We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 193 Kyoto B&Bs / inns

Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan

395 Mongaku-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8222 , Japan (Kyoto Station)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan to your Saves list
Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
73%
Ranked #85 of 193 Kyoto B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 weeks ago
Giancarlo1964 Milan, Italy
  • Overview
  • Reviews (30)
  • Photos (42)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (1)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
7
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a quiet, clean and all new room, but unfortunately the whole structure lacks the true ryokan atmosphere since hosted in a western concrete building with a small bathroom in the basement. We had a cold bureaucratic welcome with double document check and advanced payment. We had no opportunity to try their website acclaimed dinner since we had no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
towako, マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your staying. We'd truly value the opinions of our customers and we'd apologize that we did not meet your expectations. And we'd aplogize that our website would be reconstructuring and we couldn't explain at all as well. Thank you very much for your advises and we'd keep improving and challenging. Kind... More

Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was my first experience at a traditional hotel, and I must confess that it was amazing. We arrived on a rainy day, at the front desk we were offered with clean towels so we can dry, after we checked in we got the room keys, the room was small, cozy, clean. Please forget about your western experience here as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
towako, オーナー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our ryokan,TOWA. We are very pleased that you've understanded our culture deeply and enjoyed your stay with us here and the surroundings. We wish you all the best and of course safe travels. Sincerely, Yoshiko Ota OKAMI,director Manager TOWA.ltd. More

Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perhaps my expectations were already managed with all the reviews saying that the ryokan is not as luxurious as what the website makes it out to be. However, for the price category (and accommodation in Kyoto is not cheap), the ryokan has done very well in terms of the friendliness and warmth of the service, the quality of food and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying at our inn, and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Our staff takes service seriously, and we strive to be the best that we can be. I hope that we will have the pleasure of your return visit in the near future! Sincerely, Yukiko Sawada TOWA.Itd. More

Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for a night, would have loved at least another night but unfortunately they were booked out for the whole week! The room was very traditional Japanese, we stayed in the 8 tatami mat room which was quite spacious for the 2 of us, could possibly squeeze in 4 if your luggage are small-medium (airline over-head compartment size).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice review on our property! Each employee takes pride in providing a truly positive guest experience. I hope that if you are in Kyoto in the future that we will have the opportunity to serve you. Thanks Again! Sincerely, Yukiko Sawada TOWA.Itd. More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Stayed for a night. Towa is a more like a western hotel but in machiya style, not the traditional Ryokan. Nevertheless, I was greeted with very friendly and cheerful staff, with a complimentary matcha and sweets when I checked in. I was also given an eight-tatami mat room although I have booked a six-tatami mat room with no extra charges.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see the staff was a highlight of your visit, and you enjoyed your stay overall. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you again for your comments. Sincerely, Yukiko Sawada TOWA.Itd. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We would highly recommend it. Stayed 3 nights - Ryokan is in a clean modern building but is otherwise very traditional Japanese. We were greeting with a semi-formal green tea while formalities were sorted and bag taken to our room. The room was traditional tatami mat, low table and futons to sleep on which we found comfortable. There was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your nice review on our property! Each employee takes pride in providing a truly positive guest experience. I hope that if you are in Kyoto in the future that we will have the opportunity to serve you. Thanks Again! Sincerely, Yukiko Sawada TOWA.Itd. More

australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

stayed at this ryokan for 4 nights the location is very good easy to find and walk distance to the station found it on the internet the web page gives the impression of being up market however it is not much more than a backpacker style accomodation the room was clean but beds were hard and thin and you could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

I appreciate your kind remarks about our inn. We continually strive to offer our guests a clean and comfortable environment, as well as a warm service experience while staying with us. Again, thank you so much, and I hope that you will be staying with us again if your travels bring you through this area. Kind Regards Yukiko Sawada TOWA.Itd. More

melbourne, australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We stayed here for one night (was booked out other nights). It was fine, clean and close to the station. The room was cute, however the vibe of the place was not really as traditional as I would have liked. I got the impression from the website that the place was really going to be impressive, but it was average.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your stay and your honest feedback. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. However we were a very pleased to read your comments about the room and the location of our inn. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Sincerely,... More

Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

We were taken in by the wonderful website but were disappointed when we stepped into the place. It was not like the website at all. We chose to stay here for the last 2 days of our 6 day trip to be near the station because we had a morning flight....but on hindsight, there was no need to move close... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the invaluable feedback following your stay at our inn TOWA We are very sorry that it did not fix your expectations so we should have more told about our inn to you. Thank you again for your comments which is genuinely appreciated as these have been placed into our problem for future reference. We are... More

Singapore
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed at Towa Ryokan on 2 of our 5 nights in Kyoto. The website of the ryokan was impressive and misleading. The ryokan is modern and clean but not anything like the website. It is very small and had very basic facilities. The room is average but clean and modern. However, at the price charged, it would have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
towako, 広報担当マネージャー at Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property Then we would like to personally apologize for your disappointment that you experienced during your stay with us. We are very aware that travellers are looking for the best value for their hard earned money, and we are confident that, for the most part, we deliver an excellent product and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan

Address: 395 Mongaku-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture 600-8222 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Kyoto Station
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan Hotel Kyoto

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Kyoto with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer