We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel New Otani Osaka

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1-4-1 Chuo-ku Shiromi, Osaka 540-8578, Osaka Prefecture
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel New Otani Osaka
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

777 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    381
    293
    72
    23
    8
See reviews for
215
171
84
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (777)
  • Mar-May only
    (235)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (207)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (186)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (149)
All months
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We checked into a Suite Room for 3 nights. The Suite was spacious and what you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. Beautiful rooms. We had 2 young children where they had plenty of space to relax and play. The breakfast was a top 5 experience. The staff made a fuss of my birthday and called the restaurant we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel New Otani Osaka. We are really happy to know that your enjoyed your stay with us. Your words give us incentive to continue to offer the best at all times. We look forward to welcoming you back to the New Otani any time you come to Osaka! Manager, Hotel New Otani... More 

San Francisco, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If it's your first time visiting Osaka and you prefer a convenient and tourist friendly area then I wouldn't recommend this hotel. First of all this hotel is located in a business district so there isn't much going on around the area aside from the Osaka Castle. We paid around $220 per night which is highly disappointing. The hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay at the Hotel New Otani Osaka. We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are celebrating our 30th anniversary very soon and are in the process of renovating the rooms. If you have a chance to come back to Osaka, please stay with us again to experience the changes.... More 

Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They have elegant restaurants and bars within the hotel. Also nearby you may walk and eat in japanese cuisine type of places. Many rooms see the osaka castle. Staff is super and help for everything. They have seat in the lifts for elderly people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much appreciate your taking time to leave the fine review. We are waiting to welcome you to the New Otani during your next visit. Manager, Hotel New Otani Osaka More 

Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here four nights in an Executive Level Junior Suite. There is no Executive Lounge which you might expect from a comparable hotel chain such as Westin, Hyatt, or Hilton which generally offer free breakfast, afternoon tea, happy hour etc. for members staying on the "Executive Level". The suite was spacious - equivalent to a 1-BR suite - and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Hotel New Otani Osaka and for taking time to leave your comment. As we are celebrating our 30th Anniversary, we are in the process of making renovations to upgrade our rooms. Regarding the lounge on the executive floor, we hope to make it a reality as soon as we can. We are pleased to know... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was given a smoking room when check-in to the hotel instead of a non-smoking one which I asked for in the booking. Though I understand that it's not guaranteed still I didn't feel good. I'm not sure if this's the fault of the travel agent or the hotel. Anyway, with the help of the hotel staff, I was able... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel New Otani Osaka. We are so sorry that we could not offer a non-smoking room when you arrived. When we receive a non-smoking request, we do our best to arrange for it. However, those rooms are limited, and when not available, there are times we can only offer a deodorant-treated smoking... More 

Maroochydore, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in a double room for three nights and, to be honest, we thought the bathroom was rather small for a 5* hotel. However the room was good sized with adequate storage space. The facilities of this vast hotel, there are three towers, were fantastic but came at a 5* price with up to $250 pp for a steak three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel New Otani Osaka. We are happy to know that your stay with us was enjoyable. However, we are sorry that some of the aspects did not meet your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back should you have a chance to visit our city again. Manager, Hotel New Otani Osaka More 

Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was nice not great buy nice. The room was stuffy upon arrival we tried tho turn on air conditioner with little luck.air flow was minimal. We contacted guest services who told us it would take an hour for unit to kick in. It did not. Called again and they sent repairman who changed the filter buy still no air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Hotel New Otani Osaka. We are so sorry to hear of the situation regarding the air conditioning, as well as your disappointment with the prices of the restaurants, the location and the bed. We are so sorry that we could not meet your expectations, but we appreciate your taking time to let us know what... More 

Tsukuba, Japan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed many times at Hotel New Otani Tokyo, but this was the first time I stayed at New Omani Osaka. The price was affordable yet the hotel maintains the high quality of New Otani: the room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfy, and the staff helpful. In addition, the view of Osaka Castle from the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay at Hotel New Otani Osaka. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your room, location, view and especially, our hospitality. Your words give us an incentive to continue to offer the best at all times. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel New Otani Osaka! Manager, Hotel New Otani Osaka More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

This hotel is in a great location - away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and near to the train station. We had a lovely view of Osaka Castle from our room. The skyline is quite impressive at night. The room was large and very comfortable. While they offered tea free in the room, I though it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel New Otani Osaka.  It is our pleasure to know you enjoyed the stay with us and were especially pleased with the service of our bell staff and our location. As for the coffee charge, I will pass on your comment to the Board. I do appreciate your honest opinion and hope to... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

This was a very centrally located hotel with plenty of shops and restuarants in the neighbourhood. Walking distance to Osaka Castle and the park. Nearby subway stations where you could take train to Universal Studio and Shisaibashi. The room was huge and comfortable. The lobby was quiet and peaceful with vases of lovely cherry blossom. I would stay here again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelNewOtaniOsaka, 支配人 at Hotel New Otani Osaka, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel New Otani Osaka. We are really glad to know that your stay with us was pleasant one. Your words are an incentive for us to continue to focus on our goal, customer satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel New Otani Osaka during your next visit to Osaka. Manager,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

810 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (315)
Viewed
View from room (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (414)
Viewed
Amenities (88)
Viewed
Hana Suite (82)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (66)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (44)
Viewed
Superior Junior Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Osaka Station / Umeda
RIHGA Royal Hotel Osaka
Imperial Hotel Osaka
#12 of 269 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Swissotel Nankai Osaka
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Cross Hotel Osaka
Cross Hotel Osaka
#8 of 269 in Osaka
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay