We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel New Otani Osaka

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1-4-1 Chuo-ku Shiromi, Osaka 540-8578, Osaka Prefecture
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Osaka
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel New Otani Osaka
Add Photo Write a Review

751 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    373
    281
    68
    21
    8
See reviews for
207
165
82
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (751)
  • Mar-May only
    (235)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (181)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (186)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (149)
All months
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is in a great location - away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and near to the train station. We had a lovely view of Osaka Castle from our room. The skyline is quite impressive at night. The room was large and very comfortable. While they offered tea free in the room, I though it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a very centrally located hotel with plenty of shops and restuarants in the neighbourhood. Walking distance to Osaka Castle and the park. Nearby subway stations where you could take train to Universal Studio and Shisaibashi. The room was huge and comfortable. The lobby was quiet and peaceful with vases of lovely cherry blossom. I would stay here again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel New Otani Osaka. We are really glad to know that your stay with us was pleasant one. Your words are an incentive for us to continue to focus on our goal, customer satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel New Otani Osaka during your next visit to Osaka. Manager,... More 

Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The price of this hotel seems good on the surface, but they charged us 4000 yen for the pool, which you from their webpage get an impression of as free. The gym costs 5000 yen. This is like 2-3 good dinners. We choose this place in large part of a pool we now hesitate to use - which is disappoining!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel New Otani Osaka. We are sorry that our information gave you the impression that the outdoor swimming pool and gym located in the Fitness Club in our hotel would be free of charges. Please accept our apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience caused you regarding this situation. I am consulting with the... More 

Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While the hotel is located in a business district, the location of Osaka Castle and Park are within a 2 minute walk.Very quiet and safe neighborhood. Room was larger than others we stayed at in Japan. Get view of Castle on upper floors (we stayed on 10th floor). Opening curtains after arrival at night from US and seeing castle bathed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel New Otani Osaka. It was gracious of you to make future guests aware of our ideal location with your fine review. The views of the Castle change during the various seasons, so we hope to welcome you again whenever you chance to come to our city. Manager, Hotel New Otani Osaka More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From The moment I arrived to the moment I left I had the feeling that the staff and the hotel were there for my benefit and not the other way as with so many different luxury hotels. Room was large and comfortable plenty of food and transport options locally could not fault it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Hotel New Otani Osaka. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comment regarding our service. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests is our priority, and your words are an incentive for us to continue to focus on our goal. We... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just came back from Osaka few days back. I stayed in this hotel for 1 night (20/6-21/6). I was simply awed by the hotel's service. Furthermore, the hotel is just 5mins walk from the train station and the Osaka Castle, promoting its convenience in location. I stayed in room 12-03 and the room was very big and spacious. Will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel New Otani Osaka. It is our pleasure to know you enjoyed the stay at our hotel - the location, the room and especially, our service. We appreciate your taking the time to review and recommend the New Otani to other travelers and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel next... More 

United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff are very helpful, friendly, & efficient. Rooms are large for Japan, exceptionally clean, and include a small refrigerator. Location is ideal with access to trains and (for rooms facing south) an impressive view of Osaka Castle. Definitely one of the best business hotels I've experienced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel New Otani Osaka. We are grateful to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel We really appreciate your recommendation of our hotel so highly to others on this Tripadvisor and look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon! Manager, Hotel New Otani Osaka More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015 via mobile

Very disappointed in this visit. We were very excited to stay at the new otani Osaka because of the castle views, swimming pool, bike rental and luxurious nature of the hotel. We found out upon check in, there are no longer bike rentals, to swim in the pool we would have to pay about $40aus per person and the standards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Hotel New Otani Osaka. However, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your experience at the hotel. I am afraid that the bike rental service had to be stopped due to a new national law regarding bicycles. We are celebrating our 30th anniversary very soon and are in the process of renovating our... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

1. Reception did not inform any about my membership account 2. Staff did not tell me about the charge of swimming pool 3. Staff did not tell me that it will be charge for my late check out request 4. Bathroom a bit small in size

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel New Otani Osaka. We are so sorry to hear that our service did not meet your expectations. Normally we do inform of charges to be applied in advance, but if that was not the case for you, we sincerely apologize. Thank you for making us aware of your experience, so we can... More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

I did not enjoy the location of this hotel, it is not near any train station or subway stop. It will take over one hour by bus to the Kansei airport. Not close to the rapid train to Kansei. The train stop is the Osaka loop train stop for Osaka Castle. Still a long way from the station to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are sorry to know that you were not happy with your stay. I appreciate your letting us know how you feel and regret that your stay with us did not meet with your expectations. Manager, Hotel New Otani Osaka More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

800 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (305)
Viewed
View from room (57)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (89)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (414)
Viewed
Amenities (88)
Viewed
Hana Suite (82)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (66)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (44)
Viewed
Superior Junior Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#11 of 269 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ANA Crowne Plaza Osaka
#49 of 269 in Osaka
4.0 of 5 stars 820 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay