We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 124 Kuala Lumpur accommodations

PODs The Backpackers Home

1-6, no 30 Jalan Thambipillay | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added PODs The Backpackers Home to your Saves list
PODs The Backpackers Home
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostelworld.com HostelBookers.com
76%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    31
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
1
12
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was only supposed to stay one night but extended till four days. It is very easy to catch the kl sentral from where you can go to most places. Met so many nice travellers and great staff as well. There is a fridge if you want to make your own breakfast. Clean toilet area. Free filtered water. Thank you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've stayed at Pods a number of times in 2013. It offers great value for money to budget travellers. It's located very conveniently at the heart of the city (close to public transport--monorail/LRT/KTM/RapidKL buses, as well as the bus/train service to the airport), lots of tasty, affordable food in the Brickfields area as well. I think Pods' main strength is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I arrived in KL back in 24 Dec 2013, PODs is located 10 mins walk for the KL sentral train station. easy to get from there to any place in KL. They have a very big relaxing area for eating, relaxing, reading. Very clean. Free wifi, breakfast….The staffs are friendly and patient and helpful. Very Pod’s style. During my stay,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here couple of times. I am happy with the accommodation (Dorm Bed) and the staff is very friendly! It's location is awesome as it takes just few minutes to catch the public transport system (LRT/MonoRail/Bus) to reach anywhere in KL. Cheers, -Krish

Was this review helpful? Yes
Utila
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed at PODSa few times & have enjoyed the amazing staff, the atmosphere & the proximity to KL Central. The neighbourhood in Brickfield has everything you would need to start your day or end it.. They are now in KK too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wah and his staff are wonderful. I've stayed at POD's twice- back in August 2013, and again in November 2013. I went to dinner with staff members, played music with other travelers, made art with Komeil, and enjoyed the peanut butter toast. Some of these other reviews don't sound great, but I'm not sure why.. it is a HOSTEL, not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wallasey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I arrived in KL back in August 2013, the hostel was located 10 mins walk for the train station and over the road to the tram line and was central so I was very happy with my choice. I chose to stay in a female dorm and was put on the 3rd floor in a 4 bed room. The beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
faithar83, Owner at PODs The Backpackers Home, responded to this review

Hi middo44, Thank you very much for your positive feedback about our hostel. Regarding the issue, I was not aware about it. I can guarantee you that Zach is one of our very dedicated and trustworthy staffs and luckily he just came back to PODs. He was away travelling. I will talk to him regarding this to find out more... More

Bangalore, India
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a group of 40 and arranged everything in advance. They failed to mention that they wouldn't have beds for all of us...about half! We slept on the floor and still paid $8-9 per person. They weren't very accommodating. We've been traveling 6 months in 6 different countries and have never had to sleep on the floor especially for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
faithar83, Owner at PODs The Backpackers Home, responded to this review

Hi TheTravelGuinea, i believe you are from World Race group. I'm sorry about this trouble that your group faced. We have actually communicated with the group that we were unable to accommodate as it exceeded our availability that day. However we did suggest if the group was ok to stay in the big dormitory without enough beds and we did... More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The common area facilities were good but the dorms were average. I didn't sleep at all because the walls don't go to the ceilings and you can literally hear the whole level moving around. Strange lights curfew of 11pm and no air conditioning during the day... let me tell you, it is absolutely sweltering in KL and there wasn't even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wah_Harun, Owner at PODs The Backpackers Home, responded to this review

Hi Luchia B, Thanks a lot for your feedback. We really value our guests' comments and suggestions. The initial design of our hostel was to encourage good air ventilation by using centralized aircond with open partition. Some of our guests actually appreciate having this while others prefer closed partition. We are working on upgrading our hostel soon and we will... More

France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed for four days in January 2014 in a single on third floor. Room 3 not recommended because whenever someone came in once I was in bed, the fluorescent light from the landing cruelly woke me up! Could be fixed with an opaque piece of card I reckon, but didn't have time nor inclination. The mattress had a permanent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wah_Harun, Owner at PODs The Backpackers Home, responded to this review

Hi LouiseRomain, Thanks a lot for your feedback and suggestion. We will look into them as we are in the planning stage of upgrading our hostel. Few of the mattresses definitely need to be changed and thanks a lot for highlighting this. Regards, Wah More

Been to PODs The Backpackers Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PODs The Backpackers Home

Address: 1-6, no 30 Jalan Thambipillay | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 124 Specialty lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just opposite KL Sentral the hub or transportation in and out of Kuala Lumpur PODs The Backpackers Home offers affordable accommodation without compromising on atmosphere and cleanliness. rest. assured. Our common room is equipped with internet access, wifi, door security tags, a library as well as a wide selection of local traditional games. PODs offer trips and links to the roads less travelled, a choice to stay at a Perma- culture farm or an orang asli hut. For the more adventurous, Friends Of PODs have many exciting trips and hikes into the Malaysian rain forest and quietly hidden crystal clear waterfalls. You may join our free R2B2 wheelie rides and experience Malaysia through the eyes of the locals. As the people from PODs are mostly from the art scene, do not be surprised if we break out into song and dance every first Friday of the month. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your PODs The Backpackers Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PODs The Backpackers Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.