We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Certificate of Excellence
1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    656
    289
    71
    38
See reviews for
443
556
117
156
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1571)
  • Mar-May only
    (374)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (374)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (443)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (380)
All months
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is my favorite Hotel in Kyoto. I've been there at least 10 time and the staff is very friendly and the location is perfect. On my last stay, I fell down and broke a door and made a hole in the wall. The hotel wants to charge me USD 1,800$ for it. I ask them if they had insurance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write on your recent stay with us on tripadvisor and also thank you for your loyalty towards Starwood hotels. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We value your feedback and appreciate and appreciate the thought you have put in.We continue to make space where guests could enjoy... More 

Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Have completed 3 stays here over the past 2 years and though the rooms need updating, I keep finding my way back here due to its location and ease of getting to/from the Kyoto station. Love the fact that they offer a shuttle service and also right next to the local subway stop makes this a prime location. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We trust you brought back home great memories to remember. There are many historical sites for exploration around hotel so that it is very enjoyable and relaxing to take a walk in a greenery area outside of hotel. We continue to make space where guests could... More 

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel states that check-in time is 15:00, too late in my opinion but it is what is agreed. However how can you not have your room ready at 15:00 and you are simply communicated that it will not be ready before 16:00????? Are we talking about a 4/5 star hotel? Luckily i had some friends already in the hotel and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback on your recent stay with us. We regret that we did not meet your expectation. We sincerely apologize that your room was not ready when you checked in. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Westin Miyako at the tail end of Sakura (Cherry Blossom Season). Luckily the room was booked months in advance to coincide with spring break as the hotel was fully booked upon check in. Likes - location and staff. This is a great neighborhood for exploration and the staff was very helpful when we had questions, etc.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback on your recent stay with us. We value your feedback and appreciate and appreciate the thought you have put in.We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful comfort for their stay. Thank you for... More 

Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

it is very close to some very famous Kyoto cherry blossom spots. - Keage Incline is just right next to the hotel. - Okazaki canal cruise - Okazaki park - Heian Jingu Shrine - Philosopher's path Cheery blossom is amazingly beautiful everywhere near the hotel. the best thing to stay at Westin Miyako Kyoto is that you can beat the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
54 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were small and sorely in need of refreshing. The carpet was stained, the furniture chipped, and the staff in the restaurant was completely overwhelmed each day at breakfast. We also did the buffet one day for lunch and they ran out of food constantly and didn't refill for ages. This isn't a new hotel so I don't understand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto. We regret that we did not meet your expectation. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful comfort... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at The Westin Miyako in early April 2015 for a conference. Check in was smooth. I was met by the taxi by a bell girl who escorted me and my luggage to check in and to my room. The hotel is very large, huge even. Many long corridors, almost like a labyrinth. My fantasy wandered to computer games... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. We trust you brought back home great memories to remember. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for a lot of good comments. We continue to make space where guests could enjoy a relaxed and satisfying experience. We... More 

Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel exceeded expectations and is a solid 4-star. Here's what we liked: (1) good location and close to good dining, temples, subway; (2) very attentive service from the valet, front desk, concierge, etc.; (3) large comfortable rooms with a nice size bathroom and shower and plenty of closet space; (4) immediate taxi service; (5) easy luggage storage; (6) included... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback on your recent stay with us.We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We value your feedback in regards to fitness and appreciate the thought you have put in. We shall discuss internally.We hope that you had a memorable stay with us and appreciate your feedback... More 

Highworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were clean but badly need updating, furniture chipped and scratched and had lino on the bathroom floors etc - not what you expect from a hotel of this standard. However, we enjoyed our stay, meals and service were very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback on your recent stay with us. We regret that we did not meet your expectation. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out.We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful comfort for their stay. Thank you for your feedback again.We look forward to welcoming... More 

Lima, Peru
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were impressed by the good looks from the outside of the hotel, and kind of disappointed by the internal accommodations. The lobby was impressive, but if you look carefully you could see most of The furniture old and with signs of lots of use. In my room which was no smoking but smelled like Marlboro, the furniture was old... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto and also thank you for your feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectation. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful comfort for their stay. Thank... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Shuttle buses(7)
  • Very good(4)
  • Very nice(4)
  • Train station(3)
  • Heavenly beds(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

753 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (735)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (136)
Viewed
View from room (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (171)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Family/play areas (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (271)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question