We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Watazen

Certificate of Excellence
413 Izutsuyacho, Rokkaku Sagaru, Yanaginobaba, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8113 , Kyoto Prefecture
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Watazen
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Watazen
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    51
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
57
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (169)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I are both happy that we spent the night at WATAZEN RYOKAN. We felt that it was great for a ONE night experience, but no more than that. We checked in and then went out for dinner. The hotel is in a kind of middle class nieghborhood so we got a good feel for how people live... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Watazen for 5 nights and it was wonderful. From the JR Kyoto station it is just a short subway ride and walk to the hotel - with the help of goggle maps we had no trouble finding it the first time and we didn't have any trouble finding it without map help when coming and going during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying at Watazen. We are so happy you enjoyed staying and touring in Kyoto. The bus lines in Kyoto, they are not simple. You took bus very well. There many places to see in Kyoto. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Thanks again. More 

Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was big but the wifi was not working all the time, loud neighbors having fun with their doors open all the time.....and the breakfast....one cup of coffee and one egg???? When we arrived we were gladly surprised with a lucky draw, which ended up being a WOW MAN!!!! A plastic pen.....What's that, a kind of joke?? definitely I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying at Watazen. Free Wi-Fi is available everywhere in our ryokan. There some frequencies. Please check the most strong one. In only winter and summer time, we offer continental breakfast. It is very simple one. Thank you for your comments. More 

Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
45 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's my 2nd time staying in Watazen, I'm so happy with every time and I'm sure I would keep staying in here! After the renovation (we checked in from the 1st day it reopened), I love their new lobby, classic with good taste. Room, room service, public bath, breakfast, staff, all I would give rank 5. Location rank 5 as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying at Watazen again. And thank you for your wonderful comment. It made happy everyone of our stuff. We are looking forward to seeing you in near future. Thanks again! More 

HK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Watazen Ryokan is an additional experience of our Japan trip. Staffs are accommodating and services are superb. Room are large enough for our family of four plus our big luggages. You get to sleep in a mattress (futon) all prepared for you when you arrived after a long day. They have free breakfast from 7-8:30am, about 3-4 types of bread... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review

Thank you for your staing at watazen. Watazen locates center of Kyoto city. It takes you about 10 minutes on foot from subway Shijo station. There are some steps where you can not take elevator or escalator. If you have big luggage, we are so sorry but, we recommend to take taxi. We offer free continental breakfast only at the... More 

Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Watazen. We were there for two nights and found it to be very relaxing. The Japanese breakfast was very good, and the service was excellent. The front staff was very professional and very helpful. Great location! Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying at Watazen. And, thank you for your wonderful comment. We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast. We are looking forward to seeing you again. More 

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

We stayed at this ryokan as a family of 4 and enjoyed our time very much. The service was very good and we particularly enjoyed the onsen attached which was very soothing after a tiring day, although it was slightly hot for me personally. Since we stayed during their low season, the price was very reasonable and meant that we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying at Watazen. We are so glad you enjoyed Japanese bath. In this winter, we have much snow some places. It was very happy we could help you. We hope we can serve you again when you visit Japan. Thanks again. More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

The place is really convenient (you can take bus from outside kyoto station there) and you just have to walk about 5-10 to reach. There's optional breakfast for 1,080 yen (I think the traditional one is great, worth a try at least. There's free coffee and bread for all in the morning as well.) and also a public bath at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying at Watazen. Did you enjoy tour in Kyoto? We offer traditional breakfast. "Tofu" of Kyoto is very special for Japanese guests not also the guests from abraod. Please, try Kaiseki dinner next time. We are looking forward to seeing you again. More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

I originally stayed at this Ryokan around 5 years ago with a friend of mine and really enjoyed the stay. I returned for a second time with my parents recently. It's located in a great area with walking distance to most shops, train stations, temples and restaurants. The beds were very comfortable to sleep in, the housekeeper was very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying again at Watazen. We are very glad that you enjoyed public bath. There are many places to see in Kyoto city. We are looking forward to seeing you again. More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We were a party of 4 women (2 English and 2japanese) and we stayed 2 nights at this lovely inn. We were all impressed with the standard of service and the friendly attention at this hotel. The room was a good size and the meal served in our room was outstanding. I would definitely recommend a stay at this gem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
watazen, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Watazen, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay at Watazen. We are so glad to hear you. We are looking forward to seeing you again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
3:32
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question