We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Certificate of Excellence
1 Awadaguchi Kachocho, Higashiyama-ku | Sanjo Keage, Kyoto 605-0052, Kyoto Prefecture
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Westin Miyako Kyoto
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    666
    295
    74
    38
See reviews for
454
571
117
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1602)
  • Mar-May only
    (405)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (374)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (443)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (380)
All months
North Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spacious clean suite. Room was ready early so we could drop off our luggage and explore Kyoto. Stafff friendly and attentive. Restaurant food was good. Ordered Udon noodles for dinner. Portion was so large we could have easily split one order. Buffet breakfast was also good (Japanese and American choices). Location was great. Next to subway station and zoo. Nijo... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked this hotel seeing very decent reviews from the internet. Hotel is feeling a little old. Air conditioning system definitely needs an upgrade even though we were in the executive rooms. The only thing that we could control was the temperature. No option to adjust the fan speed or humidity control. There was a lack of power points in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

So the good news. Outstanding location just a 15 minute stroll to Pontucho or Gion. Surrounded by parkland. A big dated, but has benefited from a revamp of the entrance way. Rooms are clean and ample sized by Japanese standards. Well priced and seemed attracted to by tourists and businessmen. We greatly enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff. Spotless rooms. Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family of three stayed here for two nights and it met our needs nicely. We were upgraded to a two room suite with access to the executive lounge. Both the living room and bedroom of our suite were nicely and comfortably appointed. A bonus was a huge walk in closet. We were able to put all of our "stuff"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for a lot of good comments. We continue to make space where guests could enjoy a relaxed and satisfying experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the... More 

sydney
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a large hotel that is next to beautiful hills and a large park. Also nearby, is a couple of the walks that take you alongside temples - really a good experience. We had the buffet breakfast downstairs one morning and it's 27 Yen/person - really good. The view from the terrace upstairs is panoramic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We trust you brought back home great memories to remember.We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stayiing in our hotel.The view from the room is extraordinary but also all our guest are able to access to the terrace on the 9th floor to see the beautiful landscape. We look... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are currently staying at the Westin Tokyo (mid-May). We must echo the sentiments of previous reviews on Tripadvisor and say that hotel falls well short in terms of service and facilities of other Westin properties. The worst of it was after checking-in, when we were told our luggage would be sent up to our room. However, after a 40-min... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you very much for staying with us while you were in an ancient city, Kyoto. We regret that we did not meet your expectation. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. I told them your feedback. We will improve our service and make an effort to welcome guests more. We hope we could... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time in Kyoto and The Westin Miyako did not disappoint. Fast check-in, staff was friendly and very attentive. Hotel grounds were gorgeous this time of year. The Bird Sanctuary and Trail is a must...wear plenty of bug repellent! Strongly encourage you to stay in Japanese-Style Room. You'll love the experience, Bvlgari Guest Amenities, and the beautiful garden views. Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant staying in Japanese room. Kasuien, is an outstanding example of traditional noble Japanese house, has 20 Japanese rooms. Its gardens and guest rooms give a true sense of refined harmony within nature. We continue... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Westin in April 2015 for 3 nights and we thought we paid way to much for what we got. The service is very poor/average, the buffet is not good, not very clean. The room, although large and very nice, felt stuffy from the old carpet. They charged us a lot for renting bikes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto.We regret that we did not meet your expectation. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out. We sincerely apologize that this stay could not make you comfortable and relax. We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful comfort for... More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So this was probably one of the older Westins I've stayed in and the hotel (despite hints of its former grandeur) is in need of a major refurbishment. However, generally there was nothing to complain as the hotel was maintained reasonably well. The hotel itself was located beyond the main dining / shopping areas but right in the middle of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto and also thank you for your feedback. Your feedback had been reported to general manager after checking out.We will improve our service more to provide our guests with delightful comfort for their stay. Thank you for your feedback again. More 

Northbrook, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room we had at this hotel was fine but nothing luxurious if you don't count the amazing Toto toilet in the bathroom. The hotel is within walking distance of some museums, but not close to some major attractions. The better restaurants are a cab ride away. The worst part of this hotel was the main restaurant. The service and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westin_Miyako, Front Office Manager at The Westin Miyako Kyoto, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us while you were in a beautiful city, Kyoto and also thank you for your feedback.We value your feedback and appreciate and appreciate the thought you have put in.We regret that our service did not meet your expectation in the restaurant. I told them your feedback. We will improve our service and make an effort... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

761 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (743)
Viewed
Room/suite (173)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (136)
Viewed
View from room (59)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Family/play areas (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (278)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay