We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Nijojo-mae, Horikawa-dori, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-0055, Kyoto Prefecture
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    343
    131
    46
    13
See reviews for
189
240
87
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (729)
  • Mar-May only
    (223)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (155)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (192)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (159)
All months
There are newer reviews for ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Banstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A pleasant hotel of good quality with staff who mostly spoke reasonable English. Easy walking distance to the Nijo Castle which is definitely worth a visit. There. Is a shuttle bus to and from the train station about every 20 minutes. The bus stops a little way beyond the taxi rank and has the hotel name on the side. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We stayed five nights in this centrally located hotel across from Nijo Castle. We were given a room with the view of Nijo (nice!) with twin beds each big enough to accommodate two very skinny people. The hotel itself was quiet, but the external traffic had a regular ambulance screeching outside our open window. We kept the window open every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

I paid JPY 15,000/night for bed and breakfast stay. The location was easy to get to: either a 5 minute taxi ride or there is a free shuttle service from the train station. I've stayed in other hotels in Kyoto before but wanted to stay somewhere nicer and as this was for a special occasion, I was expecting a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear haikugirl_uk, Thank you for the candid review. We are glad to hear you found our location convenient. We are truly sorry, we fell short of your expectations and regret that you were not fully satisfied with the room you received. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve the quality of our... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

Great location right opposite the castle. Pick up service from bullet train very good - leaves from outside McDonald's. Restaurants in hotel quite expensive as is the lobby bar. Biggest issue was BBC and cnn have Japanese voice overs which makes it impossible to hear the channels and there is no cable TV.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

A few weeks ago we (my wife, my 3 year old daughter, my wife’s parents and I) visited Kyoto. Arriving at about 11:30 AM in the morning after a red eye flight from Bangkok we used the shuttle bus from the station. That is a great treat and the driver is extremely professional and very friendly. May be he is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear szplsr, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We always strive to provide great service and comfortable accommodations to all of our guests, especially our loyal IHG Rewards Club Platinum Members and we appreciate your positive comments on the services rendered by our shuttle driver. However, it seems that we were not able to... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Stayed here recently for two nights. The locations ok, but not great, but the free shuttle bus helps here. Very helpful friendly staff. Very nice clean rooms, at a fair price. Didn't try the restaurants or room service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

This is lovely hotel to stay at of you are visiting Kyoto. It is conveniently located immediately opposite Nijo Castle (a must place for tourists to visit), is close to the Metro station, the rooms are large and well laid out. If you want a room with a view overlooking Nijo Castle, this costs extra. The breakfast (western style buffet)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cambridge, UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
73 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Very close to a subway station, and whilst not in the centre of the tourist attractions for Kyoto, public transportation makes it easy to get around. There's also a few cafés, bars and restaurants nearby if you need an alternative to the very nice, but expensive, hotel options. Staff were super helpful, and very accommodating with our one-year old child,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

My husband and I stayed here with our 8 month old baby in late January for two nights. The staff were extremely helpful and very patient with my sometimes slow Japanese! While I think every aspect of the service was excellent, the room was rather dated and unfortunately we were provided with two single beds as opposed to a double/queen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, responded to this review

Dear Kate D, I appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves in and it is nice to note that you have regarded our staff to be extremely helpful and very patient. However, we regret if you found the rooms not up... More 

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Having read a few negative comments I was a little worried, but once we arrived the staff couldn't be more helpful they allowed us to change our rooms from 2 doubles and a single to 1 double 1 triple. The hotel shuttle bus is a great extra and makes life easier particularly when you arrive with luggage. Once you have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

297 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (264)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (57)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question