We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Namba Oriental Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel packages
2-8-17 Sennichi-mae, Chuo-ku, Osaka 542-0074 , Osaka Prefecture
Announcement
FREE Wi-Fi AVAILABLE NOW!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Namba Oriental Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Namba Oriental Hotel
Namba Oriental Hotel
Namba Oriental Hotel
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    189
    48
    6
    2
See reviews for
79
109
30
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (325)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (84)
All months
Bulacan, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel was conveniently located near the underground complex leading to the train station and the food hub - Dotonburi area, where we spent and enjoyed most of our time savouring really good japanese delicacies. Check in was smooth but the front desk staff assigned during that time were somewhat cold and unwelcoming - when we checked out though, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here 2 nights with friends. The rooms were comfortable albeit a little old fashioned and tired. The beds were comfortable and clean. Despite the craziness when you step out on the streets the room was very quiet. Our room did not smell of cigarette smoke but the corridors, at times, were smelly with the smell of stale cigarettes.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A brief 10 minute stroll from Namba subway station. Conveniently nestled in one of Osaka's disctricts to satisfy your taste buds. Ideal for the shopaholics, located next to "Namba Walk" and with another 10 minute walk will get you to one of Osaka's shopping districts "Shinsaibashi". You can shop and eat to your hearts delight. However, one thing to point... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us as your accommodation in Osaka and your time to write a review on our TripAdvisor page. We are glad to know that you were able to take advantage of our location and had a nice 'Kuidaore' trip in Osaka! Thank you again and we sincerely look forward to your next visit. Sincerely Yours,... More 

Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our stay at namba oriental almost ruined our holiday since we were given a smoking room even if we had requested for a no smoking one and the hotel manager would not even deign to speak with us. Upon my insistence they moved us to a non smoking room but it took an aggressive stance for them to give us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing Namba Oriental Hotel as your accomodation for your recent trip to Osaka. We deeply regret to hear your disappointment brought to you during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences and the aggressive attitude that one of our staff made. That was totally inappropriate. Also, please allow us... More 

Osaka
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location in Namba is great but this hotel smells of smoke and the rooms are tiny and worn out. The carpet in our room was disgusting. Would not stay here again. The rooms are also very small but that is to be expected

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing Namba Oriental Hotel as your accomodation for your recent trip to Osaka. We deeply regret to hear the disappointment brought to you during your stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences. Also, please allow us to inform you that your comment regarding the room condition and the smell of... More 

Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is simply great! The location is right in the heart of fun and minutes from Dotonbori, transportations, and mall. The hotel room itself was clean. The hotel representative were professional and nice. I will definitely revisit here when I get another chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us as your accommodation in Osaka and your time to post your review on our TripAdvisor page. It is certainly our pleasure to hear that you were able to take advantage of our location and had a nice trip in Osaka! Thank you for your valuable review again and we sincerely look forward to... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a special deal through Agoda that included breakfast. We were given a smoking room as was worried about the smell. However, to our surprise, there was no smell of smoke. There was an ioniser in the room but we didn't have to use it at all. Even though we booked a standard room, the size was about right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us and your wonderful review. It was certainly our pleasure to hear that our service and location met your expectation and that you had a memorable trip in Osaka and Kyoto. Thank you for your time again and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely Yours, From... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Namba Oriental staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel is where you need to be if you are into shopping and eating. The courtyard retreat is a respite if you need it. We had the 4 person Madoii room which was interesting in itself.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and posting your review on our TripAdvisor page! It is our pleasure to know that our service & facility met your expectation. Thanks for your time and we will be very looking forward to your next visit. Sincerely Yours, From all the staff, Namba Oriental Hotel More 

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

1. Central location, super convenient 2. Check out Namba walk for underground shopping and it is a short walk away to arcade shopping at Ebisu. 3. Check out Takashimaya basement for a quick takeaway dinner with food at reduced prizes 4. Breakfast leans more on the Japanese variety than on the western. Enjoyed the porridge with side dishes every morning.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us as your accommodation while you were staying here in Osaka. It is our pleasure to hear your experience with us. Your valuable feedback is greatly appreciated and has been shared with our staff. Regarding WiFi service and the smell in the hallway, necessary action will be taken accordingly. Again, thank you for your... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Over priced like most of Osaka but convenient position close to shopping and food. Nice size bed and quiet rooms . Free internet and helpful staff. Friendly staff that were helpful. Book ahead to get cheaper rate . Breakfast not tried but plenty of places to try nearby

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NambaOriental, Manager at Namba Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing us your accommodation in Osaka and share your experience on our TripAdvisor page. It is certainly our pleasure to hear that our location, facility and service meet your expectation and that you had a wonderful trip in Osaka. Thank you once again and we'll look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question