We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kyoto Century Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel website
680 Higashi Shiokoji-cho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Announcement
Click for details
Kyoto Century Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #69 of 342 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
tomstott23 Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    177
    64
    5
    3
See reviews for
114
93
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (342)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (87)
All months
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you're in Kyoto for a few days & want a no-nonsense hotel offering fantastic service and clean/pleasant rooms for a fair price then this is your place. Its literally a couple of minutes walk from the main Kyoto train station where the trains & buses can take you anywhere you care to visit. Food in the hotel is a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
京都センチュリーホテルBL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tomstott23; Assalamu alaikum from Kyoto! We appreciate you a lot for staying with us and for giving us such a nice feedback. Local food is one of the most important pleasure of a trip, isn't it? We are proud of our convenient location not only in the sense of transportation hub but also multiple restaurant choices. The main eateries... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel located on the right side of the Kyoto Station entrance is a nice hotel with class. Worth the money. Our room is pretty big comes with a sofa as well. Recommended. We only manage to get 1 night here as its full. For subsequent night, we moved to another hotel in front of Kyoto Station - New Hankyu.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
京都センチュリーホテルBL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Garry PF; Hello from Kyoto!!! Thank you very much for giving us 5 points. We feel so proud and delighted to know that we could meet your expectation. Now we are promoting a grand remodeling project of our hotel building. Because it has already been aged and it is necessary to renew and improve it in order to suit... More 

Texas
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Right next to the Kyoto Central Station, which was enormously convenient,as we came straight from Narita via Tokyo on the Shinkansen. Hospitality is a way of life in Japan, and it is very hard to not find a very gracious person at the other end of most interactions. Breakfast was great. The view from our room was good, not spectacular.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
京都センチュリーホテルBL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review

Dear docntx; We appreciate you a lot for your time and effort to share your experience. We are so happy to know that your stay was enjoyable. Thank you for mentioning about our invincible location! Because of being so close to Kyoto station, the view from our hotel is not spectacular. But some people describe the view of the Shinkansens... More 

Noosa Heads
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a great hotel, within easy walking distance of Kyoto station. The rooms were newly refurbished and well appointed. It offers western and Japanese style restaurants - we were so impressed by the fantastic Japanese breakfasts! Very close to some great restaurants and shopping malls. You can't go wrong with this one!

Was this review helpful? Yes
京都センチュリーホテルBL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily V; Greetings from Kyoto!! We are so glad to know that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast. We got the second prize of the popular breakfast contest of Japanese major hotel booking site. Our specialties are foie gras rice bowl and roasted beef. Variety of small desserts might please your eyes and stomach! Another option for breakfast close to... More 

Paris, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three nights in this charming hotel. Ideally situated near Kyoto station, the only caveat was the insane amount of dining options around. Reception staff was very helpful and friendly, breakfast buffet was okay - it could have had more vegetarian options but that is unfortunately quite common in Japan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
京都センチュリーホテルBL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ltomte; Thank you very much for giving us such a nice comment on us. As you mentioned, the vegetarianism is not very common in Japan yet. Therefore we don't have enough variety of vegetarian dishes for our breakfast buffet. We are sorry for the inconvenience you felt during your stay. We are also thankful for your suggestion and I... More 

Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

i stayed in the hotel with one group of 7 persons. You feel like early 1980 hotel but it was clean and well managed. The room was big enough compared to newest hotel. The good thing it is NOT smell old. We stayed 3 night without complaint so everything was still good condition. The location is perfect if you would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
京都センチュリーホテルBL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nia01; Thank you very much for choosing us and leaving a nice feedback here! It is exactly as you say that our hotel is not new. It is aged. It has been here over 80 years. Now we are proceeding the refurbishment project of our hotel. The lobby and restaurants have already been renewed. Also we have introduced redecorated... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

Our trip in Kyoto was pleasurable. Hotel was only minutes away from the main station and the check in process was swift. Moreover, one of the cloak staff members (sumransubsin) was extremely helpful to us with restaurant booking, explaining to us the routes and the transportation passes. Her excellent customer service and patient have made our stay very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
京都センチュリーホテルBL, 宿泊課 at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bonvoyage_vc; Thank you very much for staying with us this March. We apprecaite a lot for your valuable comment. I was so delighted because you remembered me and you left such a kind comment on me. Since our hotel is located next to Kyoto station and very close to the city bus terminal, it is very convenient to explore... More 

Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, we had to book through a travel agent as the hotel doesn't seems to have a direct email for bookings. We had booked 2 interconnecting non smoking rooms which I had double checked with the travel agent, which she confirmed with the hotel, however when we arrived we had been put in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
京都センチュリーホテルBL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Austrip; Thank you very much for staying with us for 5 nights and sharing your opinion here!!! We would like to inform you that you can book our rooms directly on our homepage. We have our booking system on line and we provide best rates on it. If you prefer 2 interconnecting rooms, please book 2 standard twin bed... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
106 hotel reviews
583 helpful votes 583 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We booked our room 3-months in advance on Expedia with a pre-paid but fully refundable rate for $89 (10,500 Yen) per night. Our room booked was a non-smoking standard twin. To be honest, with such a good rate, I was a little worried what we might be staying in, but those concerns were unfounded. I think there are 3 critical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
京都センチュリーホテルBL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Usflyer; We appreciate you a lot for your detailed and useful advises to other guests and to us. We felt so delighted and honored to read that you described us a "GREAT" value for money. To find our hotel, please look for Karasuma main exit of Kyoto station. If you see the Kyoto Tower in front of you, you... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Stayed here over the January 17 weekend. Paid more for the free buffet breakfast and an upgraded room on the 'comfort' floor. Breakfast - paid an extra $10/night per person for this and it was worth it. Really a big spread of food, Asian and Western... everything you want and more. Comfort Floor - I expected to be 'wowed' by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
京都センチュリーホテルBL, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto Century Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve J; Thank you very much for staying with us. We deeply appreciate you for the time and effort you spent to share your experience. We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our breakfast and staff. Nevertheless, we sincerely apologize that our service, especially our room, didn't meet your expectations. The housekeeping team made the check... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

186 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (69)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question