We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Istana

Certificate of Excellence
73 Jalan Raja Chulan | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Istana
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Istana
Add Photo Write a Review

2,522 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    994
    912
    359
    149
    108
See reviews for
533
893
174
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2522)
  • Mar-May only
    (706)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (635)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (585)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (596)
All months
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Arrived for a three night stay , upon arrival our party were welcomed with a Birthday cake for one of our party ( Me) celebrating a 50th Birthday The staff were a delight and clearly excited about the surprise they had planned - lovely surprise and Gesture by the Hotel. We were checked in swiftly and our room allocation was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived at 8 PM after a long day (up at 0430) visiting customers and walking around hot and smelly factories. My colleague and I were kept waiting for about 10 minutes only to be told our reservation was worthless- no rooms. They did offer to take us to another hotel but not acceptable. After about another 10 minutes they did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cairo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

During our stay at Istana hotel,only for a couple of nights,it was very good maintained with access to down town ,easily. Many restaurants are very near to the hote as well as charming gardens and the shopping malls too. Very much recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelIstanaKL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Sameha, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We hope you will recommend us and will return soon. Warm regards Aamir Khan General Manager More 

Cheltenham,
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights. We had been upgraded to Club and throughly enjoyed the experience. The staff are extremely well trained and very friendly. We were very disappointed by the pool area, throughout our stay there were odd piles of old wood planks and semi dismantled marquees adjacent to the pool. We couldn't believe they couldn't clear the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelIstanaKL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Jacqui H, We are very happy to see your review on the Trip Advisor. At the onset, please do accept our sincere apologies for the delay in dismantling the Tent which was used through out the month of Ramadan. We have also raised our concern with the local vendor to uninstall and dismantle fast in future to avoid any... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

One of the oldest hotel in Kuala Lumpur but very well maintained. It's right in the middle of Kuala Lumpur city. Very convenient. I believe this hotel has gone through some refurbishment. Cleanliness of room wise, I would give it a 5 star, very clean carpets, sheets and bathrooms. My room was booked by a well spoken and polite lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelIstanaKL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear IanBryantTerrance, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and your wonderful review has really made our day. The Associates are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay well and that they have been recognized for their services. Lily, Nantha, Faizal are professionals who have represented a whole fleet of Superstars and professional in... More 

Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Strength: Location: city center, turn right of d hotel, cross d road, 5 mins walk to famous pavillion shopping area; 5 mins walk behind the hotel: changkat bukit bintang-- kl famous pub area; jalan alor-- kl famous chinese local food areas Reception: greet wz smile; receptionist personally hand u welcome drink n face towel! Not many hotels will do that!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelIstanaKL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear cpchock, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to see that your stay was enjoyable. We have noted your comments with regards to carpet and other in-room amenities and our engineering and housekeeping is looking into it right away. We hope this will not deter you from returning to Hotel Istana in future as we... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Been here a year ago.. back then i am not facing any discomfort. Everthing was good. However so disappointed for this time. Old smelly room, housekeeper did not replace the towel and broken card slot holder. Please keep up the Istana Hotel prestige. Maybe some hiccups due to high volume of visitors? I dunno.. please improve. Please2.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelIstanaKL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear nisanurain, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very sorry to see that your room did not smell fresh. Our Housekeeping team is look into it. I wonder though if you were offered a room change? We hope this isolated incident will not deter you from using Hotel Istana in future. Warm regards Aamir Khan General... More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived we got the warmest welcome I ever received at a hotel! The bar and the building itself was great and the service was in top! The room was very nice and our experience at Istana was very good. I highly recommend the hotel. The location is also very good close to the bar street, nice restaurants and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelIstanaKL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear maloukrowicke, Thank you for staying with us and we are happy to see that your stay went well. We appreciate that you will recommend us and will return to Hotel Istana in future. Warm regards Aamir Khan General Manager More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Istana for three days on a stop-over. The rooms are spacious and clean with free Wi-Fi and cable channels in each room, as well as a full room service menu. The hotel is in a fabulous location. Just across from the hotel is a bank, and just metres further down is public transport. Further to this,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelIstanaKL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Lunar_Raven, We are absolutely central to everything. The attractions, the financial district, the shopping malls, the night life and the restaurants are all within less than a KM radius around us. Our complimentary WiFi in rooms and in public areas is 100Mbps and it is one of the strongest in town, however, occasional challenges are isolated incidents and not... More 

Ormeau, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is perfectly located a short walk from shopping hub and a short free bus ride to China Town Markets. The undercover walkway to Petronas Towers is just across the road. The monorail is right outside. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. The rooms were clean and spacious and staff friendly. We wanted interconnecting rooms but they weren't available so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelIstanaKL, General Manager at Hotel Istana, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl T, Indeed our location is the best in KL. Thank you for choosing us and thank you for a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you have enjoyed all the facilities and services of the Hotel. We hope you will recommend us and will return soon in future. Aamir Khan General Manager More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Club lounge(40)
  • Very good(23)
  • Monorail station(12)
  • Buffet breakfast(10)
  • Pool area(10)
  • Shopping mall(6)
  • Staff were friendly(5)
  • Petronas Towers(5)
  • Great location(3)
  • Room service(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (806)
Viewed
Room/suite (172)
Viewed
Bathroom (95)
Viewed
View from room (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (171)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (190)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (332)
Viewed
Adult Pool (5)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Children's Pool (5)
Viewed
Club Suite (34)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Room Twin (24)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (72)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (65)
Viewed
The Hotel (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#32 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#18 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
The Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#20 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 stars 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.3 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#25 of 286 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 stars 2,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Hotel & Residence Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay