We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan

3.0 of 5
395 Mongaku-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8222 , Kyoto Prefecture
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    14
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
7
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Towa. We stayed in the traditional Machita, which can host comfortably 4 to 6 people, with 2 spacious bathroom and a little private patio great to park bikes (we rented bikes close to the station at Kyoto Eco Trip http://www.kyoto-option.com/en/) The house is very clean, with great amenities, it is very quiet in a pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

This is a good and clean japanese style ryokan near the railway station. I stayed there for 2 nights. The location is convenient, and there are also a lot of japanese / western restaurants nearby. The room is spacious, staff very warm and helpful. The wifi was not very strong though. Though the room has a private toilet and bath... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
towako, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Towa. We apolpgize for taking so long to reply.We are pleasead to hear about your commnet and get a nice review. However we are sorry about wifi we will check it and fix it. When you come to Japan, we are looking forward to seeing you again, Thank you. Ayumi Abo TOWA More 

Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a quiet, clean and all new room, but unfortunately the whole structure lacks the true ryokan atmosphere since hosted in a western concrete building with a small bathroom in the basement. We had a cold bureaucratic welcome with double document check and advanced payment. We had no opportunity to try their website acclaimed dinner since we had no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
towako, マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your staying. We'd truly value the opinions of our customers and we'd apologize that we did not meet your expectations. And we'd aplogize that our website would be reconstructuring and we couldn't explain at all as well. Thank you very much for your advises and we'd keep improving and challenging. Kind... More 

Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was my first experience at a traditional hotel, and I must confess that it was amazing. We arrived on a rainy day, at the front desk we were offered with clean towels so we can dry, after we checked in we got the room keys, the room was small, cozy, clean. Please forget about your western experience here as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
towako, オーナー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our ryokan,TOWA. We are very pleased that you've understanded our culture deeply and enjoyed your stay with us here and the surroundings. We wish you all the best and of course safe travels. Sincerely, Yoshiko Ota OKAMI,director Manager TOWA.ltd. More 

Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perhaps my expectations were already managed with all the reviews saying that the ryokan is not as luxurious as what the website makes it out to be. However, for the price category (and accommodation in Kyoto is not cheap), the ryokan has done very well in terms of the friendliness and warmth of the service, the quality of food and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying at our inn, and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Our staff takes service seriously, and we strive to be the best that we can be. I hope that we will have the pleasure of your return visit in the near future! Sincerely, Yukiko Sawada TOWA.Itd. More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for a night, would have loved at least another night but unfortunately they were booked out for the whole week! The room was very traditional Japanese, we stayed in the 8 tatami mat room which was quite spacious for the 2 of us, could possibly squeeze in 4 if your luggage are small-medium (airline over-head compartment size).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice review on our property! Each employee takes pride in providing a truly positive guest experience. I hope that if you are in Kyoto in the future that we will have the opportunity to serve you. Thanks Again! Sincerely, Yukiko Sawada TOWA.Itd. More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed for a night. Towa is a more like a western hotel but in machiya style, not the traditional Ryokan. Nevertheless, I was greeted with very friendly and cheerful staff, with a complimentary matcha and sweets when I checked in. I was also given an eight-tatami mat room although I have booked a six-tatami mat room with no extra charges.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see the staff was a highlight of your visit, and you enjoyed your stay overall. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you again for your comments. Sincerely, Yukiko Sawada TOWA.Itd. More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We would highly recommend it. Stayed 3 nights - Ryokan is in a clean modern building but is otherwise very traditional Japanese. We were greeting with a semi-formal green tea while formalities were sorted and bag taken to our room. The room was traditional tatami mat, low table and futons to sleep on which we found comfortable. There was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice review on our property! Each employee takes pride in providing a truly positive guest experience. I hope that if you are in Kyoto in the future that we will have the opportunity to serve you. Thanks Again! Sincerely, Yukiko Sawada TOWA.Itd. More 

australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

stayed at this ryokan for 4 nights the location is very good easy to find and walk distance to the station found it on the internet the web page gives the impression of being up market however it is not much more than a backpacker style accomodation the room was clean but beds were hard and thin and you could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

I appreciate your kind remarks about our inn. We continually strive to offer our guests a clean and comfortable environment, as well as a warm service experience while staying with us. Again, thank you so much, and I hope that you will be staying with us again if your travels bring you through this area. Kind Regards Yukiko Sawada TOWA.Itd. More 

melbourne, australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We stayed here for one night (was booked out other nights). It was fine, clean and close to the station. The room was cute, however the vibe of the place was not really as traditional as I would have liked. I got the impression from the website that the place was really going to be impressive, but it was average.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay and your honest feedback. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. However we were a very pleased to read your comments about the room and the location of our inn. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (49)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question