We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Sanjyo Agaru Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8005, Kyoto Prefecture
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    406
    177
    51
    19
See reviews for
153
309
79
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (846)
  • Mar-May only
    (217)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (177)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (277)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (175)
All months
California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Centrally located Very pleasant hotel staff, always smiling and greeting you. Room is very small and the shower celing lower than normal. Bed is very hard but let them know and they will add a cushion to the mattress. It's still hard but at least your body parts won't fall asleep through the night. Room was rather small but large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Clean good looking hotel, the rooms we had were on the 8th floor mine a single was ok as I was able to open the window as place like a hothouse, unfortunately my wife and daughters room window wouldn't open so they suffered. Although kettle provided as a westerner the only option of green tea was very poor. The breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This large hotel is very conveniently located. The rooms are not large, but reasonable for a Japanese hotel. The staff were very helpful and provided sheets showing all the main attractions and how to reach them by public transport from the hotel . The room was rather warm, and there seemed to be no responsive air conditioning control. However we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Granite Bay, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First, the employees were excellent, especially the concierges. All spoke English. The breakfast buffet (which was included) was served in the restaurant downstairs and was also excellent. The reason for my poor rating of this hotel is that the only way to get cool air into the VERY hot room was to open (out) the wall-length window. At 1:00 AM... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel is an older hotel, but we found the room a good size for a Japanese hotel. It had all the convencies you would have expected in a 4 star hotel. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to provide assistance. Only problem we confronted was a small one they did hot have "western" tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Frank, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location and service from our staff. We apologize that we offer only Japanese tea service in our rooms. Although I’m sure that our staff found a way to accommodate you. If you do return to Kyoto... More 

Caboolture, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

my husband and I have stayed here twice and will go back again. Convenient location, rooms not too small, bed a little hard for me. Highly recommend. Meals in restaurant are very good and also good restaurants near by. Great pizza shop in lane behind, Il Campo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Xzft, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you are returning guests and that you enjoyed our location, but that you were disappointed with the firmness of your bed. We wish that we would have been made aware of this sooner so that we could have addressed... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in an excellent location. Few minutes to the subway, shops, excellent bars and restaurants and the famous old streets and the riverbank. Within walking distance to Gion area and some famous temples. Check out good restaurants with the concierge. Service is excellent. The room is big and clean. We asked for a quiet room and were put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Celine, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location but that you were disappointed with the price you had to pay. Sakura is an expensive time of year to visit Kyoto. It is after all a unique sight. There are seasons when you seem... More 

Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very good stay at the Kyoto Royal. The room was very clean well presented. There is always taxi just outside so if you ever need to get somewhere quickly, theres always a taxi. I would definitely recommend this place to family and friends!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tom, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you enjoyed our location and the proximity to public transportation. You may have noticed that we are located within walking distance of so many of Kyoto’s main attractions and only one block away from the river and only minutes away from... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we stayed here for 3 nights, the rooms are small, but well maintained and clean. We had breakfast in an area laid aside for tour bus parties, it was good but sometimes if you got there late the hot breakfast was cold. It is in the main shopping area with lots of shops and restaurants, so really ideally situated

Was this review helpful? Yes
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jeff, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We’re glad to read that you appreciated our location close to Kyoto’s main shopping area and to so many shops and restaurants. I understand you were disappointed with several of our service offerings. We apologize for the fact that our restaurant seemed crowded. Sakura is our... More 

Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a good hotel, clean and spacious rooms, great location (close to train station, bus stops, cafes and restaurants), good bar downstairs. It loses a star because it was expensive, although obviously not expensive enough for us not to pay, and reflected other hotels being full because it was cherry-blossom season. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Stonerose, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location but that you were disappointed with the price you had to pay. Sakura is an expensive time of year to visit Kyoto. It is after all a unique sight. As you have noticed that we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

158 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (142)
Viewed
Bathroom (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question