We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa

Sanjyo Agaru Kawaramachi, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8005, Kyoto Prefecture
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    416
    182
    53
    19
See reviews for
157
317
81
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (864)
  • Mar-May only
    (235)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (177)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (277)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (175)
All months
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We loved Kyoto and had a comfortable room as well. Off the main road so room was guiet and very clean. Not large, typical for Japan. Long walk to the room from lift but expected given size. Helpful reception staff, friendly even when busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tel Aviv
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our room was newly furbished, but rather small. We had a full-sized bath, but the bathroom was altogether small, and there were few amenities. However, there was a delicious selection of local and Western dishes for both breakfast and dinner. The service was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke good English. Hotel was in a great location and the room was a fair size for three people especially for Japan. Would have liked a safe in the room as it was a bit of a hassle to keep going to front desk for my valuables. Hotel could do with a fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Our first room was very standard. Small but clean and comfortable. Experienced problems with the lock shortly after checking in. Staff were very quick to respond. After changing rooms to a double room which was the only available, we were promised an upgrade to the suite and provided breakfast vouchers. The suite was very spacious and comfortable. Overall, would recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location and proximity to so many of Kyoto’s sights and our neighborhood. We’re sorry that you had issues with your initial room, yet happy it turned out to your satisfaction. Thank you also for mentioning the service you... More 

Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

About five or ten minutes walk from Sanjo station, walkable to Pontocho and Gion. There are about six bus stops near the hotel, from which you can get on buses to go to the main sights. The hotel concierge has a very handy sheet which details the bus numbers (and where to catch it from, and where to alight) and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Rex, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location and proximity to so many of Kyoto’s sights and our neighborhood. Thank you also for mentioning the service you received from our Concierge. As you may have noticed we are located within walking distance of so many... More 

Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

what a dispoointment: the location and the name are great, but the hotel is totally run down ! old Windows, small rooms, plastic bathrooms, no service, to avoid absolutely the structure needs a complete refurbishment nice touch: you can rent bikes in yje lobby

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gildas, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you appreciated our location, but we apologize for the fact that you were disappointed with the comfort of your room. We have been undergoing a renovation program, unfortunately not all rooms have been done. We apologize if you did not... More 

St. Asaph, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for four nights as part of a tour and enjoyed the stay in this hotel. The room was comfortable and the included breakfast was very good with both western and Japanese options. Although very busy in the morning the staff were polite and very courteous at all times with tables being cleared quickly to help smooth the flow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jan, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you appreciated our location, but we apologize for the fact that you were disappointed with the comfort of your room. We have been undergoing a renovation program, unfortunately not all rooms have been done. We apologize if you did not... More 

Glen Ellen, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got off to a poor start when we checked in. The desk clerk acted like there was a long line waiting behind us, no one was. He did smile at the end and that was probably because I had an irritated look on my face. The hotel is situated well. We enjoyed being able to walk to good restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jan, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you appreciated our location, but we apologize for the fact that you were disappointed with the comfort of your room. We have been undergoing a renovation program, unfortunately not all rooms have been done. We apologize if you did not... More 

Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with my daughter on May 1, and the whole experience was excellent. The room was impeccably clean and the staff courteous and accommodating. The room was spacious and modern and I got a great nights sleep. The location is superb with easy access to the mass transit system and the downtown sights. Will stay here again if I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bruce, Thank you for your generous comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are thankful that you appreciated our location and proximity to so many of Kyoto’s sights and our neighborhood. Thank you also for mentioning the comfort of your accommodations and service from our staff. As you may have noticed we are located within walking distance... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The plus of this hotel is the location, it's close to Everything and easy to get around. The lobby was the nicest thing in the hotel the rooms was old and dated and nothing impressive and bathroom was small. We had a comfortable night stay as we did checked in late ans basically slept for the night, might consider another... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IshinHotelsWest, Manager at Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to read that you appreciated our location, but we apologize for the fact that you were disappointed with the comfort of your room. We wish that we would have been made aware of this sooner so that we could have addressed this for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

164 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (148)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities