We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kyoto Traveler's Inn

91 Okazaki Enshojicho, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 606-8344, Kyoto Prefecture
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kyoto Traveler\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cheap, clean, and good service. A little far from downtown but close enough to walk to numerous sites. Stayed here a couple of times. The hotel is located on the north east part of the city. I start my sightseeing early in the morning and walk all the way down from site to site until Sanjusan Temple. From there you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank World1day
Gifu, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My stay at Kyoto traveller Inn was great. The place is close to the heart of city by walking or subway. In my case, I am order room with Japanese style for two people. However, I got room that enough for six people. Too larger so we feel loosing intimate.

Helpful?
Thank Nendi2015
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear ryan8846 Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, and apprecite very much to take your time and write a long review. We will work on our best to make every guest want to come back and stay with us. I hope you enjoyed Kyoto. If so, please try every season. It is quite interesting to see... More 

Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

This inn can fulfill all your basic needs and on top of it provides some bonus features. Definitely not 5-star hotel services and hardware but if you just need a bed, a place to rest and a big japanese style public bathroom this is definitely the place for you. It is closer to a ryokan than a hotel to be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ryan8846
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear ryan8846 Thank you very much for staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, and apprecite very much to take your time and write a long review. We will work on our best to make every guest want to come back and stay with us. I hope you enjoyed Kyoto. If so, please try every season. It is quite interesting to see... More 

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

We had a room in the top floor. Unfortunately the hotel doesn't have an elevator. Therefore we had to carry the luggage by ourself up. The room was tiny and ugly. In the bathroom was mold. The room faced the backyard and was above the area where people smoked. So opening the window to get some fresh air, was not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travelphysics
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear travelphysics Thank you very much for staying with us and giving us some constructive advice. Some of the points you mentioned such as Wi-Fi situation and bathroom, we are in the process of fixing right away. We apologize that you were not happy to stay at our place. We always encourage guests to let us know right away if... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

My stay at Kyoto Traveller's Inn was amazing! Getting There We arrived at Kansai Airport got an ICOCA train pass / tickets from the building across the terminal. You will not miss it at the second level across. From Kanzai airport we got off at Kyoto Station. We took the Green Line and transferred to the yellow line and got... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ziggy S
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ziggy S Thank you very much for staying us and commenting about us with such a nice positive words. We do hope that you liked Kyoto. Next year, we will start making a change little by little so please come back again and stay with us. Sincerely, Izumi Nakagawa More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015 via mobile

Room is cozy and comfortable everything is ok except the bathroom is too small you have to struggle while taking a bath all of staff are friendly and helpful hotel are placed near the attraction point so it is easy to travel by bus nor buy subway . Worth the money.

Helpful?
Thank Siwat T
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear SiwatT Thank you very much for the nice comments and staying at Kyoto Traveler's Inn. We do hope that you enjoyed Kyoto. Please come back again to explore its deeper culture. Happy Holidays, Sincerely, Izumi Nakagawa More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015 via mobile

The only modern thing in this hotel is the reception. The staff is friendly, speaks English and can help with bus stops etc. However, the price we paid for our room did not correspond with anything we actually experienced. Too expensive for what you get. Luckily we took our backpacks as we had to carry them via stairs to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank ZombieFungus2014
京都トラベラーズイン, マネージャー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear ZombieFungus2014 Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your constructive comments. It is always very important to hear guest's comments so that we can work better in the future. We are sorry for your dissatisfaction. Otherwise, we do hope that you enjoyed Kyoto. Sincerely, General Manager Naomi Ueno More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

3 girls travelling together. The bathroom was tiny and looked like something from a boat! The room smelt like it had once been a smoking room. It was however cheap and did everything we needed it to. Friendly hotel staff and reception area, no lifts, although they carried our bags up for us. Anna

Helpful?
Thank Anna W
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Anna W Thank you very much for choosing Kyoto as destination for your travel with your girlfriends. Hope it was a safe and fun trip. We really appreciate your review, however, sorry that we did not meet your satisfaction. We will promise to serve you better in the future. Otherwise, hope Kyoto is a city that you would... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

Visited this place in early September just after schools had began. The place was easy to find with my map. Bus took me 400m from it. There are other busses that stop like 150m from the front door. The staff was at the reception when I came and I got the room sometime later. So I took a stroll in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lawrison I
京都トラベラーズイン, 支配人 at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Lawrison I Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a review. We hope you enjoyed Kyoto and please come back again to experience deep culture of Kyoto. Sincerely, General Manager Naoki Ueno More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

We have stayed here twice and really appreciate the friendly and helpful staff. The bright and cheerful cafe, and the balcony, are great places to enjoy breakfast. The hotel is convenient for public transport and it is only a short walk to Heian Shrine.

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
京都トラベラーズイン, オーナー at Kyoto Traveler's Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Barbara H Thank you very much for staying with us again. We hope you enjoyed Kyoto this time as well. Sincerely, Izumi Nakagawa More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (109)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Southern Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
Urban Hotel Kyoto
#161 of 347 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
Hotel Gimmond Kyoto
#113 of 347 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#68 of 347 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
APA Hotel Kyoto Eki Horikawadori
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
Hotel Sunroute Kyoto
#90 of 347 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
City Center
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
Hearton Hotel Kyoto
#109 of 347 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay