We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 42, 44 & 46, Jalan Tengkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rae to your Saves list
Hotel Rae
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ranked #238 of 268 hotels in Kuala Lumpur
  • Overview
  • Reviews (50)
  • Photos (10)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel in late December 2013 during a 3 night stay in KL. I can assure you this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff are very rude and they clearly don't care about you or your stay. I was forced to stand for about 15 minutes at the front desk waiting for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

After noticing all of my hard work was not posted on trip advisor through my trip of southeast asia. just wanting to make sure that people know about THIS hotel. Wishing we had looked at reviews of this hotel before booking, would have saved alot of hassle. We booked our room on christmas eve, christmas being really special to us,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My stay in this hotel was very unpleasant, here's why. The receptionist wasn't quite helpful and unfriendly, process of checking in took us a long time. We booked a premier room and the airconditioning was not functioning properly. Complained to the hotel and no actions were taken to get the aircon fixed. We had to suffer for 2 nights with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Positives- location in heart of Bukit Bintang/ Jalan Alor tourist district means that food and shopping is close by. (Low Yat Plaza, which is a mecca for computers and electronics, is 5 minutes walk away - got cracked iPhone screen repaired for RM120 / USD40. Hawkers centre at Sungei Wang Plaza 4th floor provides good cheap food, not the tourist-price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed 4 night in this hotel. i stayed in 2010 also. Although replica inn and Rae are under same management, service and others are better. Room is clean though little small. location is good. staffs are friendly. Really a good one to stay with limited budget

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelRae, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Rae, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay with us. More

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Our stay there was terrible, but the location is gd.Those picture shown wasn't as good as it is. The bed sheet, carpet and towels are dirty! Staff are not friendly, 3 in 1 coffee provided, but there isn't any kettle for boiling water! wardrobe without doors, furniture are really old and can collapsed anytime. Heard that this hotel is only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelRae, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Rae, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We apologize on your unpleasant experience staying with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know. We are working on it to improve our housekeeping as well as maintenance. Once again, please accept our sincere apology and we hoped to serve you once again in future. More

Singapore, Singapore
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you are planning to go really budget and if you are into nightlife, i can say- with hesitation of course- that this hotel will be ok for you. Lobby looks inviting. But the room is a total mess. Room looks like it has not been cleaned for ages. We were even told that we will be charged if we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelRae, Manager at Hotel Rae, responded to this review

Dear Deen_Singapore, Thank you for staying with us. The conditions of the rooms have been improved since your last visit in February as a new management has taken over the hotel striving to provide a better service and experience to customers. In regards to the extra towel that you had requested, there a minimal charge as we incur additional charges... More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. The pictures lied! The rooms were filthy! Dirty sheets, the carpet looked like they've never been cleaned. The towels didn't look washed. Overall a DUMP!! The staff were unfriendly and completely clueless. Seriously - it's not worth it. This hotel almost ruined my impression of KL. STAY FAR AWAY!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelRae, Manager at Hotel Rae, responded to this review

Dear NikkiBashy, Thank you for staying with us. We would like to extend our deepest apologies for the experience you had experience in our hotel. In regards to the condition of the carpet, during your last visit the carpet was due to be cleaned and in view of your comment we have taken our immediate action that the affected carpet... More

Jomtien Beach, Thailand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The location is brilliant, and the hotel looks inviting from the outside. But it's a dump inside. Where do I start? Clueless reception staff, filthy carpets, furniture full of whitish stains (of what origin, I'd rather not speculate), a handrail on the way up that's so loose it's dangerous, tiny dark rooms, bedsheets so undersized they end up all twisted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelRae, Manager at Hotel Rae, responded to this review

Dear Paul B, Firstly we would like to thank you for staying with while you were visiting Kuala Lumpur. In the case of our receptionist, we would like to apologize as the receptionist might not have been able to provide the necessary details that you may have inquired. We are in the midst of providing training to our staff in... More

Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I’ve arrived at the hotel slightly before noon and they let me to check into the room. The room was big enough for a solo traveller. Basic amenities were provided nicely, room was small but clean, the price also affordable, FREE wifi, the hotel was strategically located between Jalan Alor & Changkat Bukit Bintang. You can easily find restaurants just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Rae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Rae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rae

Address: No. 42, 44 & 46, Jalan Tengkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rae 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Rae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (8)
Room/suite (3)
Hotel & grounds (3)
Bathroom (1)
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (3)
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
hotels in Kuala Lumpur with
any amenities


Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Rae staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer