fushi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,259 reviews
20.1 mi away
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
Gili Lankanfushi Maldives
#1 of 1 in Lankanfushi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
19.8 mi away
Bandos Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay