We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Miyako Kyoto

4.0 of 5 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    614
    274
    70
    35
See reviews for
412
522
109
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1476)
  • Mar-May only
    (316)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (374)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (443)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (343)
All months
Mooloolaba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights on our recent trip to Kyoto. We found the hotel to be fantastic. The food was delicious and the decor was very nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We continue to make space where guests could enjoy a relaxed and satisfying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my wife and 2 year old daughter and its a great hotel for the price. We had a fantastic dinner in the teppanyaki restaurant with good quality food and the chef put on a great show. Its pretty well located for sightseeing and easy to access the philosophers path for cherry blossom viewing as well as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for a lot of good comments. We continue to make space where guests could enjoy a relaxed and satisfying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel 6 times now. Some rooms are old and tired but the majority are not. The executive club rooms are big, cosy and luxurious. The beds are super comfy, pillows are good, bathrooms with dual basins, lounge area and access to the club lounge. The position is what brings me back. It's close to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. For your comfort and good rest, all our rooms are equipped with the Heavenly Bed., so you can enjoy a pleasant night’s sleep, feeling like you are on top of the clouds.We value... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very efficient, good breakfast, and used the shuttle bus to get to and from the city of Kyoto, the Hotel seemed quite away from the main area of Kyoto. You expect good service and get it from a Westin Hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto.We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for a lot of good comments. We continue to make space where guests could enjoy a relaxed and satisfying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Standard rooms, nice breakfast but packed with people and children running around, we tried to have dinner after 9pm, but the only restaurant open was the one on the first floor and the choice was extremely limited and food quality was average, sort of room service food eaten in the restaurant. Staff members' English is poor and this makes everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We regret that we did not meet your expectation. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with... More 

Metro Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just read the reviews now and didnt realize the hotel had a mini-bus that could take us places. Was it mentioned in any of the hotel publications? Front office staff exceeded our expectations in trying to find a way for us to use our starwood points to extend our stay in the hotel. Many thanks for the help. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.A complimentary courtesy shuttle bus regularly runs between Kyoto Station HACHIJO Exit and the hotel. Thank you for a lot of good comments. We continue to make space where guests could enjoy a relaxed... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

check in wasn't so smooth. i felt that the male front desk wasn't at all friendly. perhaps he was on a bad day. but on check out, i was greeted by a friendly female staff , which made up for it. the bellboy was very very helpful. we had 2 huge and heavy suitcases and two other small suitcases. as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our gardens.Kasuien is an outstanding example of traditional noble Japanese house, has 20 Japanese rooms. Its gardens and guest rooms give a true sense of refined harmony within nature.We value your feedback and appreciate and appreciate... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is nestled into the surrounding mountains and a short walk from a nearby temple which was beautiful to explore. We enjoyed the Grand View restaurant and the SPG service at the executive floor. However, the rooms were tired, the beds were hard and the pillows uncomfortable. It didn't seem to meet the standards of a westin, and having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback on your recent stay with us. We regret that we did not meet your expectation. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful... More 

Weston, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a frequent traveler I use SPG hotels frequently. Westin is one of them and Westin Madrid is a great reference of what a Westin hotel should be. Westin Miyako Kyoto is a huge resort type hotel. While it's clearly getting old it still holds a lot of sophistication in several areas of the hotel. A for the service.... You... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write on your recent stay with us on tripadvisor and also thank you for your loyalty towards Starwood hotels.We regret that we did not meet your expectation. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A complimentary shuttle bus is provided every half hour, but not late into evening. The instructions on the website on how to find the bus stop on arrival at Kyoto JR station are poor. We gave up in the end and got the metro instead. This hotel was about a 15 minute walk to the lively part of town. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback on your recent stay with us.We value your feedback in regards to restraunt and appreciate the thought you have put in. We apologize that our restaurant was not what you expected. I told them your feedback. We will improve our service and make an effort to welcome guests more. Hope that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Westin Miyako Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Shuttle buses(10)
  • Train station(6)
  • Very good(6)
  • Very nice(5)
  • Heavenly beds(3)

Additional Information about The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Address: 1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Miyako Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Miyako Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Miyako Kyoto Hotel Kyoto
Westin Miyako Kyoto
Westin Kyoto
Kyoto Westin
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kyoto
#7 Business Hotel in Kyoto
#15 Family Hotel in Kyoto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
#32 Romantic Hotel in Kyoto

700 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (682)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (160)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (131)
Viewed
View from room (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (246)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay